So, How Was Your Day?

Bleh, the first week after the holidays is such a drag. My day was okay, though, except for the part where now I have a headache and everything is terrible.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. flanny says:

    Today was pretty good because my cat (who is still dying) woke me up by meowing in my face and then she ate almost all her breakfast. But now I’m at work and paranoid that she’s wasting away without me. This is terrible Sorry, probably for the next few weeks, my How Was Your Days are just going to be talking about how sad my cat is. V cool 2016. V cool.

    In happier news, my angel Louis Tomlinson is currently skiing in the Alps and was spotted wearing the coziest sweater.

    • hotspur says:

      At first I thought he was standing in front of a poster of a New Yorker cover.

    • old man fatima says:

      Eating all of her breakfast and meowing in your face are really good signs! We’re all pulling for you, Nan! ❤

    • martinmegz says:

      Wait is she actually dying or are you just really worried about her??? It’s so hard when your beloved pets are sick, I’m sorry you’re going through this.

      • flanny says:

        She’s got low counts of all the different types of blood (it’s called pancytopenia if you want to look it up), and she’s on steroids right now to hopefully spur her marrow into production. But when I saw the vet on Monday he was basically just like, “I’m sorry. This sucks.” He was right, it totally does.

        • mordonez says:

          I’m so sorry, we lost a cat this summer with very little warning—hoping for the best, and thinking of you.

          I am not super into 1D, so here is a horse drinking whiskey?

        • martinmegz says:

          That is so crappy. I’m sorry. I lost my baby Vedder the Cat five and half years ago and I miss her all the time so I understand how horrible it is.

        • flanny says:

          Thanks guys! Everyone’s been so sweet about Nan. Even my boss (who did used to work at a vet school) was kind of like, do what you need to do, be where you need to be. I’ve only had her for a few months, so I’m trying to believe that God or Allah or the universe or whoever gave her to me so that she could spend her last months in a cozy warm apartment being petted instead of in a cage or out on the streets. Poor little lady.

        • Sota says:

          Group hug from all of us. Nan is much better off with you than anywhere else!

  2. catweazle says:

    Now that the holidays are over stuff is actually going on at work which means I can’t be totally lazy all day. Plus every day this week there has been at least one hugely annoying and complicated problem with something I’m working on and I have had it! If I have to actually do my job it could have the decency of being normal and crisis-free!

    Anyway, I have a date with the guy from New Years tonight. Well, I think I do at least. We were supposed to go out last night but he texted me like two hours before we were supposed to meet to tell me that he was cooking and his roommate had friends over so he had to reschedule. Why are men? At this point I’m mostly just concerned that he won’t be as hot as I remember him. Please be hot, you flake!

  3. flanny says:


    I’m getting as good as you at doctoring images!

  4. old man fatima says:

    My day is pretty alright!! For a while now, cracks have been opening up in my walls. I wasn’t worried about structural damage because the lunatics who built the house made the interior walls out of plaster on top of solid tentest instead of mesh or lathing, so when the weather changes the plaster has nowhere to expand and it naturally will crack. I was just going to use drywall tape on the cracks to let them breathe a little so I don’t have to keep patching every 6 months. Easy peasy. BUT THEN on the weekend suddenly my bedroom door wouldn’t latch, and looking closer I could see that the frame has shifted by about a half inch, and there is a sag to the floor now! Which all together means structural damage. 😦 I Googled around and fixing foundation issues runs about 15-35k so I was going to just burn the house to the ground and flee the country. But then I called my handyman mom, and she said that I can totally do it myself and sent me a pile of YouTube video tutorials for every part of the job and priced out the materials and tools I’ll need and it will only cost me a few hundred dollars can you even believe that???? Moms, right??? Moms are the greatest. And it will only push my timeline back by a couple of weeks, so we can still potentially be in the dream apartment downtown by the end of the summer! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    I got my student evaluations back and while they were mostly positive, I had one that said I was a horrible teacher who just taught the book and that’s why no one showed up to class. But tons of people showed up to class. And 2/3s of the images I used weren’t in the book. I think it’s this girl I gave a B to on her paper who emailed me saying she “worked hard and deserved an A”. I politely told her to shove it. My other students really liked me! So maybe I’ll teach at Emerson again!

    I also twisted my ankle again, but managed to get all the Christmas stuff down. And tonight I’m going to make a stew that starts with bacon and includes a pint of Guinness.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I hate how much the negative reviews stand out in your head! Schools should throw out the anomalies like every other survey!

    • martinmegz says:

      I had a student once who refused to accept that he didn’t put the right answer to one question on the exam and continued to harass me about it. Finally one day I told him he could keep arguing about it but not with me because I was sick of hearing it. Then of course he left me a shitty evaluation for made up reasons. Kids be shady.

    • martinmegz says:

      By the way, don’t textbooks exist as teaching tools? Like, the lectures help students understand the content in the book that was developed to standardize curricula? And also so people like me could skip class and still keep up with the course work?

    • FRQ says:

      You should have told her to go back to the depths of Yelp from which she came.

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Today I am very tired. I got up early to work out for the third day in a row and I’m very tired. Today I had coffee instead of tea and it has made me jittery but at least I’m not totally sleepy.

  7. Sota says:

    Well today my vacation ended. Womp womp. I flew home this morning and took the train directly to the office. I figured, it’s a half day, it wont be so bad. Except that I walked directly into a meeting looking like a wreck (no make up, ponytail, plane attire) only to have the clients walk in to. NOT aware they were coming. Since then I have been in a bunch of meetings and how in the world is this day not over yet? It’s like the longest half day of my entire life!!!! UGHHHHH.

    Trying to remember my beach bliss from last week. Wooo saaaah!

