How’d You Do On Your 2015 Resolutions and What Are Your 2016 Resolutions?

Well, well, it was a year ago today that I posted about my New Year’s Resolutions for 2015. Looking back on those six items, I actually had a decent amount of success! Pretty impressive considering that I’d really only remembered one of them! Let’s get a play-by-play shall we?

1) Live in the now!
I’d forgotten about this one, but I think I did it anyway. I started taking a yoga class on the reg, which is cheesy but it has helped me be in the moment for at least an hour a week. Also, it’s pretty nice how much having a purring cat on your lap helps you settle down and appreciate little, quiet moments. I’m giving myself a B+ for completing this resolution.

2) Make a batch of perfect samosas.
I failed hardcore on this one. I only made one batch and was so disappointed in them that I just gave up. I thought, at the time, that I would never make perfect samosas if I didn’t have a deep-fryer, but my brother gave me an Indian food cookbook for Christmas, and that has a baked samosas recipe in it, so maybe I’ll give it another shot. D

3) Win the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.
DON’T EVEN ASK. F—–

4) Run the 8.3 mile loop around Mackinac Island this summer.
No. 2015 is going down as one of the laziest years on record for me. D

5) Watch less TV and read more books.
I totally forgot about it, but I might have actually done it. Particularly in the last three months or so, I kept on checking out winner after winner from the library. B

6) Maybe see about possibly volunteering on a sheep farm?
I think I might have googled “volunteering on a sheep farm” a couple of times, but that was it. BAAAAAA

And now let’s throw this trash year in the dumpster (JK, 2015 was pretty okay for me) and get thinking about the future! Here are my resolutions for 2016.

1) Win the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
I already have a plan for it. It’s going to be 12 chapters and I’ll write a chapter a month. This week I’m prepping for it by mapping out the plot and what plot points will land in what chapters. Get ready to vote “Flanny,” PEN/Faulkner Award selection committee!!

1a) Write every day. Every morning. No more sitting around on tumblr or whatever for an hour before I go to work. Them’s writin’ time.

2) Run at least two 5Ks.
I’ve got one scheduled for the first weekend in February!

3) Take some sort of class, like a painting or cooking class.
I live in a city now which isn’t far from a much bigger city which has some good cultural stuff happening, and I need to take advantage of this.

4) Pick up my cat and make her like it.
My cat hates being picked up so much that when I even reach down to try to grab her, she shoots away. Come on, Nan, all I want to do is hug and kiss you and snuggle with you!!! [insert Elmyra gif] I’m trying to be respectful of her emotions, but if I could get her to be used to being held, it would make going to the vet a lot easier.

5) Read more books, be a better person, blah blah, all that junk.

How’d you guys do? And what’s on the emotional books for this year?

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How’d You Do On Your 2015 Resolutions and What Are Your 2016 Resolutions?

  1. catweazle says:

    Last year apparently my resolutions were to be less of a hermit and “not have the shittiest year of my life.” I don’t know that I became any less of a hermit but I *felt* less like a hermit if that makes sense? Like, I did more traveling and spending time with my family and being more social at work and in class and stuff. But I give credit for that mostly to the meds I started taking late last year. In your face, Tom Cruise!

    The second resolution I definitely achieved, though! There was some bummer stuff this year but it was on the whole 1000% less terrible than last year!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh I guess I should make some resolutions for next year!

      -Get back to playing piano every day and maybe learn a new piece
      -Get better at guitar
      -Maybe take a jiu-jitsu class, if I feel like it
      -Use Tinder for something other than trolling
      -Finish recapping season 1 of The OC

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    My resolutions last year were so bad I don’t even remember them! But this year, I only have 2:

    1) Finish my dissertation
    2) Be more active

    Accomplishing #1 will require me to visit a few of you on your home turf (Flanny and Gnidrah, I’m looking at you!). It will also require me to become super productive, which I wasn’t at all this year.

    #2 will also require me to become super productive in that I’ll need to use my time wisely. We’ll see.

  3. FRQ says:

    I believe my only resolution last year was to finally build my own computer, which I accomplished 3 weeks into the year.

