I Suppose It’s The 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards

Once again, the international viewing audience is subjected to the Golden Globe Awards.  I’m probably one of the least cynical people when it comes to award shows, but this year’s ceremonies were a fucking DRAG.  Pretty much all of the presenter bits fell flat, the random audience murmuring was obnoxious,  and Ricky Gervais.  This coupled with the ever-increasing amount of media being released that I have to keep up with, made the show tiresome.  Here are some of the things that caught my attention.

  • Ricky is right about one thing.  Why does NBC still exist?
  • Should I be watching Mozart In The Jungle?
  • The Oscar Isaac hype wagon continues to forge on!
  • I like America Ferrara and Eva Longoria.  I wish they were on better shows.
  • I love that Sly is having a great tour with Creed, but did he forget to thank the director when he won?
  • Thank you Hollywood Foreign Press, for vindicating my watching Mr. Robot.
  • I guess John David Washington is the internet’s new boyfriend.  Sorry, guy

  • The eternal battle between winners and the orchestra…
  • Individuals I thought looked great:
    • Dwayne Johnson
    • J-Lo
    • Taraji P. Henson
    • Alicia Vikander
    • Amy Schumer
    • Saoirse Roan
    • Eddie Redmayne

How did you guys fare?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I Suppose It’s The 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I think I was the only one laughing at the Jonah Hill bear hat bit, but don’t worry, the amount that I laughed at it made up for everyone else not laughing at it.

    Aziz is the best:

  2. Sota says:

    Well I totally forgot that these were happening, so I have to say I don’t know much about it. I cannot wait to browse the fashions slideshows this afternoon after lunch. And I have enjoyed these two moments via the social medias:

    Very happy for my boyfriend…maybe he really will get his Oscar this year…

    • Sota says:

      Let’s try another link to that second gif…

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I think we should talk about this because it’s hilarious!
        He claims that he just didn’t know who was passing him, but obviously it was the winner, duh.
        The jokes I saw were “that’s the face he makes when touched by a woman over 25” and “oh no, he almost got TV on him!”

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I think I rewound this at least 3 times. Hilarious!

      • martinmegz says:

        I would like to talk about how she didn’t thank her super hot fiance Taylor Kinney! She just forgot, right? What’s the hot goss on that?

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I was thinking the same thing! I don’t know much about Taylor Kinney (or Lady Gaga for that matter), but I know they are engaged. I don’t think he was sitting with her. I’m glad I’m not the only one that wondered this. I was surprised at how concerned I was for his feelings about getting left out of that speech.

        • martinmegz says:

          He was sitting with her but she turned to Ryan Murphy first and kissed him, then kissed Taylor! I watch Chicago Fire (and PD but NOT Med because that show is the dumbest) so I truly love Taylor. He is just so hot. But he also seems really cool so I’m sure he was understanding about it.

  3. catweazle says:

    My inner teen was so excited that Jason Schwartzman and Alex Greenwald were in the same room.

  4. flanny says:

    Can we just not have hosts anymore and can the presenters just present the awards? We don’t even get clips of performances or shows or movies anymore, and I think we could show a little bit of the actual work being done if we just cut down on the chitter-chatter. Also, Paul Feig, although a funny man and a fellow Michigander, is not Jude Law and it was cruel to me personally to put him on-stage with the cast of Spy.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    My favorite moment was probably when Gael Garcia Bernal won, and I have never seen Mozart in the Jungle, though maybe I should check it out.

    It was his walk up to the podium. He saw Alejandro González Iñárritu, and gave him sort of a fist bump. Bernal’s first movie was Iñárritu’s Amores Perros, and he looked pretty excited to share the moment with the director that gave him his first big role.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    I usually have fun watching the Globes. I love seeing boozy celebs. But this year was just awful. I actually stopped watching half-way through and went to bed. Ugh.

  7. martinmegz says:

    My favorite moment was not on the show but in the press after when JLaw yelled at a reporter for being on his phone while asking her a question. If I had her power, I’d constantly be shaming people for looking at their phones instead of living their lives. You can see the moment in this tweet:

  8. Kate says:

    Guys Mozart in the Jungle is fantastic. You all need to binge watch both seasons and report back to me. It’s your homework assignment. There will be grades.

Comments are closed.