Comedy Open Thread

Did you guys watch TV this week?  Were there any funny shows?  I loved all the funny shows!  New Girl and The Mindy Project had similar storylines (spoiler!!!) and they were both so funny about it.  Our best friend Max Greenfield was in both this week which could be a little too much Max Greenfield, but turns out there’s no such thing.  I also loved the Dirty Dancing callback!  How bout that Parks & Rec news? Nothing better than a little extra Donna in a given episode!  Also I didn’t think this episode of Community was THAT funny, but it did have a couple very sweet moments.

How about the cable shows?  Are you guys watching Silicon Valley and/or Veep?  Archer is almost over but IMO they have been KILLING IT this season.

What did y’all think about the comedies this week?

About collin0truckasaurus

Truck is a fan of cheeseburgers, gifs of cats, and saying the F word. She has lived a bunch of different places but the internet is by far her favorite. Her main complaint in life is that food noted as "spicy" on a menu is never spicy enough.
This entry was posted in Celebrities, TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Comedy Open Thread

  1. Yes! Pam has been perfect this season!

  2. Also, sorry there’s no picture…the site wouldn’t let me upload one!

  3. Is New Girl worth watching? Because the episode before broke my heart into a million pieces. I don’t think I can deal with that again.

    • marlasinger says:

      I feel like it’s off its game. I thought it was cool they brought the two main characters together so quickly, and liked the idea that we were going to get to watch their relationship grow throughout the show. But they just broke them up, and given that they just broke up Mindy and Danny, and that the Good Wife SPOILER ALERT: just killed off the main romantic interest, I’m not feeling the love. Literally.

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I love Pam anyway, so I’ve been happy to see them do more with her. Also Krieger!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    Did you guys watch Bob’s Burgers on Sunday? OMG! I’ve been trying to get Mr. Dork to respond to “Pony Danza” all week. Also, Linda’s “Honey, don’t make me go back there. It smells.”. It’s like every con I’ve ever been to.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I just saw that I have 26 episodes of Parks and Rec in my DVR. I’m not sure why I stopped bothering to watch it since I enjoy that show. It kind of feels like a chore to watch them at this point. How have the more recent episodes been? Should I watch or free up some valuable DVR time?

    • FRQ says:

      The show hasn’t been as good as it was a season or two ago, but I’m optimistic and hope it will bounce back ( and it’s still better than a lot of what’s out there).

  7. FRQ says:

    On a semi-related note, Chris Gethard was a cute kid.

  8. catweazle says:

    I liked the Community finale and I find myself actually caring if it gets renewed again which I wouldn’t have expected a year ago! Parks and Rec was sweet, and Donna is the best. I finally watched the Cougar Town finale a couple of weeks late and I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo pissed about what happened with Travis and Laurie because it was super unrealistic in how they both reacted, and also that relationship still makes me want to vom and now apparently it will never end.

  9. Sota says:

    I missed MINDY this week and Stupid fox.com wont let you watch eps for EIGHT days after airing unless you have direct tv. So I can weigh in on this next Wed. Stupid fox.com. Regardless I am sure it was 100% brill like usual. Love the Mindy Project.

  10. Kate says:

    I gave Silicon Valley two tries. Not liking it yet. The only good line (it’s funny because it’s true) was in the first episode when the main characters were trying to find a place to live and couldn’t believe the cost of rent. “Why is the rent so high here? This town sucks!” or something like that. We went through that shock moving Packy out there. That town is the worst! There is no cause for such high rent for a place with roaches and no A/C.

    • hotspur says:

      I walk around LA saying that line all the time. In 1999, I knew people who lived 2 blocks from the beach with 3 bedrooms for $1050. That same amount now gets you a 380 sq ft studio with no parking 12 miles from the beach on a street that is mostly pawn shops and bail bondsmen. Everyone says the real estate market collapsed. I wish. Thanks a lot, comedy open thread.

    • Mintie says:

      The show seems to have more heart than it is funny, which I didn’t expect? I am weirdly invested in Thomas Middleditch’s character.

  11. Mintie says:

    Veep continues to be totally incredible. I know that the show isn’t going to be necessarily everybody’s cup of tea, but I think that if it IS the type of thing you’re into, it’s been hilarious and cutting and everything you could ask of it. I have so much love for the core cast on this, they all seem to be right in their sweet spots, and they bring different jokes and laughs to the table.

Comments are closed.