    For 2016, I think I will take the next step in completing basic computer nerd training and obtain some sort of certification. I spoke to a friend about this a few weeks ago, and I know which one I will go for, so I am half way there! I should also start taking some sort of class to better enrich my life, etc, etc.

  4. Sota says:

    Looks like, as usual, I made zero New Years goals and therefore I successfully accomplished everything and nothing! HOORAY! Thank you all for supporting me on this long hard journey!

    • Sota says:

      In a shocking turn of events, I am going to make a few this year…not too many, I don’t want to get carried away.

      1. I bought myself a 3 year journal. It only requires that i write about a paragraph everyday, and i figure if between now and next year at this time I have managed to write in half the days I will consider that to be a total success.
      2. Be more open. I want to have a broader mindset about options, in all of life, but especially about love.
      3. Lose a couple pounds and do good things for my body…like drink lots of water and remember to make consistent doctors appts etc.
      4. Travel to a new place.

      • old man fatima says:

        Ugh, #3 for me too. Mr Fatima comes from an eat-until-you-can’t-stand-up family, who are all marathon runners so they are entirely unaffected by the gallons of food and ever-present deserts. I’ve gained 15 lbs since we started dating, though, which I am not happy with! But ugh the food is so good! Maybe I just need to also be a marathon runner? I’m not sure if practicing an iota of self control in the face of delicious food or starting to run marathons would be more difficult.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Last year, I determined that I’m trying to change too much stuff at once, so I should pick one thing per week to work on until I am happy with the changes I have made. I didn’t really do that.

    I think my first resolution of 2016 should be finding a way to better organize my time. I constantly make to-do and priority lists, but still have a hard time being productive enough to get things that are important to me done. Time to buckle down and get shit done!

    I need a hobby! I’m usually either working, worrying, or watching tv. I tried relearning the piano, but didn’t really stick with it, so I think I will give that another shot.

    Healthier habits: more sleep, at least a few days per week of exercise, less lean cuisines/packaged foods. I did manage to cut back on my candy intake in 2015, so I’m happy about that.

    I have not had a real cigarette in almost a year. Using the e-cig makes that feel like less of an accomplishment, but it is a step in the right direction.

    I’ve really tried to focus on my mental health, but if I’m being honest, I don’t feel like I’ve made a lot of progress with my anxiety levels. I need to make this a top priority in 2016.

  6. martinmegz says:

    I neglected to comment on that post, unfortunately, possibly in part because I have long shunned New Year’s resolutions. BUT I did resolve to have at least one adventure every day this year, and I accomplished that goal! My definition of adventure was very loose: do something beyond my normal routine that requires having to rally a bit to get out of the house. Because of this goal, I said yes to things that I otherwise would have passed on to avoid any amount of hassle. And that’s the story of how I came to fly a plane.

    Next year my goal is to see as many Pearl Jam shows as I can afford. 2016 is their 25th anniversary so I’m expecting a big tour.

  7. Oof, I didn’t do so well. But I was pretty busy this year, and did accomplish a lot–bought a new car, moved to a new city, got a new job and apartment, chopped off all my hair. I’m counting all those as retroactive resolutions.

  8. old man fatima says:

    2015 goals:
    1, Lift weights: I did this, but not regularly, and not very well. I did move up from lifting just the bar on its own to lifting the bar with weights on it!
    1b, Do a half marathon: Nope
    2, Dress nicely: I stopped working from home, so I really had no choice on this one.
    3, Write a paranormal erotic novel: I’m too angry about the fact that apparently I only needed to write 10 pages.
    4, House stuff: I did so much house stuff this year that I don’t even want to think about listing it.
    5, Either get a new job, or get a big raise: Done.
    6, Take the LSAT and apply to law school: I’ve put this off for another year.

    2016 goals:
    1, Lift weights for real. Maybe try yoga too.
    2, Cook my way through my Pinterest recipes.
    3, Finish the house, list it, sell it by the summer (pleasepleaseplease)
    4, In preparation for moving to an apartment: downsize. Become a minimalist, but less grey and soulless. Get rid of half of everything I own, because I only use like 1/4 of what I have anyway.
    5, Write the LSAT in June 2016, so I will have time to re-write before the 2017 application cut off if need be.

Comments are closed.