It’s Friday, Let’s Dance!

Ugh, this week took forever. Tell me about your weekend plans, and then ALSO tell me about your Thanksgiving plans, because I won’t be posting a Dance Party next week.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3228-1384903570-0

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to It’s Friday, Let’s Dance!

  1. old man fatima says:

    I am going to be weatherproofing my house this weekend, and replacing insulation that went mouldy from the roof leak. I’m also going to go see the new Hunger Games movie on Sunday and I’m very excited!

    Also, I had two interviews today and was offered both jobs. I told them I’d need time to consider, so I have to figure out what to do this weekend I guess! They both seem really great but I’m sort of leaning toward one, but the other pays better. But not by much! So difficult.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      That’s so exciting!! Good luck!

      • Can’t you ask the one you want to raise the pay to match the other one? That seems like a reasonable request, especially if it’s not much of a difference.

        • old man fatima says:

          They already raised the pay above the original range to make it acceptable to me, I’d kind of feel like an ass asking for that last little drop in the bucket… And the other place lets out at 3.30 on Fridays and has discounted transit passes and car share memberships! But the one I want sort of more has monthly wine and cheese lunches (LUNCHES!!) and very slightly better benefits (90% coverage instead of 80).

    • hotspur says:

      Does one have much higher turnover than the other? If one has much higher turnover, is that because it works people too hard so everyone wants out… or is it because it attracts super bright people who just don’t sit still for long no matter what?

      • old man fatima says:

        The both are pretty steady employers with plenty long-term staff. They both do social events, but one is a much bigger company so might be more fun?

        • hotspur says:

          I like bigger usually. Smaller means if there is one crazy or incompetent person, they leave a bigger insanity footprint. Bigger places find ways around them more easily. In my experience.

  2. flanny says:

    We’re supposed to get up to half a foot of snow tomorrow, so along with half of Battle Creek I went to the grocery store and stocked up on supplies just in case it’s the apocalypse. I’m going to make meatloaf and sweet potato empanadas!

    I’m going to my mom’s for Thanksgiving, and probably we’ll go to my aunt’s for dinner, which I’m not 100% looking forward to. Judging from some facebook posts, I think my cousins and I have very different opinions about everything that’s going on in the world. I’m happy to hear anyone’s ideas for countering Islamaphobic comments!

    • Sota says:

      Do this to any people who make awful comments:

    • old man fatima says:

      I hope you got your storm chips!

      I just avoid avoid avoid in situations like that. I used to try and reason, but in the end you’re just ruining your own dinner. Anyone bigoted enough to make social media posts for the whole world to see how bigoted they are is not going to see the light over one evening. My brother feels very differently, though, he thinks that if you don’t speak out you are tacitly condoning the behaviour. He is way better at this sort of thing than me, but what he likes to do is take their words and define “racism” and “bigotry” and tell them that regardless of their intention, what they are saying fits those definitions. He tells them that if they aren’t happy with being called bigots, the only way they can change that is to stop saying bigoted things. He manages to say it in a way that gets a pretty positive reaction most of the time? My brother is the racism whisperer, basically.

    • So glad I don’t have to deal with certain family members at Thanksgiving this year. One cousin in particular has been posting terrible stuff. Friendsgiving for me!

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      My brother-in-law insists he’s not homophobic even though he is, so for a while I seriously considered coming out as gay just so that he’d shut up about it around me. Given my chronic lack of a girlfriend, it would have been pretty easy to pull off. So maybe fake-convert to Islam? Depends on your family though. I can count on mine to be awkwardly supportive to my face (and gossip like crazy behind my back) because they try to be good people, but if yours is more aggressively opinionated, this strategy could backfire in a big way.

      • flanny says:

        My family is for sure the awkwardly supportive to my face type. Maybe I could double-whammy and say I’m converting so I can marry a Muslim lady.

  3. hotspur says:

    I am going up to the Bay Area (Oakland) for the usual Vegetarian Feastageddon and once again that means I have to test-kitchen some recipes this weekend. I am not looking forward to it. I never do. Too much work! And then that day is the best. Every time.

  4. Sota says:

    I have been sick for like 3 weeks now. I am going to the Dr again in a little bit and I am not leaving until they give me new drugs. I refuse to be sick any longer. I am DONE.

