TV Chat!

It’s been a dog’s age since we had a nice little TV chat, so let’s have one.

Just this morning I finished our pal Aziz’s Netflix series Master of None. Overall I enjoyed it quite a bit. It was a nice mix of lighthearted and heartfelt realistic emotions. And while I appreciate the episode about sexism, it was a bit heavy-handed, as if the writers had just read a bunch of blog think pieces and copy-pasted bits of them for the dialogue. I very much enjoyed the episodes about old people, especially when Dev and Brian went to dinner with their parents.

The episodes with Dev and Rachel were pretty great, they felt real and raw, which I liked, but also found very stressful. You know, I also just finished The Goldfinch, and was talking about the ending with a friend, and how it waxed philosophical in a way that I didn’t feel was earned. And the last episode of Master of None did a little waxing philosophical, but it was very impactful (is that a word?) and had been built up to nicely. The series made me laugh and think with a minimal of eye-rolling. Good stuff. What did you guys think?

I’m also slowly watching How To Get Away With Murder on Netflix, which does not make me think at all. What are you guys watching? Any good recommendations?

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to TV Chat!

  1. catweazle says:

    I am a little behind on TV at the moment (by which I mean I have three or four unwatched episodes of The Vampire Diaries on my DVR) but I have been watching Brooklyn Nine-Nine which is still very good! I was worried that Jake and Amy being together would become the focus but luckily they backgrounded it pretty quickly. And the Halloween episode was great!

    I haven’t watched the most recent episode of ANTM yet but the one before that finally got Hadassah off our TVs for which I am grateful. I still live in fear that Mikey will be the last ever winner of ANTM but hope lives on I guess. It could still be Nyle, Lacey or Mame (please don’t tell me one of them got kicked off last week because I would cry)! Sorry that I stopped recapping it but it was going to turn into me just rage ranting about Mikey, Devin and Hadassah never getting eliminated. I plan to write a post about the series finale though!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also, Elementary fucking finally came back! I am nervous about this season because Sherlock’s dad is played by John Noble and since I never watched Fringe I associate him mainly with being part of the reason that season 2 of Sleepy Hollow was so terrible. Please don’t ruin Elementary, Johnny! The first episode was good though. Especially Joan! Joan is the best!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I was not digging Joan’s tie in this scene, but I liked the first episode.

        Mikey from Top Model is the worst! I am mostly rooting for Nyle, but as long as Mikey doesn’t win, I’ll be fine with whoever they choose.

        Prepare to be infuriated by Mikey’s idea for his brand – spoiler alert – it involves socks.

    • FRQ says:

      Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Bob’s Burgers (which also had a great Halloween episode) have been outstanding this season.

      • flanny says:

        I got legitimately scared at Bob’s Burgers! I thought maybe I was going to have to turn it off or risk not sleeping that night. I’m pretty cool.

  2. FRQ says:

    I haven’t really been watching any new shows, other than a handful that happen to fall around the same time I eat dinner. One of those is Supergirl, which I do not care for AT ALL. The comparisons between its trailer and this sketch ended up being mostly true, and they can’t seem to stop namedropping Superman. Hell, they’re only three episodes in and he’s already made a brief appearance to save her bacon. I’ve also seen Grandfathered and The Grinder, of which the latter is decent.

    I know this aired over the summer, but I never had a chance to talk about Mr. Robot, which I enjoyed immensely. It’s pretty dark, but it’s probably the best show on TV about the hacking world. Unfortunately it ended on a weak note (with a unflattering and unoriginal plot twist), but hopefully the show redeem itself next season and not pull a Heroes, where the series never recovers from a shitty season 1 finale.

  3. nastyemu says:

    I think Fargo is the only show on right now that I really look forward to every week.
    I’ve also been watching season 1 of iZombie on Netflix. It’s kind of dumb and corny but fun and the lead is cute. I also watch Scream Queens for exactly the same reasons.
    The Leftovers continues to be The Leftovers.

  4. hotspur says:

    I finally started watching Silicon Valley. I watched the first three in a row and then forced myself to go do stuff I had to do — this show is not going to change my life, but it’s enjoyable. It really does a good job of… world-building, I guess is the word. And I like how the stakes are super high by the end of episode 3. High stakes is not the norm for a sitcom!

