How Was Your Weekend?

I had a pretty good weekend, myself.  Some friends from my hometown were in town for a visit, and I got to hang out and drink with them on a number of occasions.  I also worked out for the first time in 2 weeks, and I wanted to die.  I hope your weekend had fewer horrific chest pains.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. hotspur says:

    Everyone go here today:
    http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/16/hotels/paris-catacombs-airbnb/index.html
    One of us needs to win this dream come true. Also, if you win and I don’t, please bring me. It was my idea!

    I had no chest pains but something I ate Friday night was wrong, and Saturday I woke up with an insane fever. I had to move my car and the whole world was tilting and swooping like I was drunk. By the afternoon I was functional, but what an annoying Saturday morning!

    • hotspur says:

      Huh. Dunno why that photo didn’t appear. GHOSTS? But I think the contest ends either midnight tonight or midnight tomorrow — so don’t delay! Enter and bring me.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Have you seen that movie As Above, So Below? It takes place in the catacombs. The first half hour was very boring set up, but wowza, I was pretty anxious once they actually arrived at the catacombs. I haven’t finished watching it yet – it’s in the DVR – but based on what I have seen, no I do not want to enter this contest.

      • hotspur says:

        Oh, I should watch that! But you should enter and then transfer the win to me! I will buy you the best souvenir I can find in France! Like a skull? Or a bottle of wine. Or the Eiffel Tower. Whatever you want.

    • old man fatima says:

      YES. That seems legit amazing, but I’d only do it if I won a trip because I bet it would be very expensive.

  2. old man fatima says:

    My weekend was pretty good! We moved Mr Fatima in and got the house all rearranged and settled. It looks great! My brother came for a visit too, but the only transport available between where he is and where I am is a bus line that runs once a day at really inconvenient times, so he was only able to come for 12 hours! I picked him up at 7pm on Saturday and dropped him at the station at 7am Sunday. Oh well, better than nothing! We played board games and drank whiskey and it was a nice visit.

    On Sunday I saw Crimson Peak. Did anyone else see it? Any thoughts? I was really excited for it, but I thought it was very silly and heavy handed. It kind of felt like someone took a good idea for a gothic horror and was like “ok, now make it for dummies.”

    • hotspur says:

      I am seeing it tonight with Martinmegz! I am excited but I’m going in fully expecting that it won’t live up to the trailer. That is the problem with horror: it is best when it’s all implied and unknown and weird. When all those gaps get filled in because you actually watch the full movie and find out the ghost’s backstory and learn its motives and how to defeat it or whatever, at some point you are wasting your time. Usually. There are a couple dozen perfect horror movies! But what makes them great is that they stay irrational throughout. Guillermo is brilliant at imagery but a lot of times he is too rational, I sorta think.

      • old man fatima says:

        Well, I don’t want to give anything away, so instead let’s just list our favourite horror movies!
        The Thing
        The Others
        The Bad Seed
        Night of the Hunter (but the child actors in it are awful)
        The Shining
        Babadook (but it was too intense for me to finish)

        • flanny says:

          The Others is basically the only scary movie I can get through, because I am literally the worst. I’m extra terrible in October. I got a little scared a Bob’s Burgers last night. That’s a cartoon, flanny!

          (Btw, I accidentally just typed “Octobert.”)

        • hotspur says:

          Here are some!
          Rosemary’s Baby (it’s perfect! #7 on my Ranked DVD list btw)
          Texas Chainsaw Massacre (the original, duh — #28!)
          Wicker Man (original — I’m afraid to rewatch it because it might not hold up to my memory)
          Alien
          The Thing
          Session 9
          Itchi the Killer (I finished it, but I don’t think I could rewatch it)

        • hotspur says:

          DAMMIT, also The Descent.

        • old man fatima says:

          I thought about adding the Descent, but I didn’t because it falls into that horror movie trap where it’s great until they show you the monsters. Just don’t show the monsters! Rosemary’s Baby is great for that, but I can’t watch it and not think about what a horrorshow Polanski is.

