So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good! Work was quiet and fairly relaxed, for work, and I actually exercised for the first time in months, so I feel less like a gross, lazy garbage person. I also have a three-day weekend coming up, so there’s not much that could ruin my good mood this week.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. old man fatima says:

    My day was gearing up to be great because my Christmas card photos finally came in after THREE WEEKS of waiting, but I picked them up and they are cropped!!! “Happy Holidays” is cut in half and you can barely see the ghost cats and the presents are completely cut from the bottom!!! I’m going to march right back in there after work and demand my money back, because that is some bullshit! But also, now I don’t have anything to send out unless I send everyone e-cards which is no fun because if the holidays are about anything at all they’re about receiving mail that isn’t a bill!

    My anger is mitigated by the v. good marzipan gingerbread cake that one of the lawyers made today and left for everyone in the lunch room. Turns out his dad owns a German bakery here in town and he worked there through his youth and during law school! Now we know who to hit up for sweets!

  2. flanny says:

    Yesterday night I thought my cat had eaten a little bit of string, so I watched her very closely. She threw up just a little, but then she went and ate food and this morning she was her normal annoying self. I think she’s okay? However, during the night I had a dream that she ate an entire string of Christmas lights. Like, she had the plug hanging out of her mouth and I just grabbed it and gently pulled it out and all three feet of the lights came out, gooey with spit.
    But then, right away, while drinking coffee, I watched this:

    So since then the day’s been great.

    • flanny says:

      It should be something like, “But then right away as soon as I got up I watched this.” I did not watch this video in the Christmas light dream, although the video is a dream come true.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      My cat did that with fishing line. You should have seen how unhappy he was while my dad pulled it out of him. While I was trying to eat breakfast. That was a memorable day.

    • old man fatima says:

      Mycroft ate some string and it was just barely peeking out of his butt in the morning and I thought he had worms. Thank christ he had just unravelled and eaten the elephant I was knitting for my friend’s new baby jk jk jk worms are much easier to deal with than re-knitting an entire elephant 😦

      • flanny says:

        The internet is very inflammatory when it comes to cats eating strings. Like, I half expected Nan to keel over right in front of me. I would cut her off from string entirely, but they’re literally the only toy she’ll play with and she’s such a fatty that I want to give her exercise. This cat!!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      My cat ate a (closed) safety pin once. I freaked the F out, but he was fine. What a weirdo.

      • flanny says:

        I was once in the room when my friend’s new kitten ate a sewing needle. It was a tense couple of minutes while her mom tried to grab it out of his mouth before he swallowed it. Cats! What are you thinking!!!

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    I just found out that grades aren’t due until the 22nd so I’ve got extra time to work on them! Hurrah!

  4. catweazle says:

    I just got out of my bed. I have been awake for many hours but I just tooled around playing games on my iPad and watching Gilmore Girls. I love having days off from work!

    I went to a Christmas event at the bar my friend works at last night and everybody I was with ended up spending a lot of the night on Tinder. Did you know Tinder can be a group activity? We trolled a lot of dudes but then it sort of backfired because I sent a message that said “u work out?” to a hipster-looking guy and we ended up having a good conversation and exchanged digits.

    Tonight I’m going to see Joanna Newsom and because I am a weirdo I ended up buying a second ticket because I found a slightly better seat than the one I originally got. But I managed to sell the original ticket on StubHub so at least I am not out $75 just because the lure of a second row center seat was too enticing to refuse!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Haha you’re gonna marry “u work out?” dude!!! Joke’s on you! And your grandkids when they ask how you met!

  5. I finally got confirmation about my 3-month contract work that starts in January. So I’m financially stable for a little longer. Plus, there’s potential for a full-time position with this one. So feeling good going into the holidays.

    Going to try to go to a bar that’s converted itself into the Star Wars cantina tonight, but the bar only hold 74 and 1000 have signed up. So that’s probably not happening. If it doesn’t, I’m going to get some pizza.

  6. FRQ says:

    Today is my last day of work until the Monday after Xmas, so I am staring at the clock as I complete the last of these assignments. Then I will hit the gym, meet a friend for coffee, and go home and pack for my trip to visit family for the holidays. And don”t worry, I will continue to post stuff through the next several days, right up until Christmas Eve, so please keep submitting stuff.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day is going pretty well. I just booked a massage for next week when I’m off and I brought candy for the office and everyone loved it! I was gonna book Tykeasaurus’ visit with Santa but if I do I have to buy a package (not just a photo but a whole package) upfront and that’s just not happening.

  8. mordonez says:

    My day, you know, it’s just a day. As I mentioned elsewhere, I have really a lot to do before Sunday and no time to do it. Therefore [ATTN: MY BOSS, PLEASE DON”T FIND OUT ABOUT THIS BLOG AND ALSO WHO I AM] I’m going to have to spend parts of the next (admittedly very slow) work days kind of keeping one eye on email and chat while getting non work things done. Luckily work is much more reactive than proactive these days.

    I have to a)learn how to make latkes and practice b)prepare for a musical performance and a half on Thursday and Friday c)go hang out with work friends tomorrow night before the first performance d)read all but 20 pages of Robert Penn Warren’s All the King’s Men by Sunday and e)learn how to edit patches/settings on my new keyboard before Friday night’s show.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      You could always cheat and buy frozen shredded potatoes for the latkes….

      • mordonez says:

        Nah, that is def. cheating, plus you need the potato starch that settles when you grate into a bowl of ice water. I made a test batch last night at 10:30. Pretty good….coupla tweaks required in terms of texture, seasoning, but pretty good for a first attempt. The secret ingredient (as my grandmother always said ) was a little of your own knuckle. You see, what with the hand grating and everything.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

  9. Sota says:

    Last night I laid (layed?) in bed watching netflix and eating a half a package of cookies by myself. Tonight’s forecast: The other half of the package of cookies. I don’t even feel guilty about it. Right now I am just squeaking through. In 2016 I will do better…not now.

  10. martinmegz says:

    We had our office Christmas lunch today and to give you a clue of how it went, I originally typed oggice instead of office (it was a multiple-Manhattan lunch). The food was amazing but the highlight was this fantastic parsnips dish. I told the waitress we were obsessed and asked her to get me as many details as possible about the ingredients. A little later she whispered in my ear, “Do you trust me?” and I replied, “With my life!” Turns out she just wanted my phone so she could sneak a picture of the recipe for me.

    Now I have to get through the rest of the day with this buzz. Luckily my boss said he would rather I spend the afternoon online shopping instead posting anything on our website.

Comments are closed.