How Was Your Day?

Mine was okay! The weather was nice, and I managed to get some writing done. I’m kinda-sorta doing NaNoWriMo, in that I’ve already got something started and I’m using NaNo as incentive to finish it, but man, is 1,667 words a day a LOT of words a day. I’ll keep trying, but I’m not sure if I’ll make it.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    Today is most likely going to end up being the busiest day of the whole year at my job which is terrible, and even more terrible is that one of the first things that happened at work this morning is that I got stuck talking to a client on the phone about really pointless shit she wanted me to do for her, and 30 minutes in she asked for something that was literally impossible and when I politely and apologetically told her so she said “Can I speak to one of your coworkers who has a little more experience than you and can help me?” Please note she was also sucking on a lozenge the entire call. So then my poor boss had to talk to her and spend an hour trying to figure out if the impossible thing was possible (spoiler alert: it wasn’t). I almost snapped the fuck off on her. It was by far the most infuriating call I’ve ever had with a client and I am still super mad about it.

    Also my period started today so basically I am ready to jump off a bridge into a river of alcohol.

  2. hotspur says:

    Huzzah for your NaNo! You will succeed. 1667 words is not that many — just do what I do: throw quality to the wolves!

  3. old man fatima says:

    I had forgotten about NaNoWriMo! I will do it, because Mr Fatima has come up with a brilliant plan for my erotic novels. We created sexy creatures and mousey little humans in the Sims and downloaded a sex app for it, so I’l just going to let them have at it and journalise their adventures. We set the personalities for all of the monsters to “irresistible” and “charming,” among other things, so it should yield results sooner rather than later.

    Other than that, my day has been ok I guess. I had an interview this morning, and I absolutely killed at it, but then we discussed salary and I noped out of there. Why the hell don’t employers list a salary range on job postings?? They’re like “We want a masters degree with five professional designations and a thousand years’ experience, and in exchange we’ll give you eight dollars and this natty pair of socks.” I just hate how much of my time they waste. I make a targeted CV and cover letter, research the company, prepare for the interview, book time off work, and drag my ass around the city for a job that pays half what I make now (16$ and two pairs of socks). BUT. This evening I am getting together with the girls for wine, home made pizza, and board games, AND two of the girls have brand new puppies that I am going to play with all night! So the day is kind of a wash.

  4. flanny says:

    I’ve been listening to The Goldfinch on CD during my commute, and it’s 26 discs long! I’m on disc 21 and the story has finally looped back around to the opening scene, so I feel like I’m almost free. I hated it for a very long time, for probably three CDs’ worth, but then I started liking it again. Once I figured out that it doesn’t really go anywhere and that I didn’t have to pay attention to all the fucking details, I started to roll with it. However, now I just want it to be over. I hope someone murders Theo. What a prick. And I wish everyone would get a personality.

    • Sota says:

      I have tried about 4 times to get to the EW website so that I can get the link and show you the Baby Sitters Club reunion photo, but my internet keeps cutting out and I am all frustrated. So basically, go google it yourself. I tried.

    • hotspur says:

      I feel like Donna Tartt is an amazing writer who I have almost zero interest in, and I’m not sure why that is. Maybe she writes away from conflict, instead of toward it? I don’t know. I’ve only ready Secret History and that was ~17 years ago. Scientifically my brain wasn’t even developed yet, then, so maybe I’m wrong? I remember parts vividly, but I also remember just wishing I was done reading it.

      • I’m very hot-and-cold when it comes to her writing. Sometimes she’s so, SO good, and then other times I want to throw the book/my Kindle at the wall.

      • flanny says:

        I hated Secret History so so much, and I only finished it out of anger. And I remember as soon as I closed it, I went to my roommate’s room and just vented about it for hours. However, The Little Friend is so good. I’d avoided it because of my dislike for Secret History, but our very own Gnid convinced me to pick it up and I’m forever indebted to her for it. It’s a book that I’ll pick up and read again, I know.
        I just don’t think she’s at the height of her powers in Goldfinch. There’s too much description, which is usually something I love. And the characters are all really flat. I enjoy bits of it. I enjoy the idea of it. But I don’t know if I enjoy it itself? But I must get through these last CDs!

    • flanny says:

      Update: One of the highlights of a project I’m doing at work is that I write fun facts of the day on the white board for my students, including wishing someone famous a Happy Birthday. Today the most famous person celebrating a bday I could find was Loretta Swit. My youngest student is 18. I will report back on if they know what MASH is.
      Anyway, happy birthday, Hotlips.

      • flanny says:

        Update: I asked Grant, who is a junior I think, if he knew who Loretta Swit was, and he didn’t. But then I was like, “Do you know MASH?” And he was like, “Oooooh, is she Hotlips Hoolihan?!?!?” Big smile. So yeah, they know. Our future is safe.

  5. FRQ says:

    Are there multiple NaNoWriMos each year, or is time passing so fast that it’s already been a year and I should start questioning everything in my life?

  6. Sota says:

    My day is all sorts of meh. I woke up and had a terrible sore throat, so I have been working from home and drinking lots of hot water with lemon. I feel gross and theres a lot to do at work, so I haven’t managed to take a nap. Annoying. Oh and my internet keeps not working. So I am annoyed.

  7. martinmegz says:

    I hurt my wrist somehow so I went to the doctor and this Doogie Howser, MD child in a doctor’s coat says it’s a bone cyst. Has anyone ever had that? I think I might need a second opinion because I don’t trust doctors who look like teenagers.

    I have this song stuck in my head today. What are you guys listening to?

    • flanny says:

      The 70s station on Spotify.

    • old man fatima says:

      My dentist is also 12 years old, and it’s very disconcerting. He hasn’t become jaded yet though, so he is very gentle with the scraping tools and looked like he wanted to throw himself under a bus when he poked me in the gums. I would recommend a baby dentist 100%.

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    I have been dragging all week, so I took a nap today and when I woke up, I was covered in cats! It’s every cat lady’s dream. That was pretty much the highlight of my week so far. : /

    • martinmegz says:

      Napping with cats is one of life’s great joys. Before my baby Vedder shuffled off this mortal coil, I used be enticed into napping all the time just because she looked so comfy in bed.

Comments are closed.