Making a Murderer Open Thread

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

We haven’t gotten a chance to talk about the new Netflix documentary series Making a Murderer, but if you’re like me, it’s all you hear about!  The case follows the story of Steven Avery after he’s released from prison after 18 years for a crime he didn’t commit when new DNA evidence surfaces.  Soon after, he’s arrested for the murder of a woman and the series follows his trial.

If you haven’t seen it, run (don’t walk!) to the nearest Netflix and watch because that ish is cray! (Cool lingo!)

There’s lots to unpack here and while there’s probably enough content to do a week-by-week recap, I think once you get going on an episode, it’s pretty tough to wait a week to watch more.  Plus, I watched it so close together, I have no idea what happens in which individual episodes because it all runs together for me.  I’m trying to make the post spoiler-free, but feel free to go nuts in the comments (fair warning!).

Have you seen it?  What do you think of the evidence?  How much post-viewing research have you done?  What the F is going on in Wisconsin??

Related: Did you know the internet went crazy for defense lawyers Dean Strang and Jerry Buting?

About collin0truckasaurus

Truck is a fan of cheeseburgers, gifs of cats, and saying the F word. She has lived a bunch of different places but the internet is by far her favorite. Her main complaint in life is that food noted as "spicy" on a menu is never spicy enough.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Making a Murderer Open Thread

  1. flanny says:

    I haven’t watched this yet, but I just want to say that this graphic is literally the very best.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve only seen the first episode, so I don’t have much to say yet.

    I do want to throw in a plug for one of my favorite shows, Rectify. Follows the story of a man released from death row, and how his release effects him, his family, and their small town. Not a documentary, but I think if you like Making a Murderer, you would like Rectify. I believe seasons 1 and 2 are on Netflix.

  3. nastyemu says:

    I had to stop watching after episode six or seven because the whole thing just makes me angry and sad.

    • mikaelajm says:

      I am on episode six, but took a long break after the first few, for the same reason. It’s so fucking depressing and grim, especially everything to do with the nephew. All my true-crime-loving instincts get stalled out by feeling just awful.

  4. old man fatima says:

    It made Mr Fatima super anxious to watch, but we plowed through it in a weekend. It was super good! But super frustrating too! There is another documentary on Netflix called Crime After Crime that deals with the same subject matter but with a much more sympathetic protagonist, and I would recommend it.

    My thoughts:

    1, I love those lawyers so much, especially the short one, and this actually made me think maybe I’d like to go into criminal law after all (I figured I’d do corporate or taxation because I don’t want to have to prosecute innocent people or defend piece of shit guilty ones, and also because I want more of a 9-5 type job).

    2, I never warmed up to Avery’s new girlfriend because I was so sad when Jodie (I think?) had to leave him. Was her name Jodie? I loved her and I loved them together.

    3, Why do they let the prosecution say that if Avery was framed, they are implying the cops did the murder? The way I see it: they legit thought Avery was guilty because they think he’s a POS who is capable of all sorts, but the evidence they found didn’t implicate him so they planted it where it would. The cops don’t have to be murderers to have framed Avery, and I think the phone call whatshisface made confirming the plates on the Toyota show that. He found it somewhere, confirmed it was the right vehicle, and then brought it to Avery’s. Still monsters, but not murderers.

    4, Why didn’t they give Brandon some sort of psych evaluation or IQ test to prove that he was basically at the intellectual level of a child?

    5, Who really did do it???? It would be so cool to give old Jimmy “The Wire was Modern Sherlock Before Sherlock was Modern Sherlock” McNulty the evidence and case files and just let him loose on Manitowoc County. I’ve seen so many different theories and they all seem plausible. What do you guys think? I think the brother and ex-boyfriend were a bit suspicious.

    Also, you know how at first 7 jurors thought he wasn’t guilty, but they got talked up by some stubborn ones who wouldn’t budge? Apparently 2 or 3 people on the jury are related to the Manitowoc County Sheriff who is married to Avery’s cousin. How does that info not get you a new trial?

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Woo!
      #3: I think the first one – they knew there was a murder and it was convenient to pin it on Avery. It’s definitely possible they killed her, but I’d like just a little bit of faith in humanity left.
      #4: Seriously! I know! When he said, “what does ‘inconsistent’ mean?” I died a little inside!

      #5: I’m hardcore thinking the brother and ex-boyfriend know much more than they let on. The brother said something about starting to grieve for her before they had found the body! How do you not investigate that??? I don’t even think they checked their alibies!

      • old man fatima says:

        #4: And when he was talking to his mom on the phone and said “I’m stupid, mom” or something like that! I actually made a sad little noise and got super bummed out about it! I just wanted to pour him a bath and give him a hot meal and send him to school and help him with his homework. I don’t think of myself as a very maternal person, but holy hell did Brandon ever turn me into a Mom.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          There were just SO MANY moments where you’re like “okay, he clearly has no idea what happened to him.” and I kept thinking that he knows he didn’t do it, but he doesn’t have the understanding or vocabulary to say they coerced the confession out of him. Then he got that garbage attorney! I think that’s sadder than what happened to Steven Avery!