  5. mordonez says:

    I generally don’t do reality shows, but the Great British Baking show is the exception. It’s so great, and not terrible and mean spirited like our competition shows, and the major scandal was when someone inadvertently stole Howard’s custard! (Howard: Ooh, where’s me custard?)

    Anyway, it just concluded, and the winner was my third choice of the three finalists, but A+ would watch again. Also, I’m sort of watching Walking Dead along with mrsdonez now, even though I didn’t watch it for the first several years. So that’s slightly odd. Beyond that, I’m looking very forward to The Expanse on SyFy. It’s based on a series of novels I’ve been reading, so if you like SF doorstops, read Leviathan Wakes (and then there are 4 others currently released). Lastly, Going Deep, that show I posted about last week, premieres TONIGHT, for all of you Esquire TV havers. I believe Amy Sedaris appears to share her rabbit petting expertise.

  6. gnidrah says:

    I don’t know if any of these shows will be available for you, but currently I have three shows on the go:
    1) the final series of Lewis – I know that they have said “final” before and then done more, but I think this really is it. It’s more of the same, but you know that’s why we love the show. I’ve still got the second half of the very last ep to watch, and now I’m waiting to see if there will be another Morse spin-off, ‘Hathaway’…
    2) the second series of Les Revenants. The first series blew me away, so we were all so hyped up for the second. If you are waiting to watch it, I don’t want to ruin things… but the adjective I’m using to describe it most right now is “batshit”. Very enjoyable batshit, but literally no plot whatsoever.
    3) Unforgotten. Seriously, this is so good. The final episode is tomorrow night and I am on the edge of my seat. It’s a thriller about a cold case, but that makes it sound so very “seen it all before”, and it’s much more than that. It’s so layered and everyone in it, just every single actor (and there are LOTS, as there are so many strands of plot all connected to this past murder) is amazing. I highly recommend if you can find it anywhere.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Les Revenants started airing in the US on October 31, so I have the first couple episodes in the DVR. I loved the first season – that Mogwai score is also so great.

    • Ooh, I’m going to have to look up Unforgotten. I love Nicola Walker.

      • flanny says:

        Can we talk about Last Tango in Halifax, which is a crazy tv show but also really great? Someone is always engaged! It’s crazy!

        • I cannot keep up with that show! You miss one episode and someone else has died or is getting divorced or SOMETHING and I have no idea what’s going on.

        • flanny says:

          I started watching it on PBS in the middle of season 3 (after Kate spoiler died), so I watched the show on Netflix up to then and once I was caught up I was exhausted.

      • gnidrah says:

        The end of the first episode, when a load of seemingly disparate strands got pulled together, almost made me cry it was that good. I’m told it’s been such a success that they will be making another. (I’m also told that however much we like Nicola Walker, River is one to avoid…!)

  7. Sota says:

    I watched the entire first season of Jane the Virgin while hibernating this weekend with the plague. I found it to be enjoyable but super cheesy. It was good watch while youre sick mindless entertainment. And i tend to like teen shows and mindless entertainment. Some people watch reality tv or HGTV to veg out…apparently teen dramas are my jam.

    The only show I am currently watching on TV is Vampire Diaries which is turning out to be quite the snoozer this season. The Heretics arent even a little bit scary. I miss Kai. He was a really fun villan.

    I also tried to get back to Arrested Development new episodes. I am going to finish them eventually…but its going pretty slow. I will add Aziz’s show to my must watch list.

    • flanny says:

      Be warned, though. Aziz’s show might be light-hearted, but it’s not necessarily light and cheesy. For sure still a must watch, but it’s not a replacement for Jane the Virgin.

      • Sota says:

        Oh for sure. I definitely watch other more serious and age appropriate shows too, I just happen to veg out best to teen angst.

    • catweazle says:

      I’ve only watched one (or maybe two?) episodes of TVD so far and I agree about the Heretics. I feel like they’re trying to make them like the Originals since they’re all British and the Originals already were not all that great aside from Elijah of course. Also how the fuck is Enzo still on this show? How could they get rid of the witch twins and keep Enzo around? They change his personality and motivations like five times a season because he is not a real character.

