It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

One week down, fifty-ish more to go.  This weekend I plan on having various meals with friends, but nothing particular outstanding.  I have a few shows and games I am working on completing, but I should probably find something more productive to do.  The eternal struggle, RIGHT?  How about you guys?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. artdorkgirl says:

    We’re going to Providence Saturday night to do a pub crawl with some friends.

    But on to better news!! Our very own Neverabadidea got me the most wonderful Secret Santa gift ever!!! Feast your eyes on this:

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have to find a much warmer winter coat because Chicago is about to get shitty, cold weather, and the coat I have been wearing is not cut out for less than 30 degrees.Who waits until the middle of January to buy a proper winter coat? Apparently, me.

    I’ll also be trying to finish a few projects for work, and wishing I had another 5 day weekend because I have too much to do.

    Oh, and I’ll be watching the Golden Globes!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Go to Macy’s! They are having crazy sales right now. Also, make sure you have good boots (And with that, I turned into your mom. I’m so sorry.)

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        My mom loves Macy’s and always tells me about their sales, so you really did turn into my mom! Ha! Macy’s is on my list of places to check.

        I always get my boots early on because I can’t stand tromping through the snow, so I’m all set in the boots department.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          It’s just I got a really nice coat from them last winter and even with our record snow, it’s still in great shape! I just got a compliment on it last week!!

        • Sota says:

          I used to work at Macy’s, and I honestly still shop there constantly. The best thing about Macy’s is that if you use the coupons on top of sale prices and use a Macy’s card, the stuff is practically free. Macy’s never sells things for real prices. It’s the best. It’s like bargain shopping because its always a surprise to see what the end price is.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I’ve always had great luck with Macy’s, although I’ve had a few issues with ordering stuff online lately. Their sales/coupons are insane! Always good prices and I like a lot of the brands they carry. I ordered a coat from them earlier in the year, but it was TOO puffy. In Mr. Cotco’s words – “It looks like you are wearing a comforter.” It was ridiculous and would not have been easy to wear on a daily basis.

        • flanny says:

          Secret video of costco in her coat:

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Hahahaha!!!!

    • FRQ says:

      Ah yes, the Globes. Do you guys want a live thread for it? Lately it seems like people are either watching these things at parties or not at all, so I may just do a recap on Monday, but I would be happy to put one up Sunday if people are interested.

  3. catweazle says:

    I have to take down my Christmas decorations because I was too lazy to do it last weekend. I guess that will have to be tonight because tomorrow I have class and then a Buffy-watching mulled-wine-drinking party at my little sister’s right after. And on Sunday I’m having my family over to watch the Golden Globes which means I also have to clean shit.

    In other news my rent is set to go up by like $60 if I renew my lease and I can’t decide if I should move or not. On the one hand, it would be nice to move to a new place that a) has fewer centipedes, b) in which I can open my bedroom window without fear of bats flying in through the perpetually wonky screen and c) has a lobby, so I can actually get packages at home. But on the other hand even with the rent hike it’s still cheap for the area and how big it is and ughhhhh I don’t want to move. I already had my upcoming bonus earmarked for finally buying a Nord keyboard but if I move I’m going to have to use it on that instead.

    • mordonez says:

      Oooh, Which Nord? I was thinking about one (on the Ebays) before finding the one I actually bought (also on the Ebays) for much less. If you’re not buying new, and you’re not buying a Stage, I don’t think I’d go older than an Electro 4. Weighted or non-weighted? CAN YOU TELL I DID A LOT OF RESEARCH.

      • catweazle says:

        I’m not sure yet, I just started researching. Ideally I’d want a Stage but they’re sooooo expensive. Definitely need weighted keys. The current line of Electros looks pretty good but I think I need to go to a music store and test them out. Basically I want something with 73-ish weighted keys and a good selection of piano and organ sounds, plus the ability to get electric piano and string sounds among other things.

        • mordonez says:

          Yeah, nobody in the city carries them, I tried. You have to go to Kenosha, I think. I’ll message you on FB–to use the hated meeting-speak, I’ll “take it off line”.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      $60×12 is $720 so if it will cost more than $720 (it probably will, right?) you should stay where you are unless there are other reasons you should move (like centipedes!!!)

      • catweazle says:

        Math! I think I will probably stay because even though there are things I don’t like about my place I probably would have to pay a lot more to get a better place.

  4. flanny says:

    I don’t remember who I’m friends and not friends with on facebook, but for those of you who don’t know, I put my cat to sleep yesterday evening, so, yeah, I’m really glad this week is over. I already had plans to celebrate my birthday with one of my best friends this weekend, so I’m still going forward with those because I need to not be sitting alone in my catless apartment.

    So I got a rent-the-runway dress (which I’m also wearing to work today) and we’re going to tour the estate of one of the Dodge brothers, and then we are going to dinner at The Whitney (I will wear the dress again), which is the fanciest restaurant in all of Detroit. It’s also supposed to be super haunted and there’s always a special on local tv on around Halloween about all the ghosts. I’ll try to take some covert pictures and post any orb ones.

  5. martinmegz says:

    Have you guys heard the Star Wars China song? Wired hated it but I love it! It sounds like Y2K to me.


    http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/2016-01/08/star-wars-china-music-video-luhan

  6. Last night I went to a work party and I saw an actor from one of my obscure (in America) British soaps that I watch and he took a picture with me. It was pretty awesome.

    On Saturday I will probably clean because my new roommate gets home this weekend and frankly, my apartment looks like a frat house right now. Whoops. But then on Sunday I am going to Disneyland and I’m very excited to eat a lot of terrible food and ride Space Mountain.

  7. Sota says:

    I am kinda screwed up on dates this week. It doesn’t even feel like Friday to me. Work is bananas, and my friend who I always whine to about work stuff…we just made a pact that this year (we will see how long this lasts) everytime we whine about work stuff, then we have to follow it up with some good things. Because I feel like I have been whining about my job too much, and really…its actually still a very good job that gives me lots of flexibility and allows me to pay the bills. It’s been super overwhelming in the last two months, but overall its still a good thing. I don’t want to become the office (or regular life) crabass.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend I’m going to the 1st birthday party of a little boy named Flash (yes, that’s his first name on his birth certificate). Now that my kid is almost a year old, I’ve determined that 1st birthday parties are pretty much the worst. I don’t think we’ll be throwing one for Tykeasaurus.

    • Sota says:

      I kinda like going to baby birthday parties though because they are minimal social commitment. Babies have to nap, so you don’t have to stay long…and also…Cake!

      • hotspur says:

        I have no kids (that I know of, hahahaha!) but once a friend asked me to drop by his kid’s B-day party because he needed someone to talk to. That was confusing — until I met the moms. Ohhh boy. My favorite was the one who asked if I “liked music,” and when I answered I was seeing a band later that night, she gave a super condescending nod: “I used to waste my life on frivolous nights out too… but now I spend my time on things that truly matter, you know?” LOL, mom, get a life!

        • mordonez says:

          What does it mean to NOT “like music”? It does remind me though that in college, I was in a restaurant that had a cheesy piano player, who we’d been seated next to. My roommate, who is a phenomenal cellist and now a professor of music history/musicology at the Peabody Conservatory asked if we could move, because “we don’t like music very much”.

        • Commentatrix says:

          I’m sure not all new moms are condescending jerkfaces like that lady, but it sure does seem like it sometimes.

    • martinmegz says:

      If I had a kid I would definitely stage a fake 1st birthday part by putting up a banner, getting a cake with a #1 candle and taking a picture. Boom, 20 years later kid thinks he had a great party.

Comments are closed.