My Cat and I Watched The Wiz Live! Did you?

After the travesties that were Sound of Music Live and Peter Pan Live the last two years, NBC finally made it happen with The Wiz Live! I’m sure a lot of this has to do with the fact that I was largely unfamiliar with the Michael Jackson version on the movie so there were no warm fuzzy memories for it to overcome. I also had incredibly low expectations, like all of America. I wasn’t cringing within the first five seconds of this musical, so just on that fact alone, this was the best live musical NBC has yet attempted.

Obviously, my cat’s favorite character was the Lion, as played by David Alan Grier. He had some laugh-out-loud lines and was much more talented than I had expected. My favorite character was Mary J. Blige as the Wicked Witch of the West. Look at this dress!

She wasn’t the best actress, to be honest, but I love Mary J. Blige, and so I was enthralled. Did Uzo Aduba make me cry as Glenda the Good Witch? Maybe she did. (She did.) Is Nee-Yo possibly the most talented singer who has ever walked the planet? I think that he is! The proof is that this role made my friend’s seventy-something-year-old mother fall in love with him.

My only criticism that I can remember is that I couldn’t see Elijah Kelley’s beautiful face under his Scarecrow costume. But I could see his beautiful dancing, so that’s cool.

Did you guys watch? Did you love it? If you didn’t watch, what were you doing with your life? Must See TV isn’t on anymore! What else could you possibly have been watching?!??!

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Cat and I Watched The Wiz Live! Did you?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I didn’t watch but now I’m wondering if I should have!
    Instead we watched Lifeforce for HDTGM and I’m happy with that decision.

  2. FRQ says:

    I watched a different set of Lions get destroyed by a man behind a face mask. #footballjokes #dadjokes

  3. Sota says:

    I went with my family last night to the theater to see Cocoanuts. A Marx Brothers musical adapted for the stage and it was AMAZING. SO much fun! The Marx bros are the best combination of slapstick and wordy humor.

    • Sota says:

      I realize that i just used this post as a place to talk about my moderately topical thoughts…and not about the actual topic. It’s been one of those weeks. But that said…I didnt see the Wiz! last night. I do want to see the Grease one…mostly cause Aaron Tveit looks so dashing!

      • flanny says:

        It’s funny. While I was watching The Wiz I thought for a second, “Hey, wasn’t Vanessa Hudgens supposed to be in this?” But thanks to you, I know it’s Grease.

  4. catweazle says:

    I have harbored a grudge again David Alan Grier for a long time, because I was a big fan of the short-lived late ’90s improv show “Random Acts of Comedy” and he nearly ruined it with his terrible hosting.

Comments are closed.