A Purrrfect Supercut


As everyone knows because I will not shut up about it, four and a half months ago I adopted a cat. I fought it for a while, pretending like I was not a cat lady. I didn’t buy a cat condo because I didn’t want to have cat stuff all over. I considered not letting my cat on my bed because I didn’t want cat fur all over. “Where can I hide her food dish?” I wondered. “Oh, don’t worry, I won’t be one of those people who only talks about her cat,” I told my sister. But in the past few weeks, I’ve been tired and stressed out and let down my defenses and now literally all I want to do ever is talk about my cat. I mean, she’s sooooo cuuuuuuuute. Awww. She should be in pictures!

So I was delighted to see this supercut not only because it features my favorite cats in cinema (Jonesy from the Alien franchise and all the cats who bite Selina Kyle in Batman Returns), but also because I was toying with doing a little series on here where I sit on my sofa and watch a movie featuring a cat with my cat, and then discuss both our reactions to it. For example, just yesterday I was watching the documentary Do I Sound Gay? (which included an interview with David Sedaris where he talked about Future Homosexuals of America), and the narrator had a cat who meowed onscreen. Nan (my cat) flipped out hearing another cat. I think her rating of Do I Sound Gay? would be Is There Another Cat In The Apartment If So It Better Not Be Eating My Food. My rating would be Brought Up Some Interesting Concepts But Did Not Dig Deeply Enough Into Any Of Them To Be Effective.

So far no one is protesting the idea, so it seems like all of you are on board! Awesome! I’ll write up the first installment this weekend.

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Purrrfect Supercut

  1. old man fatima says:

    YES. PLEASE.

    I kept telling myself that I can’t be a crazy cat lady if I only have one cat at a time, but two years after Catticus Maximus entered Valhalla I still talk about him all the time and I have his ashes in an antique urn on the mantle beside the gigantic Napoleon portrait I had commissioned of him, so maybe it’s not the number of cats that counts.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I would also like to read about your cat’s reaction to movies!!

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    I saw the best tweet yesterday: “How dare you call me mentall unstable, on this, the day of my cat’s quinceanera!” It applies to several ladies (and gents!) I know. Including Flanny.

  4. mordonez says:

    Of course we want to read this, right? I mean why wouldn’t we? We lost a cat a few months ago now, and I think that the plan is to visit our favorite shelter this weekend and once again become a two cat household.

    Mrsdonez for some reason wants to name a cat “Gatsby”, but I said we could only do it if the cat throws extravagant parties but is hollowed out husk emotionally, which isn’t what I want in a cat. But I guess if the cat is super rich that could solve some problems along the way, so…..

Comments are closed.