It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

Sorry to end things early today, but I have a meeting this afternoon. What are your plans for the weekend? I’m going to hang out at the mall with friends like some kind of teen in an 80’s movie.

This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. old man fatima says:

    I am scrapbooking with my little sister tonight, and then tomorrow I’m going for brunch with a friend who is moving away and then hitting up the record stores with the mister because it is “record store day” which is apparently a thing Halifax does where all records are half off or something? I also put in a new back splash this week and it looks great, but I need some muscle to help me move the stove so I can put it back there. So I will be putting him to work, poor guy. But it’s going to look so good!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      It’s record store day across North America! Buy all the records!

      • old man fatima says:

        Ohhhhh. How do they get all the record stores on board? What if I don’t want to sell my records for cheap, what if I need that cheddar??

        • artdorkgirl says:

          It’s not just for sales, they also do special releases, etc. Plus, the idea is you get people into their local stores to buy music rather than itunes, amazon, etc.

  2. catweazle says:

    Tickets went on sale this week for the Drag Race finale taping and I might be crazy because I’m actually considering flying to LA for it. I want to go because I’ve loved this season so much and more importantly I would get to see RuPaul in the flesh. But then again, money. I mean, I have the money but should I really spend it all on something so frivolous? I am very torn!

    This weekend I am going to a concert with my older sister. When we were teenagers we went to shows together all the time and we’re going to see two bands we were into back in the ’90s so it will be a real throwback. The only bad thing is that it’s on Sunday and I haaaaaate going out on Sundays but I guess I will live.

  3. mordonez says:

    I am working tonight and will come home to a house full of drunk people who will have just have finished (please God let them have finished) the third TV Movie in the Flowers in the Attic reboot series.

    Tomorrow I have to work a little as well, but if I can move my shift around a little, a friend just came up with a spare Mountain Goats ticket, and that would be awesome!

  4. mikaelajm says:

    Tonight I’m going to a fancy restaurant where they apparently wheel stuff around on carts and you decide whether you want to try it? I don’t know, it sounds a little strange and I’m not a fancy eater, but it should be fun! Tomorrow I have a work event all day, and Sunday it’s back to the prospectus grind.

  5. flanny says:

    Tomorrow is supposed to be lovely, so I’m trying to figure out something outside I can do. I don’t have an outside space and there are no nice parks in my city. So maybe I’ll go to a state park and go for a run? I dunno! Sunday is supposed to be rainy, so I’m going to lock myself in my apartment and write a book! I’ve got a general idea of who is murdered and possibly why, so I feel confident I can start putting pen to paper.

    (That is not Zayn. He is on the other half of the screen, but he is famously not dancing. Louis is.)

  6. hotspur says:

    This weekend is the LA Times Festival of Books. Steph Cha will be on a panel of mystery & crime writers, doing Q&A stuff and sounding smart. I am going (though I will probably miss Steph’s panel due to timing — it’s okay, I saw her last year!). Then I have Monday off because I made travel plans, which got canceled, but I’m keeping the day off just because. Eat it, 5-day workweek.

  7. gnidrah says:

    Helping a friend mend a broken heart with a picnic of homemade treats in the Olympic Park, then we might go and see While We’re Young in the evening, mostly because she won’t be able to talk in the cinema, and I figure I’ll be at my limit by then. JK I love her really.

    • catweazle says:

      Please tell us how While We’re Young is if you see it! It looks super insufferable judging by the trailer but I thought the same thing about Frances Ha and I loved it.

      • gnidrah says:

        Yeah I’m not totally sure about it, but it’s pretty much the only thing on at the time we want to be there that isn’t Paul Blart Mall Cop 2 or something I fear will make my friend burst into tears. So fingers crossed it’s bearable – I will report back!

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    Guys! I just went for my first (mostly walking) run! I didn’t go very far, but I worked up a sweat and got a blister! I listened to a podcast! It was pretty fun!

    Tomorrow we’re going to see Ex Machina with a couple of guys from the Dissolve and get a fancy burger after. And we’re going to the Coolidge, so that means craft beer in the theater! Woot!!

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      Your gif reminded me: I saw What We Do In The Shadows the other night. It was great. The whole theater was laughing, everyone was pretty into it, and there was applause at the end. My favourite joke was probably at the very end. “Do you know what you’re laughing at?” “Whatever the group was laughing at.” “See? Good answer. Well done, Stu.” Or words to that effect. The sequel – if there is one (and there should be) – should just be called Stu.

  9. hotspur says:

    Also, memo to my coworker who always leaves work in my inbox with a post-it note attached that says “Please review”: Oh, really?

