So, How Was Your Day?

My day was good! Nothing really happened, but I still enjoyed it. Tomorrow (so, today, as you’re reading this) I need to get a haircut and get groceries and finish my Christmas shopping and do all kinds of things, so, hurray for nothing to do.

Just a reminder: Christmas is the unofficial deadline for sending out your Secret Santa gifts! So everyone be patient while waiting for their arrival, and maybe drop your person a line if you think it’s going to take longer than normal.

I won’t be posting on Friday, but we can do an It’s Christmas Eve, Let’s Dance! post tomorrow if anyone will be around. Let me know!

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. old man fatima says:

    My day was a roller coaster of emotions. My brother and his new wife and step kids are coming to visit, but he is being really wishy washy about when and it’s driving me up the wall. Finally, I told him we are doing Xmas eve with Mr Fatima’s parents and Xmas day with his sister, so I need to know for sure when they are coming so we can tell them how many people to expect. He said they will come today, so they can have a day to relax and decompress before we inflict the kids on anyone (they are terribly behaved kids). So today I asked him when they are arriving and he says tomorrow around 8pm!!!! We will be out of town at Mr Fatima’s parents’ place by then and that means the kids will be coming off of a 10+ hour car ride directly into a house filled with strangers and dogs, and I will not be able to handle that much stress and yelling! Anyway, I finally got him to see the light and they are on their way to my house right now. Why would you ever think that would be a good idea, bro-tima??? Ridiculous!

    And then I had to print some huge documents and the gigantic full-room printer got jammed, and when I opened the little door to clear the jam three springs popped out of it like it was a broken machine in a cartoon!!! But then I bonded with one of the lawyers over our mutual love of Step Up and really any movie where kids breakdance to save their neighbourhood. And someone brought in chocolates. And the lawyer I work directly with, who has already started her vacation, couriered me a bottle of wine because she is my soul mate.

    In less than 2 hours I am going to go home, change into my reindeer onesie, drink the whole bottle of wine in one long pull, and officially start my vacation.

  2. catweazle says:

    It is like 60 degrees and raining today so it’s a little hard to get into the festive spirit. But tonight I am wrapping presents so I’ll watch some classic Christmas movies like Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and even if it is super warm in my apartment I will have a spiked hot chocolate. Or two. Or you know, however many.

    Sadly I do have to work tomorrow so if there was a Christmas Eve post I would be there. I expect I’ll be spending the day taking Buzzfeed quizzes and covertly playing Candy Crush on my phone since there will be no actual work to do.

    • old man fatima says:

      Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is so good! I was trying to think of non-traditional holiday movies other than Die Hard and all I could think of was the Ice Harvest (soooo good). I’m going to watch KKBB tonight too *rainbow emoji*

      • catweazle says:

        I always forget that it takes place at Christmas when I’m thinking of Christmas movies to watch but I finally remembered this year! *party emoji*

  3. Sota says:

    I am sort of off the rails. The last few months have been insanely busy and I just feel like I am going to collapse. I am working today…sort of half heartedly, but there is a big project and so stuff actually needs to happen. Gross. I took a break to run pick up my parents at the airport, who are flying in to surprise my Grandma and my brother by showing up to the Christmas Party tonight. So that will be a very fun time! It’s rainy and gross here and finally turning to a bit of white snowlike mush, but for me it doesn’t really matter because tomorrow morning I am flying to Florida for TWO WEEKS! SO THANKFUL to escape work and relax on a beach. Cannot wait!

  4. flanny says:

    We’ve been working on a 1000 piece puzzle for the last day and we’re missing ONE PIECE! The kids are all stir crazy and I need a coffee. This matron aunt cannot handle so much energy.

    • old man fatima says:

      Cut a piece of cardboard to fit and draw it in yourself! This was always our solution because most of our puzzles came from second-hand stores so they were missing a good quarter of the pieces.

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m FINALLY going to see Benedict in Hamlet tonight and I am so stoked! Mother dear will be here tomorrow, and all I need to do is finish vacuuming and the house will be reasonably clean.

    I will at least be here in the morning, so post away!

  6. Commentatrix says:

    I’m trying to will myself to start the last leg odd my Christmas shopping and all the errands that I still have to run before Friday, ahem, put Secret Santa gift in the mail, ahem. The thing is, I’ve reached peak procrastination/laziness and all I want to do is nothing. It’s bad enough I have to go to stupid work tonight and tomorrow and driving to my parents’ on Christmas goddamn morning and coming back home with my brother and sister-in-law who are staying with me in my tiny apartment for four whole days and banishing me to my own couch in the process. Of course I wouldn’t say no to the “opportunity” of hosting them, but it’s like, hey, you’re semi-rich and in your mid-30s, how about getting a hotel instead of putting me in this [couch] position?

    • That show is always the best.
      Do you wanna know a story about how it came about? Apparently at adult swim, an intern and someone else who worked there had gotten yelled at by the head of the network, so to blow off a little steam, they went off in the corner and goofed around and the result of that goof around is Bob’s Burgers! What an animation miracle!

  7. Hi everyone!
    I did a ton of stuff today to get ready for best friend Christmas tonight and one family Christmas tomorrow and flying to have the other family Christmas the next day. Also our own Christmas on Christmas morning which I’m very excited about even though Tykeasaurus is too young to know what’s going on. I made baked beans and a raspberry jello salad for the party tonight and both recipes came out of my grandmother’s cookbook and it made me feel close to her (she’s still around, but they moved into a nursing home at the beginning of the month and even though we had that family Christmas at my parents house last year, it still feels like I should be sad about not having family Christmas at their house anymore.) Also my kid is super cute these days and this morning she got to a sitting position all by herself and she babbles all the time and I just can’t wait til I can understand what she’s saying. Also I’m very very excited about how excited my niece is for Santa!

Comments are closed.