So, How Was Your Day?

Uggggh, I think I’m getting a sinus infection. That negates everything else about my otherwise-fine day. Tell me something nice to make me feel better.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. old man fatima says:

    I’m such a huge downer this week, but my amazing parents had to cancel the emergency trip! My stepdad tore his rotator cuff and is on a wait list for surgery. It’s a huge bummer for them, obviously, as they’d been planning a trip to NZ for the winter. He is in great shape for almost 70, and the doctor thinks he’ll have a speedy recovery, so that’s good. But it means I’m left on my own for the roof! I think I’m just going to pour a heap of stop-leak up there to hold for the winter, board up the hole in the side of my house, and put a new roof on in the spring? It’s 0 degrees out and I’m a cold weather baby, I’m not about to roof in the almost-snow. I’ve been looking at apartments all week and I can’t wait to not have this house anymore.

    I found a list of easy renos that add resale value to your home, and thankfully I’ve already done most of them. I’m on the fence about painting the kitchen cabinets, because I know some people like natural wood and I’m afraid I’ll be shooting myself in the foot. Here is a kitchen from the internet. The before is similar to mine. I’ve already replaced the gross dark green faux marble backsplash with bright white tile and stamped tin, and I found a liquidation place near my work that sells gallons of white paint for 10$. What do you guys think?

    • Sota says:

      Do you have a realtor you could ask advice from? Its hard to say…cause some people do like the regular wood…or at least the option for it if they want it. I dont know.

      • old man fatima says:

        I will ask my realtor, that’s a good idea! I should also add that my kitchen is about half the size of the one in the photo. The white really opens it up and I’m thinking that painting the cabinets could make it look less tiny?

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          To be totally candid – if it’s a really natural, trendy wood color, keep it, if it’s that honey (90s) wood color, paint it white. White is so trendy right now and it shows so well. Personally, I prefer the natural wood, but would take white over 90s honey wood.

    • old man fatima says:

      Now that I’m home, here is a picture of my actual kitchen. This was from when I was doing the backsplash, hence the painter’s tape. The oven surround is stamped tin.

  2. Sota says:

    I feel like I am becoming a professional party planner in my off hours…and boy is it exhausting! Last weekend was the 90s theme surprise party. Now that that one is over, I have to turn all my attention to the Bridal shower I am throwing for a friend the first weekend of December, and then my Bro, SIL and I are planning a Christmas Party for all of our friends the following weekend. The Bridal shower is the one that takes the most work obviously…but man alive, themed parties require work. I am working on some cute decorations and things for that and even though I hate shower games apparently I have to come up with a few. WOOF. At least for the Christmas party all I have to do is bake some cookies and set up the beer pong table. That is SO much easier!

    Other than that I am still recovering from the plague I been fighting the last few weeks. I am ready to be not coughing through work calls and being “that person coughing that everyone hates” at the office.

  3. summerestherson says:

    So a person at work was rude and pretty nasty to me on the phone (not the first time he’s blown up in a similar way) but a manager happened to be standing right next to me and kind of heard some of what was going on and then asked me what happened. So I told her and she decided to write him up! Part of me is happy about that and the other (pushover) part of me wants her to just ignore it, because this guy usually gets over things quickly and then is fine? And I have to work with him a lot, so it’ll be awkward if he thinks I “snitched” on him to the bosses and got him a write up. But then at the same time I am kind of sick to death of being spoken to rudely and it needs to stop? I don’t know. It’s dumb. I’m tired.

    • old man fatima says:

      I guarantee you are not the only one he is rude to. If the write up doesn’t mention you by name, he’ll have no idea who ratted. Even if it does mention you by name, fuck him! What a rude dude! If he says anything to you or is antagonistic, just tell him the truth. He was SO rude that someone overheard and wrote him up without any involvement from you. Good for your manager! Rude people keep being rude because nobody shames them for it. He broke the social contract, don’t let him guilt you about it!

      • summerestherson says:

        Thanks! News *does* tend to be more casual and people tend to let their emotions out more freely than in most other professional settings, but I think there are definitely people in the industry who use that as an excuse to be assholes.

  4. Kate says:

    Hi everyone! I don’t know if you heard about Kelly, but she’s fine. Gawker is now in her past, and it’s on to the next big thing! I am having some unusually good food at the San francisco airport (wood fired basil pesto chicken pizza! great wine! arugula salad!) on my way back home from a nice trip.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My kid is sick = less sleep than I’d like.
    Work is annoying me for reasons I’ve mentioned before – I have to decide if I wanna fight for my place and fight to be included in stuff or just ignore how annoying it all is and just do the work I’m supposed to.

    Do you guys have managers that try to bring to into upper level stuff so you can learn and get experience or do you have managers that just make you do your own work and ignore you most of the time?

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I’ve had both and while I appreciate the shielding that goes on when you’re just allowed to focus on your work and not what’s going on upstairs (so to speak), I prefer knowing, even if it’s only to assess my own job stability and see if there’s a way to make my work better or make myself seem more indispensible.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah, I agree with both and the 2nd one is what I want – I just want to tell him that his job is supposed to be helping me with my job and I’ll never go anywhere if I don’t get some experience doing some stuff and contributing to different stuff. Which would be fine if he didn’t ask for my help on some stuff and then take my ideas and run and exclude me from all the rest of it and act like I should know this stuff even though he never tells me anything!

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Yeah, number two only works if you’re allowed in the room (and to speak in said room). I always couch these weird work things in a “how can I help you” rather than a “this would be helpful for me” sitch. If you make it all about you helping them out, their more likely to respond.

  6. flanny says:

    I left work early today and have spent the last five or six hours in PJ curled up in bed with my cat, coughing meekly

  7. Sota says:

    Guys….lets make sure someone gets this in the secret santa exchange this year…

    http://nymag.com/following/2015/11/selfie-arm-lets-you-take-selfies-in-secret.html

    • martinmegz says:

      Oh if we’re going to do that we should probably start organizing it. Last year we split the list so Theresa and I could each participate without knowing who was assigned to us.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      I saw a selfie stick for the first time last spring when I was passing through Vancouver. I don’t think I really believed they existed, or that people would buy them. I full-on gawked at the girl taking the picture as I walked past. Like, eyes wide, mouth slightly agape, neck turning to keep her in view as I passed her. Very rude, but it wasn’t intentional. I was just surprised. Anyway, if you’re going to be that openly image-obsessed, you’re kind of asking for it. In moderation, shame isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

      This arm thing, on the other hand: very subtle.

  8. mordonez says:

    My day has been ok. The laundry I’m currently doing will remove any remaining campfire smell from my clothes (see the previous tale of my weekend).

    Also, I am stalking an Ebay auction that closes Sunday night that, if I win it, will bring me a digital piano (and so much more– it slices, it dices) that should make ms. weazle jealous. No outbidding me, now! Also, how does anyone use Ebay without a sniping service?

    I just found out that the current owner of esnipe.com bought it on Ebay, using esnipe to place the bid.

  9. This week has been crazy stressful but today wasn’t bad. I am starting to get a little cold, but I’m hoping to head it off at the pass. I get to hang out with the boy tonight, which always makes me happy.

Comments are closed.