MonSTAR Community Pool – 12/29/2015

Give the people what they want, especially if that thing is Star Wars.  Have some Star Wars.

  • See ya later, cowboy!
  • Do you like money?  Some people like money.
  • I can barely build a TIE Fighter, let alone this thing!
  • It’s easiest to go straight to the source.

Please share anything else about Star Wars, because Star Wars.

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Links and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to MonSTAR Community Pool – 12/29/2015

  1. Sota says:

    Another Star Wars link that just is perfect…the emo twitter account of Kylo Ren. @KyloR3n

    • Sota says:

      Yep, seems fitting that I would mess up the embedding and linking on here. Today ain’t my day. Although…Im bailing on work and going to the pool. So its all gonna be looking up from here.

      • FRQ says:

        Much like George Lucas, I couldn’t accept the flaws in the original work and had to create a “special edition” of your post.

    • catweazle says:

      Honestly I think if you removed “emo” from that account’s name it would still be just as accurate. Kylo is such a little brat! He and General Hux are both pretty wimpy as villains go.

      • artdorkgirl says:

        I feel like this is the only safe space where I can share this. Once Kylo Ren took off his helmet and became that douche from Girls, I was totally out of the moment. He’s a weird-looking kid who seems more “Zach Braff in Garden State” confused about life than the heir to the dark side. Leave the helmet on, Kylo.

        • catweazle says:

          Kylo really didn’t do much for me as a villain (which I know puts me in the minority). I don’t mind Adam Driver on the whole but !SPOILERS AHEAD! a) I don’t buy him as Han and Leia’s son, and b) His hair looked stupid and not very villainous. I think maybe what also bugs me is the sense that he will inevitably be redeemed and go back to the light side and I’m like “No way man, you killed my ideal man for dumb and not really explained reasons!” I really liked the movie but there’s a lot of backstory that had better be filled in in the next two.

        • FRQ says:

          I blame Tom Hiddleston for stating the glorious villain mane trend.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          FRQ, you leave my beautiful Tom out of this.

        • Erika says:

          His being a weak emo villain really goes along with his anxiety about not living up to ol’ Darth Vader. Maybe I’ll hope a little that Abrams’ writing isn’t as hacky at first glance and maybe Ren getting his ass handed to him by a newbie points to part of his origin — he’s not very strong in the force and was drawn to the Dark Side because it’s quicker and easier.

          That was a big letdown to me about Anakin’s pathetic descent in the prequels. Lucas had a tailor-made reason for why an otherwise good person would become evil in a Jedi context (the quick, easy seduction of the Dark Side) and instead he went with that dumb seeking immortality explanation.

          Although I still think the story should have started right after Ren’s turn, because it seems like it happened quite a while ago (long enough for anxiety about Luke being missing, long enough for Han to get back into his mercenary shenanigans). It being so long doesn’t sit right with me. I don’t buy that Luke would nope out and leave other people to clean up his mess.

          Gawd, I’m nerding out. Sorry.

      • Dangbattleship says:

        I feel like these villains are a boomer/gen x stab at the whiny millennial stereotype. Which on the one hand would be funny but shut it olds, you don’t get to lecture anyone after the things you’re responsible for! Whatever JJ, you’re not my dad!

        But it is timely to try to grapple with the carnage angry young men can cause. I’m definitely reading too much into this!

  2. flanny says:

    When I first saw the link to that article about Disneyland, the headline was something like, “You’ll never guess which rides are closing.” And I was like, if it’s Indiana Jones I will fucking RIOT! But it isn’t, thank goodness. Indiana Jones ride, I love you love is forever fan love you.

  3. martinmegz says:

    LMFAO at Mark Hamill’s “Memorize my signature to spot the fakes!” especially because people will actually do that.

  4. flanny says:

    Do you think Kylo Ren gets called Rilo Kiley a lot?

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have not seen the new Star Wars – to be honest, i don’t know if I’ve ever seen the originals all the way through. I did see a few interviews with John Boyega, and his pure excitement and joy to be a part of this movie sold me on watching it someday. If Mr. Costco decides he wants to see it in the theater, I’ll tag along.

  6. Kate says:

    This morning I made Death Star waffles for breakfast.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Unrelated to Star Wars, but I have 1 hour left before a 5 day weekend, and I can’t stop looking at the clock even though I just got back from a late lunch.

Comments are closed.