        • hotspur says:

          Yes, the Descent is terrifying for the first half as they just go deeper and deeper. Finally you see the monster and you’re like “oh thank goodness, I can relax now.”

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          I looove The Descent. Check out Dog Soldiers by the same director if you haven’t seen it. Not as good – a bit silly, actually – but I’d still recommend it. The Babadook, so scary. The only movie I’ve seen that scared me more was Sinister. That opening image, and then the dead kids breezing through the background in slow motion while Ethan Hawke bumbled around… shudder. But again, another lesson in leaving your monsters unexplained because the eventual resolution deflated the experience a bit. The Thing, one of the greatest movies ever made, full stop. The prequel that came out a few years ago was – obviously – not as good, but surprisingly unterrible. I wouldn’t mind if the same people made another chapter in the Thing Saga. It Follows had some good moments but I didn’t think it was the masterpiece everyone else seemed to. The climax in the pool didn’t really work for me. Again, shouldn’t have let the monster become that tangible because it worked far better as a metaphor than as an actual, physical threat. Mystery is just scarier than fact. But that reminds me! The same actress – Maika Monroe – was in The Guest, where she was also very good, and if anyone hasn’t seen that, man, go see it right now. So creepy! So funny! And it has one of the guys from Downton Abbey in it, if that’s your thing. This is a long, rambling paragraph. I like horror movies, in case you couldn’t tell (although The Guest is more suspense/thriller than horror). I think I’m gonna watch Paranormal Activity tonight, which I still haven’t seen.

      • flanny says:

        A Martinmegz/Hotspur mini-meet-up is basically my greatest dream! So jealous!

      • martinmegz says:

        Yay, movie night! If nothing else, Crimson Peak is responsible for keeping Charlie Hunnam out of 50 Shades of Grey (because of scheduling), thus ensuring that I never have to watch 50 Shades of Grey.

        • old man fatima says:

          Oooohhhhhhhh I was trying to figure out who that guy was, but obviously not trying hard enough to actually google it. I thought he just looked familiar to me because he looks like Brad Pitt. I’ve only seen two episodes of Sons of Anarchy, so he escaped me.

        • martinmegz says:

          I wish I’d only seen two episodes of SOA so I could watch it again for the first time.

    • dangbattleship says:

      I thought it was ridiculous and not effective at being creepy but still enjoyable. My theater was giggling at the silliest parts and hooting at certain, er, parts, and it was generally a fun experience. I will continue to always see every del Toro movie.

  3. old man fatima says:

    Oh, and it’s election day! John Oliver even did a bit on how Canada needs a new PM, so that means it’s serious. I’ll be calling in to work tomorrow because I’ll be too busy either celebrating or mourning, we’ll see.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      Stephen Harper: Great Prime Minister or GREATEST Prime Minister?
      Just kidding.

      • old man fatima says:

        HAVE YOU VOTED THO??? I want Trudeau because Harper has based his entire political career on being the anti-Trudeau, so losing to one would be so sweet. I want to see his Trudeau concession speech so badly. I 100% guarantee he will poop in the air vents before he vacates 24 Sussex.

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          Haven’t voted yet but I’m heading out the door in a minute. I’d vote Green if they had a chance of winning but since they don’t – and voting with my conscience doesn’t give me any satisfaction when my conscience loses every single time – I’m going NDP. My boss is an entitled, white, child of mind-boggling privilege and Justin Trudeau reminds me of him too much – in height, looks, attitude, everything – for me to vote Liberal, even though I kind of admired him for saying he’s gonna run a deficit for three years. It might be a bad plan, but at least it’s a plan. Basically, I’ll be very happy if anyone other than Harper wins.

