So, How Was Your Day?

Ugh, mine was exhausting. Work has been super busy this week, and I’m off Friday which is 1) great, obviously, but 2) making it even harder to get through the days I have left, because I want my three day weekend and I want it NOW. But I did have delicious leftovers from a really good Korean place near my apartment for dinner, and I managed to get some writing done even though I just want to go to bed and sleep forever, so it wasn’t a total wash.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. artdorkgirl says:

    You guys! I’ve been so busy and I’ve got 2 posts I want to write for you all but this class is killing my brain and my eating away at all my time! The good news is that I only have 4 more lectures left to write and then the kiddos are in charge. This has been a great experience that I don’t think I want to do again.

  2. catweazle says:

    I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday. Theresa I think I am the same situation as you except instead of being off on Friday I’m off all of next week, so this week is crawling. Although yesterday zoomed along a bit more because I got involved in a day-long Facebook fight about feminism with a bunch of turdy dudes but instead of infuriating it was very entertaining because they were the dumbest, and they were outnumbered in the fight. Very refreshing!

  3. old man fatima says:

    It’s Remembrance Day here and I had the day off, so we went to the Veteran’s parade downtown and then hung out with Mr Fatima’s sister an her kids for a few hours. Her boys are great and the new baby is starting to come online (smiling and moving about instead of just laying there like a bowl of squirmy pudding), but oh boy is it ever exhausting hanging around with 4 boys under the age of 7. Everything is so loud and there’s so much punching! We sent the boys off with Mr Fatima, who is their favourite person in the world, and his sister and I just sat and had coffee and cookies (that she made for the boys but woops we ate them all) and chatted. It was my first time at their place since they finished the renovations and I have to say it’s a bit of a kick in the pants to have to come home to the literal pile of steaming garbage that I call a house (jk my house is perfectly fine, it’s just not a million dollar century home in the heart of downtown renovated so it looks like something out of a magazine oh god I’m so full of envy!!!)

  4. flanny says:

    Honestly, it was not an amazing day. I believe many moons ago I complained that I was feeling burnt out and that feeling has not changed, so I was stressed out and panicked and feeling down about my life this morning. But then my best friend at work brought me a piece of pumpkin pie with whipped cream from a meeting in one of the conference rooms, so the world is a little sunnier!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I read the words “pumpkin pie” and immediately upvoted your comment. I think I need to go get pumpkin pie later.

      • flanny says:

        Even better than just getting pumpkin pie is having someone bring you pumpkin pie! Find someone to bring it to you while you sit on your butt. Recommended!

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m so tired! Last night, we went to see Beirut, and they sounded great, but we couldn’t see them, no matter where we stood, so we didn’t stay that long. Big Freedia was also in town last night, and if I were younger, I probably would have gone to that show too, but alas, I am too old for 2 concerts in 1 night, and I had to get up early for a meeting.

    I cannot keep up with all the work deadlines I have. My job is not usually high stress, but holy shit. I feel like every time I think about how much I have to do…

  6. hotspur says:

    My boss put out a box to collect donations for soldiers today, for his kid’s class, and I bought 3 things of Clif Bars for it (they were on the “wish list”). But when I went to put them in the box, the boss wasn’t in his office. So I was like, “Well, I’m doing this for the soldiers, not to look good at work!” so I threw the Clifs in and walked away. But now I regret that. I really was doing it to look good, and I blew it! 😦

  7. Martinmegs says:

    I’m off today because I’m running a teacher development session on Saturday so I’m currently sitting in an ihop waiting for my Nutella crepes. I have no idea what compelled me to come here, but here I am.

    Hotspur and I saw Spectre last night. It wasn’t great, in my opinion, but certainly not bad enough to walk out of–which six people did at our screening! Three separate groups of people. I think if the director had cut out 30-45 minutes, it could have been much better.

    • hotspur says:

      The walkouts were surprising. I liked but did not love it. It was chockablock with sneaky callbacks to previous Bond movies, going all the way back to Dr No. If they never make another one at all, this was a fitting end to the franchise. It even felt kind of funereal. (In a good way.)

      However, the best moment was when we were leaving and a super drunk lady asked us what movie we came out of, and without even meaning to say it this way, martinmegs answered: “Bond. James Bond.”

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Hey guys…I’m very late and no one will probably read this, but my day yesterday was pretty good but very exhausting. Mr Truck is out of town all week and taking care of a baby full time while going to work full time and also having a CRAZY week at work is legit exhausting. But we had a food & drink event at work that was crazy fun and I found out that one of the executive assistants in the office was required to not go because her boss said she “needed to hold down the fort.” Ugh, can you imagine? So at least I’m not required to skip events for no reason other than an arbitrary need to keep someone in the office. In case the phones ring? But we have voicemail? Poor girl. Also it’s her birthday this week.

    • flanny says:

      At my first real office job, I sat with three other people in a sort of office inside the office, where there was a window from our office that opened up into the greater office. Once the larger office had a taco bar that everyone was invited to, but because someone needed to be in our smaller office to watch the safe/answer the phone calls, we had to trade off on going to the taco bar. And the taco bar was set up right outside the window so we could see people loading stuff onto their plates and then also see how sad the bar was when everyone had picked through it and we hadn’t yet gotten to it. It does indeed suck.

Comments are closed.