So, How Was Your Day?

IT IS SO COLD. Otherwise, my day was fine. I I have nothing else to report because at this stage of winter, I effectively turn into a hibernating bear who only leaves my apartment when I absolutely have to.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Sota says:

    Work has been ridiculously annoying lately. To the point where I am just OVER it. So over it. I am sure that things will calm a bit when this one project is complete, but its been in “panic zone” for like 3 months and I just don’t want to live like this. So I started sort of half heartedly looking at what is out there. I need to update the ol res, but I did find a very cool museum job that I am interested in. And that is really the area I would like to get back to.

    In other news…I am sick AGAIN. I think it might be mostly stress…but also, the fact that I live in some sort of frigid tundra. I feel like I have been in hibernation mode like crazy. I keep canceling plans on everyone and I am starting to feel guilty about it.

    In happier news, I am working from home today, and I found some banana bread in the freezer. WIN!

    • Sota says:

      Also! I tried last weekend to finish my SBTB Hawaii recap…and I put the dvd in to do screengrabs…and they all came out grey! Is this a thing that they can do with copyright to prevent me from screengrabbing from a dvd? I am going to try again on my other computer…but it was very weird.

      • catweazle says:

        What program were you using? Were you doing screenshots with the “print screen” button or within the program?

        • Sota says:

          I was just doing the screengrab thing with “shift-command-4” which is how I have done the SVH recap screenshots previously. So strange.

        • catweazle says:

          If you play the DVD with VLC you can get screengrabs by hitting shift+S without any copyright garbage interfering, I’m pretty sure! It’s what I use for all my various recapping efforts.

        • Apple doesn’t like letting you screengrab copywrighted dvds. I think the way i got around it was cmd-shift-3 which grabs your whole screen and then cropping out the background.

      • hotspur says:

        If the shift-commands don’t work, your computer probably shipped with a screengrab program somewhere on it, called “Grab” or something. If your issue persists, I’ll check what my PC version is called when I get home — the Mac version actually is called Grab and it’s in your Utilities folder.

      • Erika says:

        I had the same problem when I wanted to screengrab particularly bad moments from the Star Wars prequels. Joke’s on Apple because all that happened is I went to websites where you can get every single still from all the movies. It was a little annoying having to sift through them all.

        It’s also kind of annoying just from a personal use standpoint. What if I want a screenshot of Luke’s beautiful face as my computer background?

  2. catweazle says:

    I am sleepy even though I was good last night and went to bed at a semi-decent hour (and didn’t have any booze!). After work I have to go to Bowie practice which will be fun I guess but more importantly I get to see the baby for the second time in a week which is lovely. Last time I was there he was wearing the leprechaun onesie I bought him Ireland and I nearly died.

    Also I have been rewatching New Girl for the first time in a while and I am suddenly extremely attracted to Nick Miller. I always thought he was cute but it’s a bit next level now and to be honest I think it might be because he looks so much like Oscar Isaac.

  3. flanny says:

    What a day! I finally got moved out of my hellish temporary office and into my newly recarpeted and repainted real office. Everything is still everywhere, but it’s waiting until tomorrow because i took a half day to hang out WITH MY NEW CAT! (Said like Rod Roddy.) He’s very affectionate and cute, and I think we will get along just fine. He’s made himself so at home that he slept in the very center of my bed last night. Oh cats, you are literally the very worst.

  4. Commentatrix says:

    Well, my day has only just begun, but I wanted to tell you guys about the amazing thing that happened last week! The bummer news is that I didn’t get my dream job that I interviewed for a while back because of some embarrassing flustering on my part, BUT I did just start a short-term contract position at the same place this week! It all just kind of worked out timing-wise because I’d reached out to a former manager to just let her know that I’d been laid off and to please let me know if she knows of any opportunities blah blah, and lo, not two full weeks into my joblessness, she straight-up offered me this gig! I’m really excited, even though the work environment here is very fast-paced and demanding and autonomous, all things that I’ve famously shied away from in the past. But I’m in an *OK* mental health place right now, so I feel like it would be safe to take on some additional responsibility. It’s definitely very overwhelming and scary, as it’s very much one of those new age feelgoodery type of companies that takes itself very seriously. But there’s also freedom and hot lunches and fresh morning berries and all the ice cream and snacks your heart could ever desire. Please give me all the tips for how to imprint on everyone here, so that they won’t want to lose me once my project wraps!

    • catweazle says:

      Bring in baked goods. That’s how I’ve tricked people into liking me at every job I’ve ever had.