  8. FRQ says:

    My day has been okay, though I did have kind of an annoying moment during lunch. I met up with a friend, who invited another friend of hers to join. While making small talk, she asked me “What kind of stuff do you like to do?”, which to me is one of the hardest question in the world to answer. I like to keep an eye out for interesting events happening in the city, but there is no specific theme, like I go to book fairs. Otherwise I am just watching movies, TV, music, games, etc, which doesn’t sound incredibly compelling. I feel like someone who asks that questions is expecting an answer like rock climbing, salsa dancing, crocheting, or model rocket building. I feel you all are similar to me in this regard. WTF do you tell people when asked this?

  9. mordonez says:

    I am in much the same boat as catweazle, but I have less that I can actively be doing to fix my Work Problem. Our managed hosting techs are all nice guys, but they’re the guys who were left over/acquired when the ones with specific product knowledge were all “rightsized” in the last year, so it’s like pulling teeth, and an outage that should have lasted maybe an hour took almost 4 to resolve.

    Other than that, I have a new washing machine (grrr) because the repair dude came out and told me what part was broken, and I ordered one and installed it myself to save $300, but that did not fix my problem. At least I can return the part for credit though.

    Tonight is the first night of an entirely new music class, so I hope I enjoy the “Art Rock Ensemble”. (Learn to play songs by classic recording artists including: Roxy Music, Talking Heads, Peter Gabriel, Wire, Kate Bush, Pink Floyd, John Cale, David Bowie, and more!)

  10. Commentatrix says:

    Welp, 2016 so far can shove it, as far as I’m concerned. My company just underwent the most brutal series of layoffs in like a decade, of which I and two other friends were casualties. It’s a sucky situation made all the suckier by the very real and circumstantially convincing possibility that I was chosen for the chopping block due to inquiries made (in the least confrontational way possible) regarding the possible gender pay discrimination I told you guys about a while back and just generally being the one in the office willing to speak up about other injustices and downright terrible working conditions (the near-constant smell of sewage permeating the building, the lack of working men’s toilets, etc.) that management kept pretending were no big deal. Basically I’m convinced my boss is evil and have spent the last two days saying this to anyone who will listen.
    Exhibit A: the five people cut from our department were the three newest hires AND me and the guy who helped me by telling me his salary and letting me use the info in my inquiries with my boss. Two of these things are not like the others.
    Exhibit B: My boss offered freelance work opportunities to all terminated employees except me and the same guy who helped me.
    Exhibit C: more of an opinion-based thing, but I was an exemplary employee by all measures (chosen to go to India for fuck’s sake), and one of the two guys who were kept on instead of me and helper guy expressed shock at the very notion that he, a known slacker, was being deemed more valuable to the company than the two of us. We suspect that the department will have to immediately train these guys on my and helper guy’s former work duties. LOL.

    I’m left in such shock by it all, and even though I’ve been interviewing and trying to get out of the company for a while now, the injustice of it all angers me so. It helps that all my work friends are unquestionably convinced that I was a victim of retaliation, but I hate that people like this manager still exist and are allowed to perpetrate this sort of behavior. I’ve never trusted him and always knew he was shady, I just didn’t think he would truly be capable of this. I’ve been joking for months that I was certain I was at the top of his shit list and he’d get rid of me at the first opportunity har har, but I didn’t fully believe it, ya know? Even when I was called in to meet with him and the HR director (the day after I emailed her asking for a meeting to help me understand the company’s recent decision not to close the pay gap between the one guy and me), I texted my friends like, I’m probably walking into my own firing lol. (They’ve similarly ambushed people like this in the past.)

    One work friend gave me the email of her lawyer brother’s lawyer friend who works in labor law, and I’m thinking about at least looking into any low-effort options I might have in spite of little proof and only like one eye witness to one instance of my boss threatening to report me to HR for discussing my salary with other coworkers. I fantasize about him being punished almost constantly, and it’s not like I have anything to lose at this point. But it might be more trouble than it’s worth and/or give me an ultimately negative professional reputation. I’m just not the kind of person who can really grin and bear it through shit like this. Anyway.

    On the upside, I made it to the second round of interviews for this other job at a seemingly great company, so fingers crossed I won’t be unemployed for too much longer! I really tried to make myself not lay all my hope eggs in that one basket so as to minimize potential disappointment, but now that I’m in dire straits, how can I not? Pray4me!

    • flanny says:

      Ugg, that’s terrible, Trix! That guy’s shittier than Alicia Florrick’s wig! I don’t know anything about labor law so I have no advice to give you there, but you’re better than that place anyway and you’ll find something great somewhere great, I know it! Hugs in the meantime!

    • Sota says:

      This story makes my blood boil. WOOF. That is so not cool. And honestly if they were the kind of company that would allow that sort of BS you don’t want to be there anyways.

      At least I suppose that having been laid off you can collect unemployment while you look for a definitely way more awesome job. There’s one positive to this story.

      Other than that, can I please have that guy’s address so I can go egg his house? Kthanx.

    • FRQ says:

      Good riddance. That job and that guy can eat shit, and you will be better off not being around them. I know it is easy for someone with a job to say this, but it seems like your soul was slowly dying there, and it is probably for the best, even though the circumstances were terrible.

      • Commentatrix says:

        Thanks, guys! I mean, I AM glad to be free of them, no question–they are pretty much the only reason I haven’t been coming around here as much! But I did NOT want to be the dumpee :/

    • old man fatima says:

      I AM SO ANGRY RIGHT NOW.

  11. Sota says:

    I feel like all of you guys would enjoy this mash up video. I tried to make a post, but I am starting to feel like an old lady who cannot figure out how to embed things…so ugh…have this link instead:

Comments are closed.