Monster Community Pool – 10/20/2015

I’m just glad it isn’t Monday.

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Monster Community Pool – 10/20/2015

  1. old man fatima says:

    So, is Luke Skywalker a Darth Lord now? Are these movies going to end with his niece getting her hand cut off while defeating him? “Hana,” (I assume is her name) “I am your uncle.”

  2. Kate says:

    So that little rolley polley robot in the trailer? I got one for myself. Well..I ordered one. I’m too old for toys but I don’t care!

    • summerestherson says:

      BB-8!! Did you know if you write #bb8 on Twitter, he’ll show up as a cute lil emoji? #bb8facts

  3. catweazle says:

    Has everybody seen the new bogus thing where sad white people want everybody to boycott the new Star Wars because not every character is white? And they claim to be fighting “white genocide” and compare black people being in Star Wars to cultural appropriation?

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Based on early Fandango numbers, they’re really sticking it to them!*

      *they’re not at all sticking it to them.

    • hotspur says:

      How do we know the stormtroopers weren’t all black all along?

      Ugh, I bought a ticket last night. December 17 in the Cineramadome, baby!

      Okay, here’s my report on last night’s Crimson Peak: Beautiful to look at, hit some very nice gothic notes, not a lot going on. As Martinmegz astutely put it during our debriefing over Manhattans, “Every big reveal, it was like ‘yeah, we all figured that out 20 minutes ago.'”

      • old man fatima says:

        Yes, I enjoyed looking at everything, 10/10 would look at it again.

        *Spoilers* We kept making jokes about them being ghosts, because that’s what I assumed from the beginning. When Jane Eyre goes to the hotel room and they’re like “Room whatever, but miss–” all of the people I went with (3 other people and myself) said some variation of “But they died 10 years ago!” I wish they had been a bit sneakier with the big reveals. It had all the bones of a great movie, but they felt the need to explain everything to pieces. “What if idiots come to see the movie? This is a movie for everyone, even idiots!”

      • martinmegz says:

        I have a positive take on Crimson Peak (even though it should be Crimson Peek) and gave it a good review to my coworkers, but still agree that it gave too much away and then really drove home every point. Charlie Hunnam was so beautiful. We went to a place with a bar in the lobby that lets you bring drinks into the theater so that enhanced the experience.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          I loved it! But then again it hits all of my (hiddleston butt) buttons. I wanted sort of a “Wuthering Heights meets Corman’s Fall of the House of Usher” and I got it.

      • Marlasinger says:

        Good to know.

    • old man fatima says:

      I did see that, and I saw the replies from people being like “The original Star Wars were full of diversity! All the Storm Troopers were Maori!” Which, what? I think we all remember from my review of Star Wars on this illustrious blog that there were like 3 people in the whole movie who weren’t white men.

      It’s the same angry MRA nerds who were upset about Fury Road, and that movie kicked ass and took in a zillion bucks, so I don’t think Star Wars is too nervous right now. Still, what a bunch of weenies.

      • summerestherson says:

        The Maori thing is from the prequels, because the Clone Army were all cloned from Jango Fett, and the actor who played him is Maori. HOWEVER, I’ve always been a little unclear about whether the Storm Troopers were all clones by the time we get to the OT or whether they were just regular dudes and the Empire was just using the same uniforms. I DON’T KNOW AND I DON’T CARE TO LOOK IT UP. The point is it doesn’t really matter, and people who are making that argument are dumb.

        • FRQ says:

          In this season’s premiere of Star Wars Rebels (which takes place between Ep 3 and 4), the gang encounters a group of retired clones, and their leader said that the clone program was retired. I think I’ve also seen a bunch of unmasked troopers throughout the show, so that probably answers that. Sorry for keeping this thread going. SRSLY fuck those guys.

        • old man fatima says:

          Was there a glitch in the cloning process, and that’s why they’re so bad at shooting? “There was a wrinkle in the ticker tape and we skipped the gene that gives you accurate depth perception!”

    • FRQ says:

      I had considered making it one of the links, but I didn’t want to further acknowledge these wastes of space.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m kind of confused because I thought the Star Wars people weren’t even humans? They’re in a different galaxy so for sure they can’t be any of our known ethnicities. It seems doubly stupid to be racist about the skin color of aliens.

    • Casey says:

      Star Wars was totally diverse all along! Have they never heard of Ice Cream Maker Guy?

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    Wait…what’s all this about my Benedict?? I demand truth in community pool news, FRQ!!

  5. Marlasinger says:

    CHILLS!!!!!

Comments are closed.