        • old man fatima says:

          Oh, it’s for sure sadder than what happened to Avery, because he is a child and he didn’t have anyone standing up for him properly! He was supposed to have been only an accessory, if it were true, but he somehow was found guilty of all counts, even the one Avery was found not guilty of! Ugh, it’s such a bummer. I really hope something good comes of the documentary for that poor kid.

          I saw a petition going around Facebook to release them from jail and it made me lol. That’s not how the legal system works?? “He was found guilty in what we can only assume was a fair trial in the best legal system we have, but a bunch of people watch a TV show and now they want a convicted murderer released, I guess we’d better release him!” Was nobody paying attention? You have to convince a judge that there is new evidence that would have affected the outcome of the trial, and even then it’s up to the courts to allow a new trial or not. If he does get a new trial, you just know the goobs who signed that thing are going to be like “I made a difference!”

        • I really want to read that book now that he mentioned on the stand to see just how similar it is to what he described. I think that would be VERY telling. Also, I did get a bit of a thrill when the prosecutor was like “what book have YOU possibly read?” and he had an answer. You know that guy thought he was just going to stare back blankly.

  5. hotspur says:

    What timing! Just this weekend I met a friend for “brunch” (Denny’s) and she told me I needed to watch this. She described one scene that had me simultaneously thinking “I’m in!” and “This is going to make me so angry.”

  6. I have a LOT of thoughts about this although I have to say that I’m not convince that Avery didn’t do it. I was reading up on some of the evidence that was left out of the show and some of it seemed pretty damning. Also, the guy poured gasoline on a cat and set it on fire, so….

    1) Poor Brandon. I have a feeling that they use that video in teaching “How to spot a fake confession”. He made me so sad and his lawyer made me so mad. How can you be a DEFENSE attorney and not defend your client?? Plus that investigator with his stupid tears on the stand because of the ribbon? Shut up forever jerk face.

    2) I cannot believe that they would let those sheriffs into the house for the search. Pure, unadulterated stupidity. I am on the side of the “the cops were convinced he was guilty so they planted some evidence to make that apparent”. For the car, I honestly wonder if the guy didn’t hear that description some other way other than that he was directly looking at the car. My only reasoning for that is because I never think of a Rav 4 as a Toyota, it has Rav 4 written all over it and people always just call it that. I feel like if he was looking at the car directly, he would have said “Green Rav 4”. However, I’ve also seen a theory that he found the car while illegally searching the Avery yard and called it in to make sure it was the right one but couldn’t technically report it at that juncture.

    3) If it wasn’t Steven Avery, I’m inclined to be suspicious of the two hunting guys who gave each other alibis. But I don’t know!!! Things like this make me realize I never want to be on a murder jury because I would be so scared of making the wrong decision.

  7. Erika says:

    I haven’t seen it yet but I’m pretty skeptical first of all since the producers intentionally left out a lot of damning evidence, and second because it’s really easy for all us armchair jurors to decide someone’s not guilty regardless of the actual evidence. This reminds me a lot of the attention paid to Serial.

    • Erika says:

      I also say this as someone who served on a jury once and was the lone holdout against “guilty” until the other eleven jurors came around and sided with me.

      • old man fatima says:

        You 12 Angry Menned them!!

        • Erika says:

          I did! I didn’t even think of that. Although, in fairness, there was one other lady who only very briefly sided with “guilty” before she came back to my side.

  8. Commentatrix says:

    Well, in spite of every gd article these days being about this and the evidence that was left out of the show, etc., I’m still pretty convinced he didn’t do it. It just doesn’t add up. I suppose it’s possible he did it in a totally different location than his own home, but I just don’t think he is smart enough not to have left more physical evidence behind (other than the stuff that was obviously planted). That said, watching this really fucked me up and I regret doing it. Every time I come home or go out after dark now, I’m terrified. There is very little light around my single-unit building at night, so basically I’m constantly thinking about how many places there are to hide and how easy it would be for someone to ambush me with violent murder right where I live. In reality, the most likely threat for me out here is a coyote or two, but now I’m basically in that headspace where everyone is a potential killer of women and someone could be already in week 3 of studying my routine. Guys, I need a job :/

    • old man fatima says:

      The nice thing about not having a job is that you don’t really have a routine!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I think I’m with you – that as much evidence as there is out there, I just don’t think he’s capable of doing everything he would need to do to get away with it. There’s just no way he could clean up after killing her (wherever it took place) without it being horribly obvious that he cleaned up. Plus, in the garage there was all sorts of evidence that he didn’t clean up anything, so I don’t know where we’re supposed to think it actually happened. Plus I just saw a thing about how a bonfire couldn’t dispose of a body and make it look the way her remains looked.

      All that said, I think there’s too much “reasonable doubt” to convict him and that whether he did or did not have anything to do with her death, the cops went out of their way, including planting evidence, to make him get the conviction.

      I wouldn’t be surprised if it turns out he did kill her, but I don’t believe it yet. Either way, the cops are still guilty of some terrible shit.

Comments are closed.