How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was GREAT. I read and napped and cleaned and watched Master Of None on Netflix and got some writing done and basically had the perfect, relaxing, stay-at-home weekend. I also figured out the winner of the Month Of Scares Scavenger Hunt, which is….*drumroll*…FLANNY! With Fatima as a runner-up, so you will both be getting prizes. I’ll contact you to get your addresses sometime this week!

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. catweazle says:

    My weekend was pretty good! I got to hang out with the baby a little bit before going to my cousin’s wedding shower and he was super cute as usual. He finally has a couple of teeth and is even more of a drool factory than usual but I forgive him because he is my blood. The wedding shower was fine. It was a “happy hour” shower which happily meant open bar. I was on board with that! And then yesterday I caught up on all the TV I’ve missed while work has been taking over my life.

    The only bad thing is that my little sister has been borrowing my acoustic guitar because she started taking lessons, and yesterday her cat knocked it over and broke it. I actually totally don’t mind because it’s an old and cheap guitar that I almost never use but she’s all upset and saying she’s going to buy me a new one and I’m like “Whatevs x1000 don’t worry about it” but she is totally worrying about it 😦

    • old man fatima says:

      Sometimes you can’t not worry about stuff like that! We borrowed a wheelbarrow from Mr Fatima’s sister this summer for the garden, and we ended up using it to haul concrete away when we dug up the basement for the new plumbing system. It’s all scratched and dented now and she keeps telling me it’s not a big deal, but I still want to buy her a new one! I get that it is still functional, but I just don’t like returning something in worse condition than I borrowed it in 😦

      • hotspur says:

        Wheelbarrows are supposed to be scratched and dented! It’s not like you borrowed her Ferrari!

        I know what you mean though. I borrowed an aerobed from a friend and it had a big leak when I gave it back. I was super broke so all I could do was apologize, and she was a lawyer so I don’ think the $150 mattered that much to her? I dunno, I decided not to go all Guy de Maupassant Story about it, but to this day, 10+ years later, I still feel guilty and wonder if she holds it against me. Even though she swore it didn’t matter. “Those beds always crap out, don’t worry.”

        • old man fatima says:

          That’s what Mr Fatima says every time I fret over it. “It’s a wheelbarrow, it’s supposed to look like that!” But we borrowed it brand new, never before used! It’s all bright yellow enamel over top of the steel and now all the yellow enamel has chipped off of the inside and it’s scratched up and gross. It had literally never been used when we borrowed it, not even to carry feathers or cashmere or the gossamer wings of angels.

  2. old man fatima says:

    Ooooh, flanny! I bet I would have taken it if I’d just put up that photo of my friend’s baby dressed as a candy corn, damn my morals!!

    My weekend was ok. I got some home renos done and we watched both Weekend At Bernie’s-es. the first because neither of us had seen it, and the second because how the hell do you make a sequel to that? Poorly, is how. Boy, did I ever hate everyone in those movies. Bernie, both as a coke snorting villain boss and as a corpse, was the most relatable and likable character in either film. He also got laid the most in both films? Whoever is responsible for these monstrosities has a really weird thing for ladies accidentally boning corpses.

    Sunday we went on what was supposed to be a 3 hour hike, but the trails weren’t marked very well so we ended up fighting our way for like 7 hours through uncleared wilderness because we ended up on the wrong side of a lake (the real trail only goes along one side of it). The woods were very thick and there were knee-high bushes everywhere so we were just fighting all the way. We were following the lake around, so we weren’t really lost and it was more annoying than harrowing. Chompsky was so tuckered out after all that hiking that she started snoring the very second she got into the car and didn’t stop all night except for the 2 minutes it took for her to get from the car to the house and curl up in her bed. She didn’t even get up for dinner! It was very cute!

    • martinmegz says:

      One time I went out on a boat for what was supposed to be a 3-hour tour, but the weather starting getting rough and the ship set ground on the shore of an uncharted desert isle. It was a really weird experience, at one point the Harlem Globetrotters showed up!

  3. flanny says:

    Woot woot woot! I can’t wait to tell all my coworkers who were doubtless getting annoyed with me saying, “Oh, I need to get a picture of such-and-such for my scavenger hunt!”

