Rosie the Riveter Plant Saved from the Wrecking Ball


Sorry, guys, this is going to be a very sincere post, but also very happy! I thought I would share.

Like most things, the Detroit-area factory where feminist icon , American icon, and fall-back Halloween costume Rosie the Riveter worked was slated to be razed. But it’s has been saved thanks to an $8 million campaign by the group Save the Willow Run Bomber Plant. From the Detroit Free Press:

Although women performed what had been male-dominated roles in plants all over the country during the war, it was a Willow Run worker — one of an untold number of women in its 40,000-person workforce — who caught the eye of Hollywood producers casting a “riveter” for a government film about the war effort at home.

Rose Will Monroe, a Kentucky native who moved to Michigan during the war, starred as herself in the film and became one of the best-known figures of that era. She represented the thousands of Rosies who took factory jobs making munitions, weaponry and other items while the nation’s men were off fighting in Europe and the Pacific.

Yay! Pretty great!  It’s going to be the new home of the Yankee Air Museum, with an exhibit on Rosie and Rosies.  Do I smell a Tourism for Weirdos in our future?

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rosie the Riveter Plant Saved from the Wrecking Ball

  1. This is a nice post to end the week (which suuuucked) on. Happy weekend, everyone! I’m going to spend mind sleeping forever.

    • flanny says:

      When I previewed that picture at first I was like, ‘Whoa, that is VERY big.’ And then I was like, ‘No, I need it that big after this week.’ We can do it, Theresa!!! Bicep curl through the weekend!!!

      • Rosie should never be shrunken!

        And I’m already doing bicep curls, by which I mean I’m spooning gelato into my mouth. I can do it!

        • Casey says:

          I agree…although the large size of the image made me notice the strange physics of her left arm for the first time. Cannot unsee!

  2. Today is kind of meh on top of a week that was pretty meh but seeing Rosie being all fierce made me pretty happy for a few seconds.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    This is fantastic! I’m so glad that we’re preserving things like this and we’re taking women’s history seriously. Way to go Detroit!

    Also, is this week over? Is it time for weekend wine? Yes, yes I believe it is.

  4. hotspur says:

    I like Detroit. I seriously almost moved there a couple years ago, and would consider it again. Do you guys want to go in on a house? We could all pay about nine dollars and get a mansion with 72 fireplaces.

Comments are closed.