      Caroline used to be my favorite and in theory I could get behind her dating Stefan but I feel like putting that relationship front and center now that Elena’s gone was a really bad choice. I feel like they’re probably going to put Damon with Bonnie which is more interesting since I actually started to like Bonnie last season for the first time. I need to catch up though; all of my opinions are so behind I’m sure.

  8. flanny says:

    Oh, and speaking of Aziz, there’s an essay he wrote about racism in Hollywood in the New York Times RIGHT NOW. It’s a good read, I think.

  9. old man fatima says:

    I watched the first episode of How to Get Away With Murder, but it didn’t really grip me. Does it get better? I really want to love it, I just think it was super heavy handed and nothing about it made me say “Oh boy, I can’t wait to see what happens next!” It won a bunch of awards though, right? And Viola Davis is great in everything, right?

    Is anyone else watching Downton Abbey still? It’s so silly but I’m going to miss it. This season has made me say “Cora is such a cunt” out loud multiple times, and I’m angrier than usual at Mary. All I want is for Edith to have a halfway decent ending, but I don’t think they’ll give her that.

    I tried to watch the newest season of American Horror Story, but it’s too sexually violent for my tastes. I don’t care about vampires and I don’t like seeing people stripped naked and raped/tortured, plus no Jessica Lange, so I gave up on it pretty quickly.

    • flanny says:

      It does not particularly get better, no. Now that you point it out, maybe I’m watching to see when it’s going to get really compelling? That’s a terrible thing for me to say about a show I’m 10 episodes deep in. Mainly I like looking at that kid from Harry Potter.

      • old man fatima says:

        It’s a very good looking show, for sure. It’s a bit odd that a show that opens with a bunch of law students disposing of a body during homecoming (?) isn’t compelling enough to keep my attention, but this world we live in is full of mysteries I guess!

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I watched the first episode of a new Starz show called Flesh and Bone. It was good enough that I will most likely watch the whole season.

    Ash vs. Evil Dead is fantastic! And I’m not even a big fan of the movies, so I don’t feel like I am the target audience for that show, but I love it.

    iZombie continues to be one of my favorites.

    The Walking Dead started out very strong this season, but the last episode was not good, and I don’t know how much more mileage they can get out of this. We’re in the woods killing walkers! Oh look, a new group of (probably dangerous) people!

    Saw the first episode of Master of None, and will definitely watch all of those.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      The latest episode of the Walking Dead forced me to resolve that if there was one more speech, I’d never watch the show again. There wasn’t another speech, but still, so many speeches! And so boring! And at the beginning, the way that one guy tacked his tangential, not-really-related speech to the end of Rick’s speech, it was almost like the show was making fun of itself. But it wasn’t, because that was only the FIRST example of speechifying in the episode! Manoman, show, at least open with a joke or something.

  11. I really liked Master of None! Also, it was shot beautifully, which I’m always a sucker for–I’m a fan of how more and more comedies are breaking away from the standard sitcom look and putting effort into their cinematography.

  12. Simon Spidermonk says:

    Very much agree with your thoughts on Master of None. There were a few moments that had me saying out loud, “This is a goddamn work of art,” but there were also a few moments that felt like they’d been lifted straight from internet think-pieces to appeal to The Millenials. And the ending… I don’t really get how the concept that no-one is 100% sure all the time was such a revelation to the Dev character. The show presented a few mind-expanding perspectives but that wasn’t one of them. Is Dev some kind of imbecile? That didn’t seem to be what the rest of the show was trying to say, but that’s what I walked away with. Still, very good overall.

  13. Commentatrix says:

    I watched Master of None AND HTGAWM over the weekend while my mouth was healing, and I agree with your assessments. MON can definitely be a little on the nose but I guess that’s to be expected with a show where every episode is about an “issue.” Overall there was just so much great commentary, so many great jokes, that I found it very easy to forgive the mildly eye rolly parts.

    Viola Davis (and sometimes the writing) is good enough in HTGA that I keep watching in spite of my better intentions.

    Also want to recommend Fargo and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, both of which are very delightful in very different ways.

Comments are closed.