How Was Your Weekend AND Post Your Scavenger Hunt (and possibly costume) Pictures!

Did you have a good Halloween? I stayed home and read books and watched old movies and it was awesome. Tell me all about it, and don’t forget to post your Scavenger Hunt photos! I’ll look through them all and announce the winner…um, at some point. Hopefully soon!

(Editor’s Note: While you’re at it, show us your costumes! If you didn’t have one, marvel at these celeb photos.)

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to How Was Your Weekend AND Post Your Scavenger Hunt (and possibly costume) Pictures!

  1. Sota says:

    Ok, I know that its a very elaborate costume and well created, but Heidi Klum’s Jessica Rabbit is straight up frightening.

  2. martinmegz says:

    I went to the new Broad Museum in downtown LA on Halloween not because it was Halloween but just because it was the first Saturday I could get down there since it opened. I now have very strong opinions about modern art, namely that garbage is not art just because you put it in a museum! The Emperor has no clothes!

    90% of museum pissed me off but the 10% I liked was fantastic. I really loved a video exhibition called The Visitors. I can’t describe how charming and fantastic it is. As this reviewer says, it made me “succumb to joy.” http://artreview.com/reviews/review_ragnar_kjartansson/

    The other great thing is the infinity room. I had to wait awhile to get in, but they let you monitor the queue online so I was able to go next door and drink 3 martinis while waiting (one martini too many, it turned out) and I spoke Italian and embarrassed myself before getting to experience this:

    • old man fatima says:

      I feel the same way about modern art! I am sorry, but if I can’t tell what it is and it’s not just a random wall covering, I don’t want to spend time looking at it. Abstract expressionism is just a way to add colour to a room, and that’s fine, but I’m not going to go see it at a museum.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I love you all, and I respect your opinions, but you should go with me to the museum. I will make you LOVE all kinds of art!!!!

  3. catweazle says:

    My weekend was sucky, as I expected, due to being on call for work right in the middle of our busiest month of the year. But my sister hung out with me for part of it and that was a nice distraction. We watched Clue on Friday night because she had never seen it which is unbelievable! On Halloween itself I spent most of the day watching a Ghost Adventures marathon where they aired the fan-favorite episodes. Then yesterday when I was finally free from the shackles of work I went to see Room which was very good but good lord, what a horrifying premise!

    Anyway, I really failed at the scavenger hunt. Most of the pictures I took were failed creepshots and very blurry and they are all on my phone and I can’t get them onto my work computer so I can’t post them but please enjoy this picture of a very drunk 22-year-old me dressed as Link on Halloween ’08:

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I had never seen Army of Darkness, and it was on TV on Friday night, followed by an early premiere of Ash vs. Evil Dead. I’ll be honest, aside from Bruce Campbell’s charming personality, the Evil Dead movies and Army of Darkness weren’t exactly my cup of tea, but I loved the new show. A+

    We watched It Follows on Saturday. I was really looking forward to that one since I had heard a lot of great reviews. It was fine, but it wasn’t super scary, and a little boring.

    So yeah, we mostly watched TV this weekend.

    • old man fatima says:

      Evil Dead 2 is the one to watch, if you haven’t seen it. I could take or leave #1 and Army of Darkness is a bit too silly for me. I haven’t seen the show yet and I’m very excited to!

      • hotspur says:

        I read Bruce Campbell’s autobiography (of course) and he relates how, because they were just a bunch of amateur kids with no money, the scene in #1 where one of them shoots at a monster with a shotgun, they actually used a real loaded gun. Like “Okay, he whirls around with the gun, you duck, and then he fires. It’s gonna blow out the window where you were standing, so really duck!”

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I agree that Evil Dead 2 was the best of the movies. Mr. Costco saw all of them years ago, so he’s been a fan for a while. I thought the show looked fun, and figured I had to see all the movies first. I think you will like the show.

        I don’t understand why Bruce Campbell isn’t more famous. I mean, sure he has a fan following, but I doubt my parents or most coworkers have ever heard of him. Compared to Jim Carrey, who is more of a household name, Campbell is equally good at physical comedy and much more handsome.

        • hotspur says:

          My parents got hooked on Burn Notice for a while and I was surprised to find that Sam was their favorite part. “Sam is great!” I don’t think they’ve ever heard of Evil Dead (and their lives are poorer for it) but they at least like the guy who plays Sam. My mom said if she saw he was in a movie, she’d give it a chance. So there you go.

        • mordonez says:

          hotspur, maybe consider showing your parents Bubba Ho Tep?

  5. old man fatima says:

    My Halloween was pretty good! I had a bunch of age-appropriate trick or treaters, and only one group of kids who were too old, but they asked me if it was ok for them to trick or treat before they even opened their bags and their costumes were great, so I said yes. We had a Halloween party at our place and it was lots of fun! My friend went as pizza rat and made her pizza out of a foam mattress cover which turned out to be a brilliant idea because she always had a place to sit and at the end of the night when there were just a few of us sitting around chatting, she laid it out on the floor and lounged on it and we were all so jealous.

    Here is a very flattering, very sober photo of Mr Fatima and I.

    • old man fatima says:

      Here are my scavenger hunt finds. I have more on my phone, but for some reason they aren’t downloading! Oh well! I also had a photo of my friend’s baby dressed as a candy corn for my candy corn photo, but I decided against putting someone else’s kid on the internet.

  6. flanny says:

    Oh boy, what a weekend! On Friday (which I’m counting as weekend) I went to Ikea and came in 50 cents under budget, because I’m very good at going to Ikea. Then on Saturday, I went to yoga and wrote a little bit, but the “highlight” of my Halloween was when I drank a lot of wine by myself while watching Bridget Jones, and then I continued to drink wine while watching the One Direction movie because Saturday was their last show until hiatus is over. So yes, I did drunkenly cry, no shame.
    Here are my scavenger hunt pics! They’re on drive, which I’ve had some trouble sharing before, so let me know if you can’t see them.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7EJaV2mw5PqNnFEaUEzMUgwNUU/view?usp=sharing

  7. hotspur says:

    Over Halloween weekend I watched Sleepaway Camp (1983) for the first time, and I feel like I can safely say you all should see this movie. But do NOT risk spoilering it for yourself. I mean don’t even image-search to see what it might look like, just amazon-rent it for $2.99 and thank me later.

  8. mordonez says:

    Plans for appearing in public as Pippi Longstockings seem to have fallen apart due to mrsdonez being unable to put together a monkey costume on short notice to serve as my sidekick. And then….mrsdonez bought a weird giraffe onesie at Target but was told by her son that she couldn’t wear it because said son’s girlfriend bought the same thing.

    So I may have spent a good part of my Halloween Party attendance (where there were excellent Twin Peaks group costumes, btw) as a giraffe in a slightly too tight costume that kept giving me a wedgie.

    Only one person came without a costume, but really his costume turned out to be “guy from IT who will respond to my friend’s semi-rhetorical question ( “Please name a thing that Republicans are actually FOR?”) with “Step 1, eliminate the Fed!”.

    So when this fellow piped up, I backed away slowly (a rather quick-slow, if you will) to the drink acquisition portion of the apartment and let my friend handle the replete-with-hand-gestures conversation that followed.

    Sunday I didn’t do hardly nothin.

Comments are closed.