So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was fine, but fairly boring. And I got my flu shot, so my arm hurts and now I have to deal with how angry I’ll be if I end up getting the flu, because I went a few years with no shot and no flu, so now I feel like there’s a good chance that I jinxed myself.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. old man fatima says:

    I saw my dream job posted last week. The listing was a bit old, but there was no closing date and it said that if it was still showing, the position was still available. It had a LOT of application requirements, I needed to get my university transcript and write a 1000 word letter indicating why I was right for the job, etc. I spent three days putting this application together, sent it off this morning, and received a reply an hour later that the position was filled months ago and they haven’t gotten around to updating the listing. I’m waffling between billing them for my time and toilet papering their offices. Suggestions welcomed.

    Here is a photo I took of myself just now so you could share in my feelings:

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Just be happy you don’t have to work for a place that is so bad at details (like taking down a job posting for MONTHS)

    • hotspur says:

      I mean emailing you that a listing isn’t valid probably took as long as it would take to remove the listing, so yeah, you don’t want to work there. Also, you SHOULD bill them! Iulz.

      Just curious — is the listing still up? Please check for us!

      • old man fatima says:

        Just checked. It is up, but at the very bottom after you’ve wasted minutes of your time reading through all of the requirements and downloading all of the PDFs, it now says “This position has been filled”

        • hotspur says:

          Maybe they left it up because they have no confidence in the person they hired. “If we take it down, we’re just gonna have to put it back up next week after we fire his ass.” Email and let them know when the axe falls, you’re ready.

        • old man fatima says:

          I definitely decided to take the moral high ground and ask them to keep me in mind for any future opportunities, instead of dumping a bucket of pig’s blood on the CEO’s head at the company prom.

  2. flanny says:

    I need to take about 1,000 vacations, but don’t have time to until at least December. So who wants to pause time for me so that nothing happens at work while I’m gone, and then also pay for my airfare and lodging and food?

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    I got my flu shot yesterday and my harm hurts like hell today. Plus it’s cold and rainy so I think I’m going to make chicken and dumplings for dinner.

    On the plus side, my job interview is tomorrow and I’m strangely calm about it. I think maybe because I did all my freaking out last week and then had the date wrong? But I’ve put together some talking points and I have my outfit planned.

  4. old man fatima says:

    Let me tell you about my tomorrow because it’s definitely more exciting than my today. It’s Mr Fatima’s work Halloween party with fancy food and free booze held at the Citadel, which is a weird star-shaped military fort in the centre of town. His studio has also paid for everyone to go on an optional ghost tour, and I am going to bring my ghost hunting tools along so if you have any questions for the spirit world ask them now and I will relay! I’ll try to throw a post together on Friday about it if anyone is publishing posts in the day, otherwise I guess you’ll have to hold your breath until Monday to find out if I discovered the truth about the great beyond.

  5. catweazle says:

    Work is too busy. I hate it. I didn’t look at a single non-work-related website until lunch today! What am I, a good employee??? Today is also day 3 of 8 that I am required to work overtime. I really haaaate working overtime because a) I hate working full stop, and b) when I stay an hour late the trains are much slower and more crowded and it takes me like 20 minutes longer to get home. BUT I need the money for my trip so every day at the time I would normally leave I just think about how many more beers I will be able to drink in Ireland.

  6. Sota says:

    My day is solid in alright mode. I am so annoyed at the time tracking thing we implemented at work. I cannot find a way to make it work with my schedule. WHERE DO I PUT THE HOMELESS MONSTER TIME!?!? Anyways. I have managed to squirrel away a few minutes here and there to visit all you guys, and read such gems as this new series on Vulture: “Best High School Show of the Past 30 years.” This series was made for me…
    http://www.vulture.com/2015/10/beverly-hills-90210-the-oc.html

  7. martinmegz says:

    There’s an ice cream social in my building today but they spelled it I-Scream Social so that took a bit of the shine off. At 1 pm my office will go down to the lobby, grab ice cream and come back to our desks, thereby taking the social aspect out of the equation.

  8. flanny says:

    Day update: My haunted office here in the basement is next to the dorm kitchen, which means that sometimes students are down here baking cookies. Which is great! But a pair of students just started playing Christmas carols. Can this count for my unnecessarily early Christmas decorations on the scavenger hunt?

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day is going pretty well. I just got a giant project put on my shoulders that I need to have done by Friday, but lucky for me, I work incredibly quickly. Also I’m waiting on some info from another department and they’re gonna get it to me so close to the wire that it’s going to be very annoying.
    I am very excited about Halloween stuff happening!!!

  10. Sota says:

    Guys. This feels like the longest day. I am in a work SLUMPPPPP. Cannot stay focused on anything.

  11. Commentatrix says:

    Is this a good time to tell you guys I’ve been having a terrible month? That I’m experiencing annoyances and injustices at both work and home? That I’m just about ready to strangle all the authority figures in my life?

