Monster Community Pool – 1/14/2016

You’d think with dozens of cardio machines at my gym, there’d be one available when I showed up.  WRONG.

BTW, I assume most people get Monday off, we’ll be taking it off too, unless there’s furious opposition to this

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Links and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Monster Community Pool – 1/14/2016

  1. flanny says:

    During the first couple of summers in college I worked as a cashier at grocery store back home (including one shift on 9/11 which was the most fun I’ve ever had hahahahaha jk), and one night I was on the closing shift so I was the only cashier open and a young gentleman came through my line and purchased condoms and a bag of Reece’s Pieces. Best combo ever, right? I smiled at him knowingly. And that man is now my husband. JKJK, he seemed pretty embarrassed to be buying condoms from a young lady who looked like Diana Barry. I’m just very thankful for the advent of the self-checkout because it makes purchases like that a lot less awkward for everyone involved.

    • hotspur says:

      “We’ll remember this day forever. And I don’t want to remember it as a day we ran out of milk.” –people on 9/11, evidently?

      • flanny says:

        They were all stocking up on shelf-stable goods. And because I am a robot I would tell them “Have a nice day” at the end of the transaction and they would just stare at me, which is valid. But also, their day involved at least being with their families during a time of great distress, while I was stuck in a grocery store in a gross polo shirt watching through the front windows as cars lined up around the block to get gas in case they needed to outrun some terrorists. #neverforget

    • gnidrah says:

      Having told you all about my life as a 10-year-old, I will now tell you about my life as a 16-year-old. I worked in a supermarket on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons (good shift times, the best) and I was often put on the ’10 items or fewer’ lane, I assume because I was speedy and full of hilarious banter, but the guy who I shared a till with was cute, so I didn’t mind.

      Anyways to liven up our shifts, we would always do a price check when we got a single guy who was buying condoms, wine and a bunch of flowers/box of chocolates. “I’m really sorry sir, this price doesn’t seem to be coming up, I’m going to have to ask my supervisor” *****BRRRRRRRINNNNNGGGGG!***** “PRICE CHECK ON LANE 10!”

      I want to apologise to those poor men now. It was horrible of us.

  2. catweazle says:

    John Boyega is so young that he would normally be automatically disqualified as crush material but he’s working REALLY hard to get around that, the scamp!

  3. hotspur says:

    I will make my predictions now!
    Best Picture – The Big Short, because it’s topical and probably good (I didn’t see it)
    Best Director – George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road (because it’s a perfect movie with lots of moving parts)
    Best Actor – Bryan Cranston, Trumbo (def)
    Best Actress – Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years (cuz she’s been around forever and never won)
    Best Supporting Actor – Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight (cuz they’ll want to give him one and this movie had a good serious topic, altho I didn’t see it)
    Best Supporting Actress – Rooney Mara or Jennifer Jason Leigh (Mara cuz she needs one eventually, Leigh cuz she should have got one by now)
    Best Adapted Screenplay – Hmm. Dunno. Maybe they wanna give one to Hornby as a sort of career win, but The Big Short was probably good (I didn’t see it) and is going to win Best Picture.
    Best Original Screenplay – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Spotlight, mainly because it’s not going to win Best Picture so this is its consolation prize.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I know it was only nominated for Best Original Song, but now 50 Shades of Grey can say it was Oscar nominated.

  5. catweazle says:

    I was really hoping my boyfriend Michael Shannon and my girlfriend Kristen Stewart would get nominated in the supporting categories but no dice.

    Also very surprising that neither of the actresses from Freeheld have been getting nominated for any of the awards; they seemed like a sure bet.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I was surprised about Kristen Stewart. Especially considering how well received that role has been for her. UGH, Academy. Get your crap together.

      • catweazle says:

        I watched that movie recently and she was very good in it! It was also just a good movie, though Chloe Moretz was a bit of a weak link. People can’t get past Twilight though. They assume she’s a bad actress but really she was just playing a terrible character very well in those movies!

  6. Sota says:

    Guys, this has been A WEEK. I am working on this huge project that is just soooo much of my time and all of my energy and I am so burnt out on it. It was burning me out in the beginning of november and its still happening! I can’t even believe how nit-picky the things are getting on the corporate side. I also thought it was Friday today…so yeahhhhhh…this has nothing to do with the pool, but I just had to whine a minute.

    • FRQ says:

      Alright, I’m gonna start putting a disclaimer or something before the links, because as I’ve stated before, the pool is basically an open thread, and the links are just there to get conversation started if you guys had nothing to discuss. Sorry if that came off a little berating, but I feel bad every you guys feel the need to apologize for talking about random stuff.

Comments are closed.