So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good! Work was very busy, but I got a lot done, and then went out for sushi (I am, just to remind everyone, writing this on Tuesday evening–I didn’t go out for sushi at 1:30 in the afternoon, or whatever time it is that you’re reading this. Although maybe I should. Maybe we all should!).

ALSO: if you signed up for the Secret Santa exchange (which is now closed), you should have been sent your person’s info by now. If you signed up but still haven’t gotten an email from me or martinmegz, please let me know. And because I know everyone’s busy, I’m going to say that Christmas can be the deadline for sending out gifts, as opposed to the deadline for receiving them, so we’ll give ourselves a little more time and have a gift reveal post after New Year’s.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Kate says:

    I’m glad to hear about the later deadline for Secret Santa. My gift will be close to the wire, since I’m waiting for a unique…item…to arrive in town with a certain…individual. And then I have to ship!

  2. flanny says:

    There’s construction going on in my office building (AS ALWAYS) and even though it wasn’t too loud down in the basement where I work, it was loud enough upstairs that my boss told us to go home if we needed to. I did not need to, but eventually there were only three of us in the office, and one of those three was the creepy guy, who had stopped by my office a handful of times already! And then the other person went to an doctor appointment, so I didn’t want to be the only person in the office with creepy guy, so I also left and now am working from home in my sweatpants. God bless laptops!

  3. catweazle says:

    I have spent pretty much the whole day so far discussing whether or not the Catholic church should be dismantled and it’s been so hard to not just start yelling “YOUR RELIGION MAKES THE WORLD A WORSE PLACE IN PART BY SUPPORTING CHILD RAPISTS I DON’T CARE IF YOU THINK YOU MIGHT GO TO HELL IF YOU JOIN A DIFFERENT DENOMINATION” because then I would get banned from The Toast which would be sad.

    • 1. I agree on the child rapist thing. Growing up in MA that was quite a roller coaster when it leaked, Spotlight is going to be really emotional when I finally see it.
      2. I actually had a really good Catholic upbringing so it’s hard for me to say it should be dismantled, though I think the hierarchy is a bit ridiculous. I donno, some of the Churches stuff us appalling, some alright. I might expand further later, after work, but one thing I always loved about Catholicism compared to other Christian churches is the whole “you actually have to do good works to be a Catholic, not just say you believe in Jesus.” Being a good person is actually required. I donno, I understand why mom goes to Church and can respect it while also choosing not to believe or be part of it.

      • catweazle says:

        Well one of the main people I am arguing with (who is a Catholic) believes that Jesus would forgive a child rapist if he repented at the end of his life but somehow doesn’t believe that she would be forgiven/allowed in heaven if she left the Catholic church (not to become an atheist but just to join another denomination) so as not to be a part of a system that supports child rapists so all in all it’s been very frustrating.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Yup, the old “even Hitler can get into heaven” argument. That’s why I can’t.

        • I donno, I always sort of loved the forgiveness thing. The point to make is you have to have a true conversion, not just say it so I doubt deathbed stuff is ever really sincere (and only God can know your heart or whatever one of my nun teachers would say). I just always interpreted it as “we all fuck up and we can all be forgiven for it.”

          Granted, the whole heaven/hell thing is kind of bullshit. I did have a religion teacher describe heaven as “in a relationship with God, not a place” and hell was “absence of God, not a place.” That makes slightly more sense, but still seems silly.

        • hotspur says:

          Your friend might be insane. Maybe raised in a verrrry Old World style? I was told Vatican II stipulated that other religions can get you into heaven np, as long as their tenets are about being good and you sincerely follow them. This didn’t mean just that Episcopalians were okay, but that Hindus had a shot too. It’s one of the reasons I like Catholicism. Compare to: One of my protestant evangelical friends was given a pamphlet by his church when he was a kid that said Catholics were arrogant fucks who thought they were hot shit but joke’s on them as they were ALL going to hell, those papists! There was no equivalent to this in my RC, Central City Dump edumacation.

          Shorter me: Catholicism respects all faiths! Protestants are fuckheads!

