It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are your weekend plans? I might have to work Saturday, which would suck, so keep your fingers crossed that I won’t (especially since IT MIGHT SNOW. TOO SOON, WEATHER. TOO SOON).

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. old man fatima says:

    My brother is coming for a visit, Mr Fatima is moving in, and there is an art festival downtown! Mr Fatima’s studio has work in it: they re-animated an episode of Spiderman and it’s being projected onto the side of a building all night. Mr Fatima took all the shots with J Jonah Jameson and had his 7 year old nephew draw the characters for him to animate. It is super duper cute and I can’t wait to see it!

  2. catweazle says:

    I think I’m going to see Freeheld after work today but there’s so much time between when I leave work and when the movie starts that I’m afraid that means I’ll spend the whole time shopping and I’m a little strapped for cash since I blew all my money on furniture and booking a trip to Ireland. I guess I could have dinner first? There’s a good burger place right by the theater but I have a thing about going to restaurants alone. It’s like the only thing I’m embarrassed to do by myself! But maybe I will leap over that hurdle today.

    On Sunday I am skipping my cousin’s wedding shower (sorry Todd) to go see the new Joanna Newsom video screening at a movie theater. Part of me is like “Girl really? That’s a bit much” about it but the bigger part of me is like “OMGGGGG I get to watch her on the big screen!” Her album comes out next week and I am pumped.

    • catweazle says:

      I feel the need to talk more about this wedding shower thing! I love my family but I have 40 cousins and so many of them have been getting married over the past few years that I feel like not a month goes by that I don’t get a Save the Date or a wedding invitation or a wedding shower invitation or a baby shower invitation and I’m sorry but I’m not going to them all! But of course I always forget to RSVP because I’m the worst, and then I get these shaming emails from my aunt who hosts all the showers at her mansion like a week before asking if I’m coming. It is very bad for my anxiety to have so many relatives who like to participate in the marriage industrial complex!

      • old man fatima says:

        Don’t feel bad, cousins aren’t obligatory. I haven’t even met half of my cousins’ kids!

        • catweazle says:

          It’s awkward because most of my cousins are on my mom’s side and we’ve never really been that close with them (I’d see them all once a year at Christmas growing up but not too often since I was a teenager) but the other families on that side of the family are all close with each other so we’re like the weird antisocial family. I went to the last wedding shower and my cousin decided to play a game where when she opened somebody’s present she would share a memory about them and for everybody else she had these nice specific stories and when she got to me it was like “I always remember that… we are the closest in age of the cousins!” Between that and trying to explain to a really WASPy older lady that I’m really into drag queens (because she had seen my FB profile pic somehow even though we’re not FB friends) it was a very awkward afternoon.

      • martinmegz says:

        I only have 5 cousins and I didn’t go to any of their weddings! I feel bad but guilt fades and you just gotta do the best you can.

    • hotspur says:

      Find a diner with a counter and you are golden! A counter makes it easy! But even without a counter, it ends up being so easy 95% of the time. I bring my kindle and usually read and it all works out. I have been a shameless eater-outer for years. (There’s got to be a better way to put that.)

      TWO EXCEPTIONS: (1) Once a stranger accosted me in a diner and he and his girlfriend basically made fun of me for reading in public. That was super weird. He was showing off for her, I think? And she was into it? He was like 60! And she was like 28? How did they think I was the weirdo in that situation. (2) Another time, a local restaurant mailed me a “Grand Opening!” discount flyer and I walked down for lunch and the hostess was like “Usually we don’t seat you until your whole party is here.” A) What usually, you’ve been open three weeks and B) when I said it’s just me she made a face like “Ewwww” and said “Ooooookay, well, if so…” like I was lying? Then it turned out the restaurant was angling for “overly formal” because at some point a servant used one of those crumb-blade things to plow crumbs off the tablecloth. There was a multitude of staff who all swept by to refill water or refold my napkin but also all acted like I was radioactive, and conversationally I tried to signal we could all just chill — but maybe they’d been instructed not to fraternize? When I asked how long they’d been around, my main waitress very stuffily answered along the lines of “We’re an institution” and I was like “I live three blocks away and this time last year you were a plywood hellhole called Uncle Vodka’s.” Then I saw her whispering about me with one of the other waitstaff. It all felt super humiliating and the whole time I wanted to stand up and shout “I’M THE ONLY CUSTOMER IN HERE.” Because that’s what I was.

      Usually though, hitting a restaurant alone is fine.

      • catweazle says:

        You have described the worst case scenario I’ve been worrying about 😦

        • hotspur says:

          But that’s only two incidents out of hundreds of dinners eaten! (tbh, I did find the fancy restaurant one traumatizing. Even now if a place has cloth tablecloths, I steer clear if alone, and that was like 6-7 years ago!)

