Let Us Bid A Monster Farewell to 2015

Another year is in the books, and I want to thank you all for sticking around Homeless Monsters and not fleeing like scared villagers when I took over this site.  I want to wish all of you a Happy New Year, and will leave you with snippets from our annual report.

If there’s one thing I like more than a crunchy, peanut buttery Butterfinger is a set of crunchy numbers.  Our blog views were a mere 97,000 this year, but we’re still hanging in there!  Our busiest day was at the end of March, with another one of catweazle’s stellar recaps.  Speaking of which…

I guess these recaps are popular!  That and what we were looking forward to in the spring.  Well, if you leave on the East Coast, you’re getting more of it!

 

Other than the insane search terms, most people found us through… bitterkittens.com, your source for angry cat news, I think.  Whatever, I am grateful for their traffic.

 

It should be no surprise that the vast majority of our traffic comes from the US, UK, and Canada.  Time to pick up the slack, EARTH.

 

Finally, our most active participant is… Kate!  For reasons I cannot state until next week, I will say that Kate not only our most frequent commenter, but one of the finest human beings to walk this planet.  We look forward to more of your comments next year!

 

That’s it folks.  If you’re at work, I hope you can GTFO as soon as you can.  Whatever you end up doing tonight, be safe, and I look forward to seeing all of you in 2016!

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Fun Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let Us Bid A Monster Farewell to 2015

  1. catweazle says:

    Well bitterkittens.com is Tom + Lorenzo’s discussion board and I posted links to my Drag Race recaps there, so that’s two mysteries solved! In any case, I’m honored that all my yelling about how much I love Katya got us some traffic!

    Happy New Year, Monsters!

  2. Kate says:

    Blog blabber mouth here! Happy New Year everyone 🍾

  3. old man fatima says:

    Happy new year everyone!! I was invited to a puppy party tonight, and we all know how adorable Chompsky is with puppies, but my old civil war injuries are acting up so I’m laid out for the evening and will probably be in bed by 5pm. You’ll perhaps recall that I had to miss the last puppy party because of the flu? On the surface, I’m very sad that I missed two puppy parties, but when I stop to think about it how great is it that I have the kinds of friends who throw multiple puppy parties?? Pretty great. By the time the next one rolls around, I think most of the puppies will be proper dogs, but dog parties are nothing to sneeze at. I’m going to set my alarm for midnight so I can get up to sing auld lange syne. I hope you all have a much more exciting NYE than me!

  4. martinmegz says:

    Hi monsters. I’m stuck at work for like 6 more hours. I was going to do a half day, but there was some drama yesterday that resulted in my boss being alerted that I closed the office an hour early (there was NO ONE else here and the place was freezing!) so now I have to stick it out till 5p I guess.

    I really need a haircut but my usual lady increased her prices 66% and I’m having some weird reaction that makes it impossible for me to go back to her. It’s so excessive! I just can’t abide such a big jump at once. I’d actually rather pay a new person the same amount she’s charging. Is that insane? It’s insane. Oh, well.

    Have a great New Year’s Eve, everyone! If you’re reading this while the sun’s out, please leave riddles or stories about your lives here to get me through the day.

    • Commentatrix says:

      This morning I woke up in a panic because I thought I made a huge mistake last night at work. Basically we were waiting on an important email delivery that I was to pass along to our India office, but the email never came so I emailed India to let them know they were off the hook and went home for the night. Then upon waking today I had the horrible thought that maybe the email did come and go straight to my junk folder, which has happened before, and which would have meant likely missing a big deadline because of my screwup, but then I checked my junk folder and it was empty so, you know, huge relief. We will still miss the deadline but I’m off the hook, and if I’m being totally honest, missing deadlines brings me a lot of secret delight because our management continues to make decisions that don’t make any sense and often result in these huge bottlenecks that we then end up bending over backwards to try to manage. Anyway. Boring. The point is, I hope reading this broke up the monotony for you a bit. Only 80 more minutes to go!

  5. Happy New Year, everyone! And FRQ, thank you so much for stepping up when I couldn’t manage the site anymore. I really missed you guys this year–going back and reading the comments isn’t the same as being able to participate in real time!

  6. Erika says:

    Whoa. I had no idea I was commenting that much.

    • marlasinger99 says:

      Me either – I’m not sure that’s right, but okay! Happy New Year everybody! May the force be with 2016. It already is.

      • Simon Spidermonk says:

        Me three. I’m almost positive I didn’t leave that many comments. But whatever. Happy 2016!

Comments are closed.