National Chocolate Day!!!


According to a morning show I watched today, it’s National Chocolate Day! Why am I just now hearing about this? I’m super pissed because I could have pulled a Donut/Coffee Day and been eating delicious chocolate for the last five days! Now I’m left scrambling! Luckily I have a new bag of Reece’s and Kit Kats in my office. I have to do my patriotic duty and eat it all today, I guess.

So what’s everyone’s favorite chocolate treat? I’m interested in hearing everyone’s opinions, except for I think it was Emu who doesn’t like milk chocolate. (JK, Emu, live your life and eat what you want.)

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to National Chocolate Day!!!

  1. old man fatima says:

    I like stuff with nuts in it, but the good quality stuff without all the other garbage. Add caramel and it’s too sweet, you know? Just throw a handful of nuts into some good quality chocolate and put it in my mouth pls.

    I’m a big weirdo and I always bite half the chocolate off of chocolate covered almonds because the chocolate to almond ratio is too high for me. What fool puts like an inch of chocolate around an almond, what’s even the point of having an almond in there??

    Also, although I love chocolate with a passion, I don’t like chocolate cake or chocolate ice cream.

    • Sota says:

      I also love chocolate and also do not care for chocolate ice cream or chocolate cake. I am so with you on that.

      • flanny says:

        I don’t particularly care for hot chocolate or mochas. They’re usually either too thin or too rich.

        • old man fatima says:

          I won’t buy them because they’re too sweet, but I make my own hot chocolate from scratch and it is the best thing about winter.

  2. Kate says:

    For Kate, every day is chocolate day. And yes, Kate now speaks of herself in the third person.

  3. Sota says:

    I love things that are mint + chocolate. I will pretty much go for anything with a mint chocolate mix. I love chocolate chip cookies the most of all. I could live off of choc chip cookies alone. Homemade is preferred, but my packaged current cookie favorite: ELFudge Double Stuf.

    (Right now I am eating a sprinkle donut, but it has a glaze frosting, not chocolate.)

  4. nastyemu says:

    I thought I was just being a pig, but I was actually celebrating National Chocolate Day all week. Hooray me!
    Yes, Flanny, I don’t like milk chocolate. Well, I don’t like milk chocolate compared to dark chocolate. I still eat it all.

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    So, I realize this is a controversial opinion, but I only like garbage chocolate. Dark chocolate is too bitter, fancy chocolate just seems like a waste of money. I want a cheapo reese’s peanut butter cup.

    On the flip side, there’s a super fancy gourmet chocolate shop here in town and I got chocolate-cayenne pecans and some chocolate toffee for my dad for father’s day. He’s still talking about them.

  6. Sota says:

    Oh I forgot! I have a favorite hot chocolate too. It’s at City Bakery in NYC. Its so thick and creamy and wonderful. Plus, they make their own marshmallows that are spectacular.

    PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE TO DROOL OVER:

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I like salted anything chocolate. Also like mint & chocolate or orange-flavored chocolate or spicy chocolate!! I guess I like my chocolate to taste like other stuff. Strange.

    Also, I concur with artdork that I like my chocolate cheap and processed.

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I love chocolate – Dove candy, Portillo’s chocolate cake, Twix, Kit Kat, Milky Way, hot chocolate – the list could go on.

    I do NOT like fruit mixed with chocolate.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was eating a million Dove candies a day – you know, the ones with the little messages written on the foil wrap – I was finally able to cut myself off from buying them, and I lost something like 5 pounds, maybe more.

      My trick is to buy candy that is lower in fat, and maybe not my favorite candy. So I’ve been buying bags of Reese’s Pieces – they give me my fix of sugar, but I don’t love them so much that I go past the recommended serving size.

    • flanny says:

      Preach it about the fruit/chocolate thing. I also found that I don’t consider something “dessert” if there isn’t chocolate in it. Which is why I can never be Team Pie.

  9. mordonez says:

    I have a very sporadic desire for chocolate, and would prefer it, usually, if my (fancy) dessert had fruit rather than chocolate. This very topic was addressed in my uncle’s friend’s old cookbook, “Caramel Knowledge” (no really).

    With that said, I like dark chocolate (Hershey’s Special Dark is garbage chocolate, but was my intro to dark chocolate so it holds a special place). Certainly in my top 1 of chocolate things I enjoy is dark chocolate covered candied orange peels.

    Also Mexican hot chocolate is great. My favorite is from Rick Bayless’s less fancy sandwich place, Xoco.

    While I don’t mind spice with chocolate, the worst chocolate thing I’ve tasted recently is a chipotle-brownie currently served in Barnes and Noble Cafes. It’s tied in to some cookbook called “Sugar Rush”, and is godawful. It sort of tastes like a spicy chocolate tire fire.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    I love milk chocolate! Dark chocolate is also OK if it’s wrapped around some sort of dried fruit or nut. I recently bought these things called magic beans from Trader Joe’s and they were pretty, pretty, pretty good. They’re basically praline chocolates.

    While we’re on the topic, California folks, can we talk about how overrated See’s Candies is/are? Like, they are OK, not inedible, but way overpriced for the quality, right? Am I alone in this?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      My family that lives in California always stocks up on Fannie May candies when they are back in Illinois to bring home as gifts. I don’t know that I’ve ever had See’s, but I do love Fannie May. Apparently, my family does not think that See’s compares.

Comments are closed.