    • gnidrah says:

      At least she says please 😉

      If anyone’s up for a co-worker bitch, then count me in. I have one guy who spent this week firing off emails to any boss he could get to listen (which at the end of the week was four less than he had at the start of the week) asking why he wasn’t getting a personal thank you for his work each day. “Because I’m ambitious and praise means a lot to me”. He’s going all the way to the top, I’m sure of it.

      • artdorkgirl says:

        UGH. How old is this guy?

        • gnidrah says:

          27 or 28. He just proposed to his girlfriend, so I hope she’s very good at the words “thank you”. I am going on a course next week, as luck would have it, on managing difficult people. He’s going to provide much of the agenda.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Terrible. I can only hope that his fiancee is as terrible as he is.

      • Sota says:

        What?! Get over yourself, dude.

      • hotspur says:

        That is glorious.

        RELATED: In my very first office job, the company formed a committee tasked with devising ways to improve the culture, and I got stuck on it. I figured out pretty quick the committee itself was a sham to trick low-ranked drones into feeling we were “part of things,” so my contribution was minimal.* But my fellow drones were super into it. They delivered impassioned pleas for praise. I remember one girl even said, “Your whole mood depends on your boss. If she walks by your desk and doesn’t stop to say hello and ask how you are and tell you that you are doing a good job, that ruins your whole day.” The boss in charge of the committee wore a cheery smile during its meetings and encouraged everything everyone said, no matter how insane or dumb.

        Ultimately, the committee recommended a Prize Box. Every boss would be given a booklet of coupons. If an employee did something praiseworthy, the boss would hand that employee a coupon. When you won enough coupons, you could ask to be taken to the Prize Box, where you could trade them in for a wondrous item — like a snack or a puzzle or a magazine. Nothing worth more than $8; the true value was in acquiring a tangible symbol of praise. And (as I knew she would) the boss in charge cheerily thanked us all at the last meeting and then completely disappeared our recommendation.

        *At the 3rd or 4th of the six meetings, I delivered a heartfelt speech essentially titled “My Fellow Drones, Don’t You See That With This Prize Box You Will Be Participating In Your Own Horrific Degradation?” I was a piece of work at 23.

    • mikaelajm says:

      I get where that person is coming from, I mean, what if you mistook it for a snack?!

    • Sota says:

      Could be worse I suppose. Related story: I had a super passive aggressive boss for a while who would wait until I got up to go get a drink or go to the bathroom and then she would put a bunch of post its with lists of ToDos on them while I was away from my desk just so she didn’t have to talk about the tasks.

      • hotspur says:

        I had a boss once express bitter disappointment that I didn’t deliver a package to a different office until 4:50. I thought I made the final drop heroically (praise me). “But I promised them they’d have it by 2:30,” she said bitterly. I pointed out she did not tell me that. She explained, still very bitterly, “I didn’t tell you because I know how you get when you’re told what to do.” Hahaha WHAT?

  10. The in-laws are going to watch the baby so mr truck and I can go on a date. We’re gonna get a steak but not see a movie because there aren’t any out that I’m interested in and also the idea of being out of the house for more than a couple of hours is too daunting. But I will get to blow dry my hair and put makeup on and eat steak!!!

  11. I am eating lunch at 4 in the afternoon because I have had back to back meetings since 9:30am. What is up with today?

    I need my couch and a gin and tonic.

    • or a patio bar. It’s so damn nice out!

      • Update: totally drunk at work. Damn you, margaritas!

        • gnidrah says:

          Yay!
          The best time I ever got drunk at work (oh god, that makes me sound like a helluva lush) was at 9:30 in the morning on the day of the royal wedding. In our defence, we had been there since 5am. Not in our defence, we still had two hours of live television to output… sorry about that, viewers!

  12. Today my boss is out of town so I didn’t have to go into the office and instead I’ve been doing lots of errands, which has been better than it sounds. Tomorrow I am leaving to go out of town for work and I’m pretty excited!

  13. Sota says:

    FINALLY THIS WEEK IS ALMOST OVER! Workwise it started slow and then yesterday and today have been chaotic! BAH. Only 13 minutes till I bolt out of here and go to happy hour. My plan is to get a nice calm little buzzy weekend feeling and then go shopping! I buy the best stuff then! Seriously. The rest of the weekend I am going to enjoy the beautiful weather by going on walks and sitting on patios…and then in the evenings I am going to enjoy Netflix. Oh and Sunday brunch. I love brunch.

Comments are closed.