So, How Was Your Day?

I’m super tired this week, and I don’t know why, because I’ve been sleeping just fine. Maybe because the weather’s been colder, and I want to hibernate/am part bear? Anyway, my day was fine. I went grocery shopping, which was annoying but necessary, and now I have many frozen pizzas.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Casey says:

    I am at work, but still kind of waking up after staying up late last night to see Blur at the Hollywood Bowl. I don’t know if anyone here cares much about them, but it was an AMAZING SHOW and I’m still kind of buzzing from it. That’s a band that I never thought I would get to see. Fred Armisen came out to sing “Parklife,” too, changing some of the lyrics to be more Californians, which was cute.

    Then, on the way home, every freeway interchange was coned up and I took a long, completely unnecessary but kind of peaceful journey as far out of my way as possible to get home.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      I care. Blur’s new album is great. Very jealous.

    • gnidrah says:

      I care about them, deeply. They were my saviours aged 13, no word of a lie – I remember the first time I heard their music and I was like, OK THIS. NOW. Seen them four times so far (pls note, so far) I am really glad you enjoyed it! Happy to chat Blur any time!

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I am also tired, but it’s because I have a terrible habit of staying up late watching TV and playing games on my phone. I’m not sure why I can’t break out of doing that.

    I’m still pretty overwhelmed with work stuff, but I don’t feel as stressed as I did over the weekend.

    The weather is great today, so I’m very happy about that.

  3. Sota says:

    I just got back from a week of vacation, which means I have post-vacation issues like “how do i sort through 8 million emails?” and “How do i focus today without getting an afternoon nap in?” Therefore I am reading this post instead of dealing with any of it:
    http://grantland.com/hollywood-prospectus/ranking-star-wars-jackets/

  4. old man fatima says:

    I’m still riding the election high. I can’t believe that this tattooed, progressive, self-described feminist who is in favour of legalizing marijuana and prostitution is going to be my PM. He hasn’t even took over the traditional keg of maple syrup yet and he’s already announced that he will appoint 50% female cabinet ministers and withdraw our fighter jets from Syria and Afghanistan. Here he is with his (obviously) smoking hot wife, journalist and TV presenter Sophie Gregoire:

  5. catweazle says:

    Work is busy again and will be for the next month to the point that I will want to tear my hair out but will settle for drinking all the wine. People at work have been bugging me and I just want to sit here and finally finish this task I started an hour ago while listening to Elliott Smith’s entire discography in recognition of the 12th anniversary of his death. Is that so much to ask??

    • Casey says:

      Weird, I reached for “Figure 8” completely at random this week. Didn’t realize that anniversary was here. I don’t know enough of his stuff. What’s the best album?

      • catweazle says:

        I like his self-titled album the best. Figure 8 is #2. Most people say XO is his best but I’d actually rate it pretty low for him (not that it’s not good; I just don’t see the big deal).

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      It is not too much to ask. I can’t tell you how much I mutter to myself “I just want to go to work and WORK!”

  6. It’s been unusually warm here which is great. The more time without turning on the heat the better. Otherwise, today has been a bit stressful. I’m writing proposals for contract work and it’s actually really complicated! I’m also a bit stressed because all the projects overlap and I might be stretching myself too thin if they all come through. But at least I’d be getting paid! And in other great news, I filed my unemployment certification wrong and wasn’t getting paid but the nice guy at the unemployment office fixed it and now I will be! Hurray!

    • Just got back from a meeting and I now have a dilemma of whether I want to do a project that’s fairly straight forward and a little boring, but with people I know. Or a more challenging project that will probably have me pulling my hair out. I kind of want to take the easy road right now.

      • Sota says:

        Theres no shame in choosing the tried and true path once in a while. If one or the other feels off, you’ll know. Go with your gut.

      • old man fatima says:

        If they both pay the same, do the easy one. You’re sort of on vacation, nothing wrong with taking it easy!

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I have a bit of a head cold which isn’t so bad except I probably sound pretty gross. I’m trying really hard to be positive about work but sometimes it’s the weirdest things that get me down – like recently I noticed that when the group we merged with moved over to our area everyone on that team got offices with windows no matter the level of title. I know that’s really tiny and minor, but I would probably take 10% less of a raise for my promotion if I could have a window. Also I’ve noticed lately that sometimes I’m just downright hostile to my boss. I sat down and tried to write down all the things that would have to change for me to be less annoyed by work and it was all stuff that I couldn’t tell him and of the stuff I could, I would have to do it in the most delicate, calculated way so as not to let on that it’s just the tip of the iceberg. So I don’t know what my long term goals are or how this job factors into my future. I would like to stay in this department, but something’s gotta change.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Sometimes just starting to plot your exit can completely change your attitude. Knowning you have options and your aren’t stuck lets you know what you can put up with vs what you just need to have die in a fire.