      • Erika says:

        I’ve long found it inconsistent, the idea that an omnibenevolent God would send people, no matter how evil, to eternal torment. I can understand why humans in antiquity and the Middle Ages would cling to that belief; life back then was nasty, brutish, and short, and there was no such thing as justice (there’s barely true justice in the present day). But way to pile your petty human concerns onto the being that supposedly created the universe.

        I don’t fault people for wanting to believe; I just can’t get there myself.

  4. FRQ says:

    It’s been a pretty light week so far. I was hoping to spend last night catching up on shows/games, but I ended up troubleshooting my stupid computer and its infinite boot loop, then doing laundry like a grown up. Fortunately the next few days are lined up with dinners, trivia, and other fun stuff.

    Also, my boss asked me to look into conferences related to a project I am working on, and there’s one in May that I have my eyes on. It is in Chicago, so if I can pull it off, I’d love to meet some of you if you have the time. It is super tentative right now, but I can keep you all up to date.

  5. My day is still happening. Big deadline tomorrow so it’ll be a late night! But I’m almost done with things, looking forward to a long break. I’m going to crank through work by making a playlist of my favorite songs of the year. Top of the list is Chvrches “Clear Blue Eyes” and Titus Andronicus “Dimed Out.” What were yours?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      A handful of tracks on the new Modest Mouse were favorites of mine – Pups to Dust, Best Room, Ground Walks…

      I really like Crystals by Monsters of Men, although I’m not familiar with many of their other songs.

      It makes me sad that I haven’t seen the Modest Mouse album listed on any “best of 2015” lists. It’s not their best work, but it’s a solid record.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      This is the year of Courtney Barnett for me. I’ve loved all her stuff and I hope I get to see her in concert soon. The Dead Weather and Tame Impala put out solid records too this year.

    • catweazle says:

      “You Will Not Take My Heart Alive” by Joanna Newsom and “Gimme All Your Money” by Alaska Thunderfuck feat. Laganja Estranja

    • FRQ says:

      My favorites this year were from Beach House, Tame Impala, Neon Indian, and Julia Holter, but there was a lot of great music that came out this year,.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      My current jam is Realiti by Grimes.

      • Simon Spidermonk says:

        Also, I agree that Modest Mouse’s latest is really solid. They’re probably never gonna top The Moon and Antarctica for me, but I like it better than anything they’ve done since then (with the exception of Float On, which is impossible to resist).

        • I hated Good News when it came out but love it now. There’s some fluff on it, but a lot of solid songs, most notably “Bukowski.”

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          I think my main problem with it is that it has Blame It On The Tetons on it, which I really can’t stand for some reason. And the album doesn’t really win me back until The Good Times Are Killing Me, and by then it’s too late.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m trying to stay focused and upbeat about everything – work, holiday stuff, household projects – but if I’m being honest, I’m very overwhelmed. I need a vacation!

    Today is sunny and warmer than it should be, and I think I plan to finalize the website I made in a very short amount of time. So, it’s a good day!

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    I just finished grading class presentations and I’m moving on to their papers tomorrow. I am still lacking 8 papers. These kids are pushing any goodwill I might have had for them.

    On the plus side, I’m going to see “Macbeth” with Michael Fassbender (#3 on my list) Friday night. I’ve very excited!

  8. Sota says:

    I bought my secret santa gift last night…and let me tell all of ya’all….its pretty awesome!

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been fine. Work had a thing come up that annoyed me because it’s classic little red hen (“who will help me plant the seeds? no one? okay, then, get your own damn bread when mine is ready!”) but I am going to enjoy this bread so much. So so much.
    My kid is crazy adorable these days – she says Dada, she can army crawl but not full-on crawl, she has 8 teeth, and she claps All. The. Time. There is really nothing better than watching her see me, smile and start clapping. It’s like an awesome, emotional punch to the face.

  10. martinmegz says:

    Oh god you guys we have an intern right now that is sucking the life out the office. It just got so bad I thought one of my coworkers was going to yell at her to shut the fuck up. We can’t even discuss work-related topics because she interrupts with stories about herself. Meanwhile, most intern work is unusable so we just waste our time vetting it before discarding. I used to eat lunch at my desk but I’ve started taking hour-long lunches just to get out of here.

Comments are closed.