Monster Community Pool – 11/3/2015

More power to those of you who do it, but I absolutely, positively REFUSE to work out in the morning.

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Monster Community Pool – 11/3/2015

  1. old man fatima says:

    I don’t know if I’ve told this story here before, but I took a creative writing class in high school. there was a super nerdy girl there who had written a script she wanted to submit for Star Trek Deep Space Nine, and our teacher decided we would all act it out. She said “That’s perfect because there is a character I wrote just for you, Fatima.” I knew who this girl was, but had never interacted with her in any way before in my life.

    My character was a green tentacle dominatrix with whips for hands. I spent the whole episode seducing all the male crew members, and then killing them during sex. To this day I’m not sure what that says about high school Fatima, but I assume that’s the episode that killed DS9.

  2. hotspur says:

    I am pretty sure I’ve told this story here before, or at videogum. When Star Trek: Enterprise was being shot in total secrecy, but had not yet aired so no one knew anything about it, I was a gopher at Paramount, and I brazenly sneaked into their well-guarded soundstage. (Young hotspur thought KEEP OUT signs were for suckers!) I saw the bridge, and the sick bay, and walked in the corridors, and I sat in the captain’s chair. It was more awesome than I want to admit.

    Then when the show actually aired… well, it was hard to pretend it wouldn’t have been cooler with me as captain. I mean, instead of water-polo hero Jonathan Archer and his space basset hound? Oh man, the choices that show made. I hope the new one is super.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    FRQ, what is this “working out in the morning” thing of which you speak? I mean, I recognize those words but they have no meaning in my life.

    • Sota says:

      Working out in the morning:

    • summerestherson says:

      CONTRARY OPINION TIME: Before I started working the overnight shift, I worked out in the morning! It was actually really great and I miss it!!! You just get that shit done before your body or brain really knows what’s going on and then you don’t have to worry about it after a long day of work! Now that I’m moving to the day shift (in about 2 weeks yay!!) I am signing up for a morning boot camp and am very excited about it.

      • old man fatima says:

        I also like working out in the mornings! It’s a great way to get your body on board with being awake, and you start your day with so much more energy. There is a great little running trail across the road from me that goes around a lake and it looks like you’re in the middle of nowhere even though it’s basically right downtown. The only problem is that it’s dark in the morning now and the trails aren’t lit. I got one of those headband lights because I tripped over roots and rocks like 30 times one morning and decided enough was enough.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I don’t know why but I’m very salty today! I just sent someone a nasty message about something she did LAST YEAR that I didn’t even know I was still upset about! It was a secret santa recipient — not a monster of course — who didn’t acknowledge my gift last year. I saw that she signed up again this year and I specifically didn’t participate because I was so mad at her being an ingrate. So I messaged her that it would be appropriate to let the person know when her gift arrives this time. Was that a terrible thing to do on my part or is it acceptable to teach strangers manners via DM? Please weigh in.

    • FRQ says:

      Are you running the Secret Santa?

      • martinmegz says:

        It was the Pearl Jam fans secret santa group, I didn’t run it. Everyone else posted a photo of the gift they received except the girl I sent a gift to, she wouldn’t even tell me she got the package for over a week after delivery.

    • old man fatima says:

      I’d say you were maybe a bit saltier than you needed to be, but she for sure will remember to thank the next person!! That is a direct positive result!

      • martinmegz says:

        Just to close out this saga: she wrote back saying she was embarrassed because the gift she sent was good enough. I’m not sure if she’s being sarcastic or sincere but I definitely care less than I did this morning so maybe I shouldn’t let myself send emails when I’m cranky?

  5. Sota says:

    Did you say 90’s Leo? Yep, I just gif searched and now all I want to do is watch R&J.

  6. flanny says:

    I’m sorry to have become the All-Cat-All-The-Time channel, but there is a ragged little stray kitten living under the dumpster outside my window! Because I’m the lucky person who has the only window that looks directly on the dumpster, I might be the only person who sees it! Evidently, though, in the past the dean has taken in stray cat around campus and found them homes, so I let her know. The cat’s so skinny and sad, though! I’m just hoping she get taken in before it gets cold!

Comments are closed.