      • old man fatima says:

        I was leaning NDP until the deficit decision. You can’t get out of a recession by balancing the budget! Trudeau was my MP in Montreal and I really didn’t have a lot of faith in him when he was announced as Liberal leader, but he’s really brought me around. If we get electoral reform and the Green party hires an actual economist to prepare their economic plans so they have some basis in reality, I would vote Green in a minute. May is hands down the best debater and I like most of their non-economic policies. But May has gone on record saying that WiFi causes cancer, so…

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          Ha, I didn’t know that about May. And here I was thinking she seemed like the most rational of the candidates.

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          Looks like you bet on the winning horse. Which is good news for Canada, I think, but I was hoping the NDP would do a lot better. Fingers crossed that Trudeau knows what he’s doing.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I spent the majority of the weekend working. I am having a terrible time trying to redesign a brochure. I keep thinking of ideas, but then I also keep failing at said ideas. Mr. Costco helped me brainstorm yesterday, and that helped, but the project is taking up a lot of time, and I have one million other projects to work on. “Make it work” – Tim Gunn

  5. flanny says:

    Guys, I had a really great weekend, but this evening a big project is starting that I invested a lot of time and money into at work, but now I need to see if all that effort really brings money in. And I’m PMSing and not feeling at all confident about the project/my life/my life goals/everything. Please send me supportive gifs?

  6. catweazle says:

    You guys would be so proud of me because I went to a restaurant by myself! It was a little awkward but I went early so there weren’t many people there and I sat in the loser table behind a wall. I also saw Freeheld which was pretty much 100% what you would expect it to be which is both a good and bad thing. All the actors were very good and my most inexplicable celeb crush Michael Shannon crushed it.

    Yesterday I went to see Joanna Newsom’s new music video in a theater and I overbudgeted for time as I often do and the lady at the box office made some snide remark about how it was a good thing I was so early because it was probably going to sell out (she was being super assy and sarcastic because there were like 10 people in the theater tops). She was lame but the video was very lovely and it was nice outside so I walked the two miles home and took some pictures for the scavenger hunt.

    • hotspur says:

      Huzzah! I thought of you because I went out to eat solo Friday night and sat at the bar, and the people to either side of me were also solos. I talked briefly to one of them but for the most part we all just looked at our electronic devices. What a world.

  7. Commentatrix says:

    I saw Florence and the Machine and it was magical! I had a sleepover with my friend! I went for a long dog walk! I treated myself to too much food TV. (Allow me to recommend Crazy Ex-Girlfriend to everyone ON THE RECORD.)

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great except I had a terrible feeling Saturday morning that the weekend was almost over, almost like “oh no, only today and then tomorrow and then I have to go back to work!” and that was kind of a bummer. But then I watched a lot of football and read a lot of a book I’m reading and watched some tv and had brunch with friends and ran some errands and it was all pretty great. Then tykasaurus’ tooth started hurting a lot and all I wanted was to sleep.

  9. I went to a concert Friday and was introduced as “girlfriend” for the first time. That’s always a good feeling. Then I apparently turned my alarm off on Saturday morning and missed my volunteer shift. Still feel a little guilty about that. I watched a lot of “Legend of Korra” which I’m totally late to that party. Also saw “Evil Dead” for the first time, very much enjoyed it. More Bruce Campbell, please. (also, the dude has seen Evil Dead a million times and didn’t notice the person standing by the bridge in an early scene, glad I pointed it out)

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Mr. Costco loves the Evil Dead movies, so he is looking forward to the new Starz series Ash vs. Evil Dead. I thought the previews for the show looked fun, and I had never seen the series either, so I suggested a movie marathon so I can be prepared for the show. Did you watch Evil Dead 2 or the first one? I thought the first one was pretty boring, but I had watched 2 first, and they are similar movies, but Evil Dead 2 has more comedy and Bruce Campbell charm. We’ll probably watch Army of Darkness this weekend.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m sure someone will report on this tomorrow, but…
    NETFLIX IS BRINGING BACK THE GILMORE GIRLS!!!

Comments are closed.