How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was great, because I’M GOING TO SEE HAMILTON ON BROADWAY NEXT YEAR! A friend and I have been talking about meeting up in NYC and trying to get tickets, and through sheer luck and the apparent blessing of George Washington’s ghost, I managed to snag four tickets (her husband and daughter are coming too) for decent seats for under $250 apiece. We’re going to get a nice hotel room and visit historical sites and make a whole trip of it. Plus, I get to take the train, which I love. I can’t wait! Even though I’ll have to, until August. Don’t end before August, world. I’ve got plans.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. Nicky says:

    [musical note]EVERYTHING IS AWESOME[musical note]

  2. Kate says:

    That’s fantastic Theresa! A Christmas miracle. I had to sing at and THEN attend a party Friday night, do a concert Saturday afternoon, then THROW a party Saturday night. I’m more dead than alive at this point, and there’s another concert tomorrow night. PLUS Christmas is next week! Back to work with me.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    I have a phone interview for a job in an hour so I’m very nicely dressed while sitting on my couch. I’ve written down some talking points and watched the trailer for Star Trek. I have also bought my tickets for the “Hateful 8” at the indie theater. I’m nervous and time is CRAWLING. I will let you know how things go afterwards.

    On the flip side, I’ve finished grading papers and I got my christmas shopping done! Now all I have to do is get everything shipped!

  4. martinmegz says:

    I had a great weekend! Sharapova held a two-day tennis tournament at UCLA and I got a media credential, which gave me access to the Porsche lounge all weekend. Open bar, free food, front row seats behind the baseline. Plus I went to a party with Maria and like 50 other people. I was in tennis heaven.

  5. flanny says:

    Pretty good weekend! I went to that party at my professor’s house on Friday and it was literally too fun. My old writing professor that I slightly idolize was there, and he made up a carol called “On the Bus to Christmastown.” And then he laughed at a lot of things I said and we talked about writing and it was great.

    Yesterday, though, was 1D’s last live performance before their hiatus, so I’m going to be an emotional husk of a woman for the next eighteen months. 😦

  6. mordonez says:

    Saturday I worked all day, again, but it was fine as people were in a pleasant shopping for Xmas gifts and not in a psycho shopping for xmas gifts mode.

    Sunday, we went to brunch and then 4 (was it 4? It could have been 11) craft fairs. SO many things I didn’t want to purchase, with the remainder being things that would have made nice gifts, but not at $400, thank you very much, I don’t care where that the leather for that very nice bag was tanned locally (!?).

    This did include the Krampus mart–the guy in the Krampus suit had been super hot and sweaty so he took off the top and I never saw it–probably for the best, he’d been standing out in the rain as well. I hope it wasn’t a rental. The Krampus mart also had nothing I needed in my life, but it did mark the last craft fair of the day.

    Then we went to a DELIGHTFUL event, the main feature of which was a staged reading/musical performance of Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas. Even though I am not super familiar with it, this was most excellently done, and was followed by the “headliner”, something called the Tiny Cover Band (toy drum set, toy piano/melodica/uke/singer) doing holiday tunes. Last Christmas, I gave you my heeaaaarrt…….

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    We went to a holiday party with Mr. Costco’s family.
    I think all the major issues with the website I have been working on have been fixed.
    We finished Jessica Jones – spoiler alert – I LOVED IT!

    Overall, a pretty good weekend.

  8. Casey says:

    Pretty good weekend! The highlight was taking the family the new Broad Museum in L.A. on Saturday, culminating in 45 awesome seconds in Yayoi Kusama’s Infinite Room, an installation we’ve been waiting two years to check out!

  9. catweazle says:

    I had my family Christmas cookie baking/White Christmas viewing party yesterday and it was pretty good. But there is some drama going on between my sisters right now and as result my little sister decided she wasn’t going to come and like on the one hand she is a grownup and in control of her life and she is on this self-care anti-co-dependence thing right now and wants to assert her boundaries etc etc but it also kind of really hurt my feelings and also put me in the awkward position of having to tell everybody else in the family that she wasn’t coming because she decided to not say anything about it to anybody else. And so now I’m wavering in between being annoyed and pissed off at her and trying to be understanding because she’s trying to work shit out in her life. But seriously, how much could it have hurt to just stop in for a little bit and play with the baby and then go home?!?!?

    Speaking of the baby, he took his first steps on Thanksgiving but hadn’t done any real walking yet… until yesterday! He managed like four or five steps in a row several times and he was so delighted with himself. Speaking of the baby part 2: I burned my hand on a hot cookie sheet and was soaking it in a bowl of cool water and the baby was like “What is this fun new game my Aunt Catweazle is playing?!?” and he toddled over to me and put his hand in the bowl next to mine and it was the cutest thing ever and I didn’t even mind when he got bored of just having his hand in the water and started splashing it everywhere.

    • Kate says:

      “If grownups are doing it, it must be cool” — baby brain.
      “If grownups are doing it, it must be lame” — teenage brain.

  10. I drank beer on Friday. I helped a friend prep for painting on Saturday afternoon. I lost at darts on Saturday evening. I marathoned Star Wars yesterday and gave the boy his xmas gift early (an N64). I biked a bunch everyday, even Sunday when I got soaking wet in the rain.

    Good day.

  11. FRQ says:

    I went to the fancy happy hour I mentioned on Friday, and while it was fun, I was slightly disappointed by the fact that the invite said cocktail attire, and while my friends and I dressed accordingly, there were a bunch of people wearing flannel and jeans. I should’t be surprised, as it was organized by a pro environment group, but ugh, these damn kids.

    Yesterday I finally got to see Creed, which I liked, and after went to this entertainment center that had bowling, go karts, and most importantly, an honest to God Ninja Warrior course. Now, I am perfectly aware that those courses are tough, but holy shit they even worse when you attempt them IRL. Of the 20 or so obstacles, I was only able to clear 2 of them. I am still sore from last night.

    • old man fatima says:

      Creed was so good, right? Did you leave the theatre fist pumping? So gd uplifting.

    • martinmegz says:

      There was a long, awkward pause in my brain as I thought you meant you saw the band Creed. I still really want to see Creed the movie! It looks so good! But I picked up another job so now I have to spend every evening writing.

  12. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a good weekend. Friday night was relaxing. Saturday we went to see the Hunger Games (it was great!), Saturday night was my friends’ birthday party with no kids and I had a very good time! Sunday we watched all three Star Wars movies (the 3 good ones) with some best friends and that was great!

  13. old man fatima says:

    We had the work xmas party on Friday and I won some gifts and did some dancing and bonded with some lawyers! It was open bar all night and the food was amazing and there were skits from the articling students and trivia and lots of fun stuff. I spent the rest of the weekend recovering.

    We watched the William Shatner Krampus movie (A Christmas Horror Movie) and it was AMAZING. You know I rep the motherland plenty, but Canadian films are usually not very good This movie is so good! The Adam Scott one hasn’t been getting very good reviews, but let me just suggest you all go watch the Shatner one asap. I enjoyed it lots. I suspect they just gave Shatner a bunch of booze and stuck him in a radio booth like “You’re a DJ now” and recorded his ramblings and I would 100% buy the Blu-Ray DVD if it came with all of that footage in the extras.

Comments are closed.