    • flanny says:

      Fresh morning berries!!!!!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      My key is this: Whenever someone gives me a task to do (that traditionally has been their job), the first question I ask is “How do you like this to be done?” It’s a teach me your ways question that also lets that person know that you think they’re important. Even if they aren’t. It really opens people up though!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Do stuff they don’t ask you to do – find a task that they don’t know they need done and do it and then they’ll all be like “how did we ever survive without you?”
      Do the project you’re tasked with well beyond expectations.

    • old man fatima says:

      Wait wait wait wait. I’ve been out of the loop for a while, but WERE YOU LAID OFF AFTER YOU WENT OVERSEAS TO TRAIN NEW EMPLOYEES FOR THESE JERKS??? I’m so mad for you right now. The fucking nerve of those people! Better things for you on the horizon, and who wanted to work for dicks who trust you to train an entire new office but won’t give you the same raise as that other guy anyway! Holy cow, I’m so angry for you.

    • gnidrah says:

      Thank you so much for sharing your day, because it has given me some hope about my job situation!

      I’m in a slightly different position because I chose to quit (more on that in another post, some day soon, guys! I know you like to follow my life!) but now that there are just a few weeks left in my current job, I’m starting to freak out about ever being employable again.

      But I have reached out to one or two former colleagues (one of whom sent an absolutely lovely reply, and we’re meeting up next week to discuss opportunities), and seeing that doing that has worked out for you has given me renewed hope that it might work out for me!

      So thank you!

      • Commentatrix says:

        You’ll be great! This was actually the first time in my life I ever got a job just by knowing someone, so if this is what it’s like, YES THANKS. I’m still thinking with some measure of stress about what I’m going to do once this project is complete, but at least for a couple months I’m taken care of. (I’m making considerably more money here than at my old place too.)

        • gnidrah says:

          Literally every job in TV is about contacts, sad to say (well, nearly every. I’ve got one in my life through what one might call traditional methods) Just trying to drop into conversation with every single person I meet, in hopes they’ll mention me or know someone!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    My advisor wants to see me tomorrow afternoon and I’m pretty sure I’m in for an ass chewing because I’ve made no movement on my dissertation. Partly it’s because that class in the fall was super time consuming (in a way I had never really understood before) and partly it’s been since the holiday I’ve had no motivation. It’s also freezing and I don’t want to trudge to the library.

    Blerg, this week.

    • Good luck! I’m pretty much in the same place. I co-taught a class last semester, and the amount of prep for each class was ridiculous (and it was only half of them), not to mention grading, etc. If you figure out the motivation thing, please let me know.

      Blerg, indeed.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Ugh, I feel this feel. Lots of hugs to you ❤ you will get it done!

  6. It’s actually warmer than it’s been in a long time. It snowed a little this morning, but now I’m hanging out in a sunny spot in the office.

    I got a few drinks last night and slept restlessly. I’m moving slow today. I’ve been trying to get up early to exercise but my bed is so warm and my room is so dark, so I generally reset my alarm. So I slept in again today, but not enough.

    So, a typical Wednesday.

  7. hotspur says:

    Reading stuff for work and just puzzled by how brains work. Like, if you don’t know how to spell a word, why did you try it three different ways? Why didn’t you look it up, or just commit to one that was your best guess? And if you want to emphasize a certain WORD, why did you decide all caps is the way to do it… and then why do you not cap word a third of the time you say WORD? Like, is there a reason? Different usages of word? Slightly different intended meanings of WORD? Oh and there is no need to say the behind-the-scenes photographers will be on hand to capture behind-the-scenes images. Just say there will be behind-the-scenes photographers; we will somehow guess what they do.

    That is all.

    *Almost. Lastly, please understand that putting an asterisk in front of a line and giving that line its own paragraph at the end is supposed to mean that this is a footnote, triggered by an asterisk somewhere above. It is not a thing you do “for emphasis.”

    • Sota says:

      I am not sure I can be trusted to guess what the photographers do behind-the-scenes.

    • catweazle says:

      At my last job I had to edit a press release where they wrote the term “e-commerce” three different ways so I feel your pain. I do like when people try to use a word that they’ve never seen written down and they just take a shot in the dark at how to spell it, like the person who wrote “in-climate weather” instead of “inclement weather.”

    • Erika says:

      Lately I’ve been using the news app on my iPad, and I’ve started screenshotting all the mistakes news outlets allow into print. Business Insider has a particular problem with creating listicles that go:
      1.
      1.
      1.
      1.
      1.

      I recognize where that problem comes from. If you create a list in Word and have non-listed text between each item, it defaults back to the first number, but that they don’t try to fix it before publishing the article tickles me. I’ve screenshotted at least three, and I saw several before I started saving them.