    That said, those drugs better make me healthy cause next Wed I am flying to NYC for thanksgiving weekend. My plans are to Friendsgiving with my friends out there, which will be amazing. I love them so much. The rest of the weekend will be just enjoying all of the city being decorated for christmas, visiting museums, eating food that is delicious and spending too many hours on the barstool at my favorite bar. CANNOT WAIT.

  5. FRQ says:

    Tonight I’ll be going to the local natural history museum, where on Fridays they extend their hours into the night to let everyone booze it up and watch IMAX movies. Tomorrow I’ll watch the Hunger Games movie, then go to my friend’s place and play with her new dog.

    As for Thanksgiving, I’ll be heading down to South FL to see my family. I’ll keep the posts going through Wednesday afternoon, so if you want to update us on your plans then, please do.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I was supposed to go visit a friend this weekend, but now it’s supposed to snow, so I will most likely stock up on groceries tonight, then stay indoors for as long as possible.

    I have two projects I HAVE to finish for work this weekend, and twenty other work projects that also need to get done, but not necessarily by Monday.

    Our office is closed Thursday and Friday next week – I cannot wait for a long weekend!

  7. I’m coming home!! I’ve been in Australia for the past week for work and it’s been awesome but I’m ready to get back to my kid now. Apparently she’s started saying “love you lots” while I’ve been gone and I need to get home and hear that ASAP.

    Australia has been so great though. I’ve seen so many koalas and I have approximately 5,405 pictures of them. I took a tour yesterday that took a slight detour to this koala watching place that I had actually already been to earlier in the week and I was sort of grumpy about it at first, and then this koala climbed down to the lowest branch on his tree and started stuffing his face with leaves. It was the coolest thing ever.

    As for thanksgiving, I’m going to be cooking dinner for my mom and my husband’s family so here’s hoping that the jetlag isn’t too debilitating.

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    We’re hanging out at home and I am so happy because damn, am I exhausted. Look at the bags under my eyes!! It’s terrible!!

    I finished one grant yesterday and have one more grant to finish up this weekend before the holiday. JUST FUND ME ALREADY!!

  9. mordonez says:

    This weekend I think I gotta do some yard work unless it snows (come on….snow) but then on Sunday, which is, now that I mention it, my birthday, it is time to adopt a NEW KITTEN! We’re not totally sure about kitten vs. youngish cat, being slightly worried about what the giant black cat would do with/to a kitten, but this is happening, people.

    Next week, mrsdonez super does not want to go to Thanksgiving w/my family, which I get, and wasn’t especially looking forward to either, so we may stay home and cook a turkey and invite any available orphans over. The problem here is that if I don’t tell my father that we’re going somewhere else (sister in law, for example), and tell him we’re staying home, he will expect an invite, and after this recent vacation that will not be popular around here either.

    Sometimes, ya gotta just lie like a rug, I say.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    You know how Facebook reminds you what you posted years ago? This gem popped up today – I posted it back in 2012…
    http://www.stereogum.com/1750625/this-picture-of-daniel-craig-with-long-hair-in-the-90s-is-your-problem-now/vg-loc/videogum/

    • flanny says:

      I would give my left arm to get vintage VG to come up on my timehop instead of whatever junk I posted. (Gabe would hate this sentimentality.)

    • hotspur says:

      I know there were way more comments there. I wish they hadn’t cratered the comment threads there. 😦

  11. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend we’re doing family thanksgiving part 1 on Sunday. Gotta parade that baby around. Prior to that, we are going to watch football all day Saturday and I invited my friend over that night. Next week I’m working through Wednesday and then family thanksgiving part 2 and then next weekend I’m throwing my friend a baby shower. My kid has been sick for a solid month and if anyone at either thanksgiving so much as sniffles, I’m gonna go sit in the other room with the kid.

  12. I am binging Jessica Jones tonight and trying to maybe get work done. If it isn’t too terrible out I’m going to the print studio tomorrow. I’m just in hermit mode, but people want to hang out which means I might have to be social at some point.

    I have a final round interview on Tuesday that I have to make a presentation for. I am not looking forward to it, just because it’s extra work on top of the work I’m already doing. Plus, I got an email yesterday about a contract to hire position. So, like fatima, I have a lot of thinking to do. I don’t want to think, I want to sleep. Curses.

Comments are closed.