What is Jeff Goldblum Doing?

It’s been a while since we’ve checked in with our blog’s unofficial spirit animal. This can be in part attributed to when I finally, tearfully took Jeff off of my Google alerts a few months ago. To paraphrase the Great Bard, it’s not that I lov’d Goldblum less, but that I loved not getting constant alerts on the most tenuously-connected-to-Jeff-Goldblum “news” all day long more.

Well, buckle yourselves in, because this update will be worth the wait as 2oth Century Fox just released the official trailer for the long-awaited (by some people, I guess?) Independence Day sequel! It’s got everything! Jeff Goldblum scolding us for our lack of understanding/humility! Liam Hemsworth dressed in flight gear and walking purposefully toward the camera in slow motion! Bill Pullman with a scary hobo beard! Judd Hirsch being still alive! And at least one unforgettable split-second that will have you asking yourself, “I think that was Brent Spiner?”

Enough spoilers, roll the clip:

What do you think of this? Could this movie be the answer we’ve been waiting for? What day do you think it will come out next summer? Last ‘Blum-chat of 2015, go!

(Via Laughing Squid)

About Casey

Sassiness mistaken for horribleness.
This entry was posted in Celebrities, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What is Jeff Goldblum Doing?

  1. flanny says:

    Between Judd Hirsch being in this and the guy who played Kirk being in that Rashida Jones show, the cast of Dear John (not the Nicholas Sparks movie) is gearing up for a really big 2016!

  2. catweazle says:

    Casting Liam Hemsworth as a pilot is like casting Denise Richards as a scientist.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    It probably is Brent Spiner! He was in the first movie! (I only remember this because we actually just watched the first one a month or so ago and I thought “Data?”)

    • Casey says:

      Probably no one has been sitting closer to their phone waiting for this call for the past 20 years than he.

    • Erika says:

      But his character died in the first movie. Or are they retconning that? The alien just knocked him out?

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Look. I got really really excited about the trailer too. I want to believe! I really do!!! But after Jurassic World, I just can’t allow myself to get my hopes up. One thing I will say is that the original Independence Day was much sillier than the original Jurassic Park, so there’s less pressure to get it right.
    Also, where’s Will Smith? They didn’t want to pay for him? Possibly a surprise visit?

  5. Sota says:

    I am so pumped for this. It actually looks decent…maybe thats deceiving, only time will tell. Plus I love how heavily they are leaning on the infamous speech from the original movie. We basically know nothing new and it totally worked on me. Sell me my ticket now, Hollywood! My sequel brainwashing is complete.

  6. Erika says:

    I’ll be disappointed if there’s no post-apocalyptic thing going on. Wiping out all of the major cities (in the first movie, the aliens had moved on to second- and third-tier cities like Houston before humans managed to take them out) would surely make things pretty uncomfortable for the long-ish term.

Comments are closed.