      • flanny says:

        Agreed! Keep on truckin’, Truck! You’re on the right path, I think.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Thanks guys…I think you’re right, but it’s also a situation where I can’t really get a comparable job with a different company without moving, so I am more inclined to make it work, it’s just a question of figuring out how to eliminate some issues and deal with the rest.

  8. old man fatima says:

    My work is getting rid of old bookshelves! I’ve been wanting to knock out a wall with a crawlspace behind it to make built-ins, so all of my books are just piled up on the desk and floor in the spare room. I am now the proud owner of a bunch of free bookshelves! What a world!

    • mordonez says:

      Free bookshelves are the best. We took about 10 8 foot tall cases out of mrsdonez’s Borders store when it moved (like, 10 years ago. long before they all died a sad death), then when Work from Home times started in the spring, I took a couple more from the office. We gotta lotta books.

  9. artdorkgirl says:

    My big interview is tomorrow and I’m freaking out!!! AAAAAAHHHHHHH!!! It’s with a major museum might be located in a certain nation’s capital and may be referred to as that nation’s “attic”. I’m still in complete shock that they want to talk to me! Fingers crossed that I don’t drop a huge f bomb while I’m talking to their head curator!

  10. FRQ says:

    It’s been okay. The past two days were fairly shitty, but I think it’s starting to turn around for me. Currently listening to Joanna Newsom’s Divers album, and it makes me want to play Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger or something.

  11. flanny says:

    Well, I have basically been at my wit’s end for the past 48 hours (staring Nick Nolte), but I just got an email that I’ve been waiting for explaining how to pull queries and boring shit that makes my life so much easier, so now I feel like skipping around and cheering. The best part of my day, though, was last night when 1D dropped the video for their new single, Perfect. And OMG, it is my second-favorite music video of theirs after One Thing. I watched it a million times on my Roku yesterday and then another million while drinking coffee this morning. I think I’m going to watch it again right now.

  12. I feel like everyone at work is super cranky today. I work really closely with two other women and one of them keeps snapping at me and then pulling the “just kidding!” thing and then making comments about how salty I am and how everything she says pisses me off. Well yeah when you keep making snarky comments about me! I am trying very hard to get through this day without snapping but I am being tested right now…

    • artdorkgirl says:

      What is this “salty” thing that the kids are all saying now?? I’m old and I need to know.

      • flanny says:

        I don’t know if it’s actually that new. My best friend and I used to say it in the 90s because we heard it on her parent’s old George Carlin record. Kids are SUPER into Carlin.

      • I don’t know where I picked it up from but everyone at my office blames me for introducing it into the vernacular here. It just means that you are annoyed or perturbed but it’s a nicer way of saying that.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I also used to say it in the 90s. I had a very cool friend who would say it a lot so I started saying it too because I wanted to be cool.

  13. mordonez says:

    I’m just workin’ for the weekend here really, although tomorrow will potentially be a work catastrophe as we try to switch to a new support ticketing system on the fly. Good times!

    Also, does anyone have a spare drummer? My class’s group performance is this Saturday (either an hour before or simultaneous to catweazle’s, but at a bar 4 miles away), and we don’t have a bleeping drummer, as far as I know, or at least not one we’ve ever rehearsed with. I adjudge this to be poor. My hope is that our fine instructor does not try to play drums, as he’s not a drummer.

    But hey, I get to play a bunch of solos, so that’s cool I guess? But nobody else has a keyboard player, so I have to bring both of my keyboards, so that is annoying?

    At any rate, on the off chance that ms weazle’s show is at 8, mine is at 7. So Chicago Monsters, come on out to the Hidden Cove on Lincoln (a true dive) at 7 to hear us play Disk 1 of the Band’s live classic, Rock of Ages. Truly, it will be the Night We Drove Old Dixie Down (and all the people were singin’).

    And/or go to the Independence Tap to hear the Glam Rock Ensemble at either 7 or 8 (I assume)?

    • catweazle says:

      We have like three acoustic ensembles playing before us so we’ll be going on at 8 at the earliest.

      Hope you find a drummer! Isn’t it like practically a requirement that ensemble teachers be able to play the drums passably? Since drummers often don’t sign up for classes?

      • mordonez says:

        Yeah, I would have asked Tommy if he wasn’t going to be at your thing. Steve Levitt is a great guy but a not great drummer. I’d prefer him to play guitar if possible. Heck, I’D try it (having played lots of marching drums and timpani but almost no drum kit) if being the keyboard player wasn’t the whole point.

      • mordonez says:

        Also, I know two very good drummers, but one is a South Side guy who does not like the hippie music and has a REAL band, and the other would look down his nose at our scruffiness, AND is busy with his startup. Drummers, man.

  14. martinmegz says:

    I’m day dreaming about my Australia trip and trying to decide what I want to do with my three days in New Zealand. I was going to go to Auckland then see Hobbiton, but someone told me everything is happening in Queenstown. Does anyone have recommendations?

Comments are closed.