How Was Your Weekend?

I hope everyone had a good holiday! Mine was great. My family didn’t get together until Sunday because of various traveling complications (which we knew about and planned for ahead of time) so I got to just relax Friday and Saturday, which was pretty awesome, and then when we did meet up on Sunday, we had a ton of fun and ate a ridiculous amount of food. I also got my Secret Santa gift, and while I won’t spoil the (delightful) contents or the sender before the reveal post we have after New Year’s, I just want to tell my Santa: the card made me literally LOL.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    I also got my Secret Santa gift, and I’m wearing part of it on my body right now!

    I drove home from my sister’s on Saturday and then ran a bunch of errands and did laundry and stuff for the rest of the weekend. I also watched three movies that have been on my list: Trainwreck, Paper Towns, and Spy. They were all perfectly fine. Also, since I’m talking about Jude Law anyway, happy early birthday to him!

  2. catweazle says:

    My weekend was looooong! I was at my mom’s from Thursday evening to Sunday evening and it was very fun but her apartment is very small for five people so I was glad to return to my Fortress of Solitude for a few hours last night.

    I finally saw Star Wars and it was such a delight! I know that while I was watching I had quibbles but the overall impression was very good. So nice to have a non-garbage Star Wars movie to add to the original trilogy! Although the one terrible thing is that I now have an overwhelming crush on Oscar Isaac which is causing me to consider watching Inside Llewyn Davis again even though I didn’t like it the first time.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The last week has been chaos, so I am pretty glad the Christmas holiday is over. I love spending time with my family, but my anxiety levels were through the roof most of the time.

    Christmas Eve we went out to dinner and unwrapped gifts and Christmas Day was a family party. The days leading up to Christmas included way too much shopping and miscellaneous errands. I’m using a vacation day this Wednesday, and we have zero plans for New Years, so I have a 5 day weekend ahead that will hopefully be nice and relaxing.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Also, Mr. Costco and I got sucked into so many movies this weekend.

      Christmas night, I was flipping through the movie channels, and the only movie that was just starting was Music & Lyrics. As I’ve mentioned, About a Boy is one of my favorite movies, but for some reason, I’ve always thought I would not like Hugh Grant in other movies. I was wrong, and enjoyed Music & Lyrics.

      The Longest Ride was on right after Music & Lyrics. We thought it was a rodeo movie/love story that has Clint Eastwood’s son, and our collective love of Clint Eastwood made us leave this movie on. Oops, it’s a Nicholas Sparks movie, and a large part of the movie is flashbacks to another couple’s romance. It was cheesy and we made fun of it a lot, but I did like the ending, and was not mad that we watched it.

      Last night, we watched the Rewrite, which is another Hugh Grant movie. Is he in all the movies or is Starz just playing his greatest hits? I liked this one too! Maybe my holiday stress made me love all the movies. It was apparently written and directed by the same guy as Music & Lyrics, so good job to that guy!

      • catweazle says:

        I like Music & Lyrics a lot! The age difference between Drew Barrymore and Hugh Grant is a little gross but it’s a fun movie that reminds me of the days when romantic comedies used to be good.

      • martinmegz says:

        I love Hugh Grant in everything! He’s just so charming. Rewrite came out On Demand same day as in theaters so I watched it at home. I wish every movie would do this.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I was home with my family all last week which was very nice. Shopped with mom, saw Star Wars with dad. On Saturday I took a walk with my parents then we went to see Brooklyn and out to dinner after. I was surprisingly emotional during the whole movie; I guess it just resonated with me, thinking about what it was like to strike out on your own as a woman in the 1950s.

    Yesterday I traveled back to LA. I arrived extra early thinking the airport would be packed, then waltzed through security in under 3 minutes. They didn’t even make me take off my shoes or take my laptop out of my bag! Then of course my one hour flight got delayed an hour and a half so I consumed a few Bloody Marys before passing out on the plane.

  5. FRQ says:

    I returned home Friday evening with my Christmas bounty in tow, which consisted mostly of gift cards. And like flanny, I spent most of the weekend catching up on movies. Sadly, The Big Short was not one of them, but I did see Terminator Genisys and 2001: A Space Odyssey, of which the latter I enjoyed. I don’t think I am smart enough to understand what the hell happened at the end, but the visuals were amazing, particularly the set design, and how they were able to portray space travel back in 1968.

  6. Simon Spidermonk says:

    I started getting sick on Christmas Eve and then had to work on Christmas Day and since then I’ve been holed up in my apartment expelling litres of fluid body mass through my nose. So with any luck this will be my personal Crappiest Christmas Of All Time. But on the positive side, all of my gifts to my nephews were big hits, so that makes up for a lot.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      Things I’ve watched while sick:

      Nightcrawler – creepy and good.
      Mistress America – felt like it could have been longer and explored Greta Gerwig’s character a bit more but overall very good and funny.
      Peep Show – sometimes funny, sometimes nauseating, depending on my mood.
      That Mitchell and Webb Look – funny.
      Wolfcop – a Canadian comedy/horror about a werewolf cop, recommended to me by a coworker who enthusiastically described a scene in which the cop’s penis transforms into a werewolf penis mid-urination. Tried to watch it just so he’d stop asking me if I’d watched it yet. Neither funny nor scary, just kinda bland and tasteless. Made it about five minutes past the signature scene of penile lycanthropy – which was overrated, although what was I expecting, honestly – before giving up.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    Mommadork was here for the festivities which means we ate out a lot and now I just sort of want to eat really plain food for a while. We went to see “The Hateful Eight” which I thoroughly enjoyed but will need to see again to grasp the nuances of (warning: if you don’t like tons of gore or even more vulgarity than a usual Tarantino flick, steer clear). Mommadork and I also went to see “Sisters” which had it’s moments but was only ok. I received a TARDIS shower curtain and beach towel along with some new clothes.

    I haven’t received my secret santa gift yet, but our mail’s been wonky so I’m sure it will be here shortly!

  8. Kate says:

    We had a crazy but great Christmas weekend. Everyone was happy with their gifts and we saw Star Wars. We had about a bazillion people here for and informal Christmas dinner. The dinner turned out pretty good with some help from Kelly.

Comments are closed.