How Was Your (Extended) Weekend?

I had a solid Thanksgiving, myself.   I did all the traditional family activities, saw some old friends, and did a little shopping, including the purchase of a sweet new TV.   Don’t worry, I bought it online.   I’m not the type to wait outside   a Best Buy at some ungodly hour.   

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How Was Your (Extended) Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Although I was dreading Tgives with the fam, it turned out pretty good. One of my favorite cousins was there, and I hadn’t seen her in years and years.

    But I have terrible news! After probably months of not seeing the creepy guy at my work, I saw him today. He came in while a group of us where having lunch and held onto the back of my chair and breathed audibly. And then revealed that his office is getting moved into my building. And not just into my building, but into the basement where I am! He’s in a different wing, but there are literally only four of us down here so I’m bound to see him a lot. HELP!

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    I barely left the house and it was everything I hoped it could be. I also got caught up on Doctor Who and started watching Jessica Jones. It was pretty great!

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a great weekend! Thanksgiving was terrific! My football team completed an undefeated regular season! My kid started saying “Dada” and generally expanded her babbling vocabulary! I went out to dinner with a bunch of friends! I threw a baby shower for one of my best friends! I got a new phone! I still have no idea what to get for most of the people on my list, but I got some stuff taken care of! It was great!

  4. Sorry I forgot to post this, FRQ! My weekend was great, even if I should’ve got more work done. I ate myself sick on Thanksgiving, watched documentaries on Netflix (The Roosevelts is finally on there!) while continuing to eat myself sick on Friday and Saturday, read some books, and got some writing done on Sunday.

    • flanny says:

      What’d you read? I read The Chaperone by Laura Mortiarty and I liked it way more than I thought I would. I read it in two days! It was serious but not heavy, which is basically all I want in life.

      • I read some of horror anthologies edited by Ellen Datlow (one was Supernatural Noir, which was great, and the other was The Doll Collection, which was all stories about creepy dolls and was obviously TERRIFYING).

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Thanksgiving was good. I mostly ate potatoes and dessert – there were at least 4 different types of potatoes! And someone put cookies out BEFORE dinner. Of course I’m going to eat those.

    Other than going to the grocery store on Friday, I did not leave the house, and stayed in my pajamas. It was great.

    I’m ALMOST done with a big work project that I worked on all day yesterday. It goes to the printer this week, and I cannot wait for it to be over even though there are other big projects right around the corner.

    • martinmegz says:

      I went to Trader Joes on Friday and it was nearly empty! For the first time ever I parked directly across from the entrance. Usually I have to park on the street a block away because the parking lot is such a nightmare. Black Friday is the best day for grocery shopping.

  6. martinmegz says:

    I watched the first five episodes of Jessica Jones. As with Daredevil, I think it’s perfectly fine but it doesn’t capture my heart like everyone else in the entire world, apparently. I also watched some Psych and started rewatching Sherlock because it’s been long enough that I forgot the solutions to the mysteries. I’m forcing myself to watch only one episode of Jericho a day because there’s only 29 total and I love it so much.

    Apparently my mom discovered Netflix this weekend when my dad showed her how to binge watch Friday Night Lights. “It makes me wonder what else is on there!” she exclaimed.

  7. old man fatima says:

    I started my new job at the law firm! I love it so much! I thought it would be a bit intimidating, but the lawyers and staff are all super super sweet and friendly. Everyone eats together at lunch, I was invited to dinner at one of the partners’ houses next week, and the lawyer who I work under is my age and just really lovely. She took me out for coffee and we gabbed for hours. And then they found out that I speak some languages (it’s on my resume so not sure why the HR manager didn’t tell them), and it turns out they’ve been outsourcing translation services and my lawyer bragged to all the other lawyers about me because now she doesn’t have to. AND I met my friends for coffee because a bunch of them also work downtown and we had amazing coffee instead of garbage gas station coffee because I’m not working out in an industrial park anymore! I’m just so very happy.

    Also! I was talking to my lawyer about how terrified I am of the bar exam because it has an 85% fail rate. It turns out, only the Quebec bar exam does because in QC they use a combination of common and civil code and there is no clear rule for when to use one and when to use another. The bar exam here has a 75% pass rate on the first try! That is very encouraging!

  8. catweazle says:

    I got to spend a lot of time with the baby so it was mostly great! He has learned how to high five but he only finds it fun if you say something every time he does it. His parents yell “YEAH!” every time he hits their hands but I yell “Booyah!” and I would hold out my hand to him and he would grab it with one hand to hold it still and then high five me over and over with the other so I had to say booyah until I ran out of breath. IT WAS THE CUTEST THING!

    But the weekend was also not great because my aunt just found out she has cancer. They caught it early and it seems likely that she will be fine, but there’s been so much serious illness in my family over the last year that it just feels like the universe is punking us at this point.

Comments are closed.