    Without going into too much detail, I’ll just tell you guys that my raise that I’ve been waiting for the entire time Casey’s wife was pregnant (give or take) finally came in this week, and before I could even celebrate it, I was made aware that I’m still being paid considerably less than my male counterpart. He and I do pretty much exactly the same thing and although he predates me at the company by a few months, his first raise also predated mine by a LOT of months. I mean, what kind of fuckshit is that, right? I went in to talk about it with HR today and decided to give my boss one last chance to do the right thing before I file an official complaint. I do realize that I’m incurring some risk of retaliation and whatnot, but at this point I don’t even care of I lose this job. I couldn’t sleep at all on Friday night (the day I found out about this) because I was so enraged. “I should go to law school!” I even thought. But truth is, I don’t know. I’m kind of hesitant to get HR involved because I’m afraid it would do me more harm than good in the long run. I guess you could say I have some trust issues. On the other hand, this has been angering enough to spur me into action, which is pretty much the only thing that will do that these days (anger). What do you guys think the best course of action is?

    • martinmegz says:

      This is really tough. My first advice is to make sure you’ve let off some steam before you approach your boss! I was very vocal in a meeting today about our benefits being cut and I could tell immediately that my boss is going to hold it against me for a long time.

      Do you have any information about raise schedules for other employees at the company? If there’s proof that men get raises more quickly than women, that puts you in a good position. But if they can say that the guy asked for a raise sooner, or that he was more pushy about getting a raise, that won’t help you. Even still, there shouldn’t be such a big gap in your earnings. Is there anyone in management at your company who you can trust and talk to about it?

      • Commentatrix says:

        The guy didn’t even ask for his raise, they just handed it to him. Whereas I asked and it took them 4 months to actually give me a smaller raise than his. Our company doesn’t have a set raise schedule, they just kind of give them out on a case by case basis. To be honest I don’t even think they thought about gender when they decided to lowball me, but that doesn’t change the fact that I definitely deserve to make at least as much as this guy, at least until he gets his next raise. There’s definitely no one in management here that I trust. My boss referred to my current raise as “shooting for the moon” when he presented me with it. So.

        • hotspur says:

          Ugh, so annoying, but yeah, you have to be a little careful, I think. I’m curious how you found out what your coworker makes. Did he tell you? Did you guess? Companies get weird about salary transparency — I once asked for a raise after I saw what the company charged the client for my services, and the HR director blew a gasket because I had “no right” to know that information… which I knew because that same HR dir had sent me the document about it to prep for the client. Adoy, lady!

          But back to you. Maybe ask your boss if he can explain why your coworker makes more, because in your boss’s head there might be a real reason — he works weirder hours no one else will, he has a crucial relationship with a big-deal client — who knows. But maybe start there, presenting it to him as a fun opportunity for him to explain his reasons.

          Oh crap! NPR just did a thing on this! Here… [searching] Aha! See if these stories give you good prompts/ideas for how to address it:
          http://www.npr.org/sections/money/2014/07/02/327758712/the-company-where-everyone-knows-everyone-elses-salary
          http://www.npr.org/sections/money/2014/07/02/327289264/episode-550-when-salaries-arent-secret

        • Commentatrix says:

          Thanks! Yes, my co-worker told me himself what his salary was in the context of, “Well, that’s kind of fucked up” when I told him what my raise was. Because he’s a friend/not a complete monster. We’re pretty much professional equals, give or take a couple specialized skills/tasks on both sides, yet his first raise was ~21% while mine was ~9% and issued much later after my start date? It sure SEEMS rotten to me. I’m really gonna enjoy hearing my boss’s justification for this at the performance review I requested earlier this week (after which I plan to ambush him with my findings (respectfully)).

    • old man fatima says:

      That is BULLSHIT. Did you coworker put his life on hold for a month to train new employees overseas?? Maybe they are considering that as a part of your raise, like “Commentatrix got a company-funded vacation” or some nonsense.

      I would make sure first of all that your company doesn’t have strict regulations on discussing salary. I worked at a place that fired a woman (after she had already given her notice) for just saying that she would be making more at her new job. She didn’t even say what she would be making, or how much more it was.

      If you have the all-clear there, I’d approach your boss before you approach HR. HR’s role is to protect the company, not to look out for you. The only time they do anything that could be construed as looking out for you is when not doing it could mean bad news bears for the company. For example, if all the women in the company make less than men doing the same job, HR needs to advocate for the women on that in order to cover the company’s butt. Definitely get their reasoning on it, though. Maybe prepare some stuff of your own, like a list of both of your tasks and accomplishments since you started. Make sure your coworker is on board though, because you could potentially be throwing him under the bus.

      • hotspur says:

        Agreed to making sure the coworker is on board. If you tell HR that he told you his salary, they might be unhappy with him. Give him a chance to bow out of the conflict in case being specifically named in it is not part of his career plan.

Comments are closed.