          HERE IS A GOOD STORY: Once while solo I was seated at a table next to Seth Rogan’s table. I didn’t have to pretend I was talking to anyone I came with — I just pretend-read my kindle and ate a cheeseburger and eavesdropped the fuck out of Seth Rogan for a solid hour. It was magical.

        • catweazle says:

          Was he an asshole?

        • hotspur says:

          No! I’d be his friend. But being his friend you also know, Well, okay, when we hang out, we’re mostly gonna talk about what Seth is up to /eyeroll. (I gather he was out with someone he hadn’t seen in 20 years and had never really known well, who had newly arrived in LA and called him, and he was like, uh, okay, let’s go to dinner. So, points for that, that’s pretty cool.)

      • old man fatima says:

        I do all sorts of stuff alone. One time when I was having a patio beer by myself I was approached by a guy who started telling me how great our kids would look (nope, I was a very ugly baby) and wouldn’t I just love to come home after a hard day’s work and have a bunch of kids jumping all over me like “mommy mommy mommy,” which honestly sounds like an actual nightmare to me. I do genuinely love kids, but I love a quiet, tidy home and 4-hour baths with a bottle of wine and a good book better.

        Another time, though, I was eating alone and the couple beside me were having the most awkward first date in history and I started joking about it quietly with the waitress and we actually ended up becoming pretty good pals for several years after. I’ve made a lot of great friends by doing stuff alone, come to think of it. I’m a terrible example for the youth, I talk to strangers nonstop.

        • catweazle says:

          Oh I do lots of stuff alone! I love being alone! Restaurants are just different to me for some reason. But what you described about being approached on the beer patio is another personal nightmare for me because I haaaaate being approached by/talking to strangers.

      • martinmegz says:

        I agree except I change counter for bar. I sit at the bar, read a book, and eat. It’s pretty much my perfect outing.

  3. mordonez says:

    I am going to New Yawk City for the weekend, primarily for a wedding tomorrow evening. Then we’re going to see what we can get out of the 1/2 price broadway ticket booth for the Sunday matinee, because we don’t fly back until about 9pm. I would have liked to stay another day, but even with a good hotel rate, yeesh! . I did remember to take Monday off, so I don’t have to even.

    So any musical recommendations? I get the sense that Hamilton will not be happening, I am personally not as interested in Finding Neverland as mrsdonez seems to be, and Avenue Q tours all the time so that seems like a waste. We may do Funhome, depending on what’s available.

    • catweazle says:

      I don’t know what’s in town but the only musical I’ve been to in the last five years was Billy Elliot and it was very disappointing.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder was fun, and Mr. Dork quite liked it. I’ve heard that Something Rotten is great too, if you’re into people making fun of Shakespeare (duh).

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My kid is getting her 4th tooth (#3 snuck in before we even noticed!) and so she’ll probably need someone holding her most of the weekend. Other than that, though, I’m going to relax and pretend my job and boss don’t exist. I am going to brunch on Sunday with some lady friends and that is my only actual plan. Also there is a football game on Saturday wherein we will try to remain undefeated. I believe in us.

    • catweazle says:

      Should I be concerned that my nephew doesn’t have any teeth yet? He’s a year old now! I don’t really know baby milestones and I don’t want to ask my sister about it if it’s a sensitive subject or something.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Don’t be concerned, but also definitely don’t ask. It’s nothing to worry about (tykeasaurus definitely got hers early), but parents still sometimes get sensitive about when things are “supposed” to happen or when their friends’ kids hit certain milestones. I am speaking 100% from experience of feeling like my kid must have been broken because she didn’t do one thing or another “on time.” Hitting or not hitting milestones means basically nothing.

        • catweazle says:

          Phew! I just worry about the poor baby because he’s had so many health problems. But definitely I would never bring that up to either of his parents!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    We are going to a corn maze and then we’re doing a walking tour (ahem, sorry, HAUNTED walking tour) of Salem tomorrow night! I’m so excited!! Then sunday I have to grade tests. I’m less excited about that.

    BUT THE BEST NEWS OF ALL??? I have an interview next Thursday with my dream job! It’s really happening you guys!

  6. flanny says:

    Tomorrow’s the MSU/UofM game, but because I went to and now currently work at D3 schools, I do not care. Also I don’t like football. However, I have to go into the office for a couple of hours (for fun stuff!) and we’re playing my VERY MOST HATED COLLEGE, so I’m going to stop by the game and boo those fuckers as loud as possible. BOOOOOOOOOOOO.

Comments are closed.