    My weekend was a-ight. I had a medium time at bowling on Friday because I ended up on a team with people I didn’t particularly know who I think thought they were being nice putting me on their team, when really I had another team all picked out. And on Saturday my yoga class was not taught by my favorite teacher, and my phone call with my friend got canceled. And then on Sunday I worked, and I am just generally very stressed out about work and very tired of it and feeling burnt out, so I am dying for Thanksgiving.
    On the plus side, I’m very happy I got my hair cut.

  4. FRQ says:

    Pretty good! My friend got a hold of some tickets for FunFunFun Fest in Austin and invited me to come along. I hadn’t been to Austin in almost a decade, so I took it as a sign to revisit the city. I also had family in the area and used the opportunity to visit them while I was there. The weather wasn’t the best, and I spent way more money on drinks at the festival then I should have, but it was 100% worth attending. Way less hectic than the city’s other two big music events.

  5. martinmegz says:

    I woke up uncharacteristically early on Saturday and I was settled in watching a bunch of episodes of Mystery Diners, but then some friends called and told me to meet them for breakfast. Then we took a two-hour hike because we thought it had cooled down, but it was still hot as hell this weekend. Yesterday I watched the Aloha from Hawaii via Satellite concert while cleaning my apartment.

  6. nastyemu says:

    Our neighbor’s dumb walnut tree finally finished dumping walnuts and leaves on our patio, so we cleaned that up. We went to see Spectre last night, it was not great. Daniel Craig is at the age where it looks creepy when he kisses a younger woman. Apparently Léa Seydoux is 30, but she looked way younger in the movie to me, so no thanks.
    We’ve been eating better and exercising (and not drinking), so I am crankier than usual.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I’ve been out of town last week (annivery trip!!!) and so my weekend was spent relaxing after getting back home and spending some time with the baby. Overall it was pretty great except last night I tried to make enchiladas but it ended up just being soggy enchilada casserole mess but mr truck still went back for seconds.
    Also my football team is 9-0!!

  8. hotspur says:

    I locked myself into writing jail on Friday night and stayed there till Sunday afternoon. It mostly worked! I am dreading reading over what I wrote though, which is this week’s project.

    Sunday night I saw The Martian in 3D. It was decent. In terms of looking at spaceships for 2+ hours, it’s up there with 2001, although parts were ludicrous and the only reason I cared about some characters was because they were played by actresses I Iiked looking at (Jessica Chastain and Mackenzie Davis, I’m looking at you/your thinly written roles).

  9. Sota says:

    Guys, I think I have the plague. I have been home sick for DAYS. It is the worst. I worked from home two days last week. I rallied to attend a concert on Friday night, and then felt terrible for the rest of the weekend. I didn’t even leave my house! I am working from home today only because if someone else came to work sounding like me, I would surely hate that person for showing up at the office. So I am home again. I have already rearranged all the furniture in my bedroom and watched the entire first season of Jane the Virgin on netflix. I am so stir crazy and SICK of being SICK.

    Okay my rant is over. #highoncoldmeds

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      Don’t waste your cold meds high! Start from the beginning and watch all of the Fast and Furious movies. You can thank me later.

      • martinmegz says:

        I legit love Fast Five

      • old man fatima says:

        I have never seen any of those movies. I do love silly nonsense movies where good looking people strike poses, I’m guessing I should give them a shot? Are they on Netflix?

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          Don’t know if they’re on Netflix but you should definitely seek them out because I’m pretty sure you’d love them. The only one I didn’t like was 2 Fast 2 Furious but it was at least entertainingly bad, and if you sat through two Weekends at Bernie’ses it shouldn’t pose much of a challenge for you. The first REALLY good one is Fast Five though, so if you just can’t make it through the first four (but you really, really should; they’re all ESSENTIAL to the full experience) skip ahead to number five. Six was a bit of a letdown, but Seven was irresistibly bonkers.

      • old man fatima says:

        Noted, I’m on it.

  10. Clearly I haven’t been here in a while because I didn’t even realize there was a scavenger hunt. I miss you guys. Hopefully life will settle down soon.

    I went dancing for a little while Saturday but no one wanted to stay out late. I need to find dancing friends. The rest of the weekend was spent hanging out and making tasty food. Pretty good. B- weekend.

    • old man fatima says:

      I’m that lame dancing friend now! I have things to do in the morning, why can’t we just start dancing at like 5 pm so I can get a good groove on and still be in bed by midnight 😦 😦 😦

Comments are closed.