      • hotspur says:

        Check out this list of one thing Business Insider does wrong!
        1. They don’t number listicles properly.
        2. They don’t number listicles properly.
        3. They don’t number listicles properly.
        4. They don’t number listicles properly.
        5. They don’t number listicles properly.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Never stop telling us about your work encounters, plz.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Every Wednesday I lead a meeting with my department, and I already generally feel undervalued, but today everyone kept getting off-topic and distracted and focusing on other things and it was just very demoralizing. Also my boss praises the tiniest, most menial aspects of my job which is also demoralizing. Like if someone makes you dinner and it’s a huge spaghetti and meatballs with garlic bread and appetizers meal with wine pairings (and it’s all empirically very very good) and you’re like, “Great job cooking the noodles!” Like, really? Anybody can do that! Look at all this other cool stuff I did!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Ugh, I would like to not complain about my job here. Sorry everybody.
      In other news, my kid is very cute and I’ve been getting up early to work out and I already feel a little better and I believe I am getting slightly smaller in certain areas. Also Mr. Truck continues to be the best.

  9. Simon Spidermonk says:

    I slipped and fell last weekend and my neck made a cracking noise as I went down, which was a bit worrying, but it didn’t seem any worse the next morning so I didn’t think much of it. But now some definite stiffness and soreness is setting in, four days later, so I’m getting reworried. On the plus side, I invented a new word today.

  10. I’ve been about 40% as productive as I should’ve been today, so… pretty good. Also, I went to the optometrist, and my eyes haven’t gotten any worse. Take that creeping infirmity!

  11. old man fatima says:

    Hi everyone! I miss having a bullshit job that allows me to hang out with you all day! But I do love my job. The animals are being cute and we’re getting lots done, so I feel pretty optimistic in general these days. I had the realtor over for dinner and she confirmed that we are doing the right things the right way, and also confirmed what I figured we needed to do going forward, and also confirmed what I had expected the listing price range to be. So I feel pretty good about that! Nothing worse than thinking you can list for 5$ and being told your house is only worth 3.50$. For example. (I am selling my house for more than 5$.)

    The only thing I can complain about is that we have a woman who does account summaries for us for foreclosures, and she is TERRIBLE at it. She’s a client and sends lots of work our way, which is why we use her, but I have to redo probably 75% of them. She doesn’t understand how to use Excel? Everything is formatted wrong. And her totals don’t add up, nor do they match the bank statements. It’s like she’s just picking numbers out of the air?? She also leaves out entire months’ worth of transactions. Anyway, I was spending so much time fixing her numbers that I just created this template with a whole bunch of nested if clauses and v-lookups so you can just punch in the bare numbers one after the other and it will do everything for you and make it look pretty. What I do now is when we get a new foreclosure in, before we even send her the numbers, I plug them into mine so that when we get hers back and it doesn’t work I have the right numbers and a nice-looking summary all set for the court. I talked to the lawyers about it, and everyone has just been doing their own forever because she’s always wrong, but she is a big client so they have to keep sending them to her. It also takes her two weeks to get them back to us, and my little template takes about 20 mins. Also, today I saw one of her invoices and she charges 175 per summary. She does 5 or 6 of them per week! That’s so much money! So I think I’m going to go to the big bosses and say, look I know she is a client but I waste so much of my precious time fixing her numbers (they don’t need to know about my template), so why don’t I just do them at home and I will even do them for the low low price of 125. I don’t know if they’ll go for it, but if they do I can totally afford that gorgeous converted church apartment.

    • old man fatima says:

      Also, I’ve decided not to go into law. When I see Adult Fatima (note: I’m in my mid-30s), I always see me as a lawyer. The hours are garbage, though, and the job is so high-stress! And I am really happiest when working with numbers. I’ve been fighting my destiny for 10+ years now because accountants are so gd boring, but I think I’m going to get my designation. It’s lucrative and I love doing it. I’ll stay at the firm while I study, because I really love it there and they provide free snacks, but I don’t think law is the field for me after all. I am VERY glad that I finally got that sorted out! I’ve wanted to go to law school for so long and now I’m super happy I didn’t do it right out of uni, because imagine spending 4 years and 100k on something only to be like “You know what… no thanks.”

      • Commentatrix says:

        My recent ordeal at my last job really had me thinking that I should go to law school too, but my reservations are basically identical to your reasons not to do it, so I think I’d better not? But unlike you, *I* am happiest when putting huge jerkfaces in their places! Injustice makes me so angry, so it would be great to have the official power to peg lower some of the world’s (state’s) assholes currently flying under the radar. I don’t know. Maybe if my current contract doesn’t turn into something permanent (because the perks at this company are literally worth their weight in gold), I’ll revisit the ol’ pro and con list.

        • old man fatima says:

          My biggest issue with it is the hours. Associate lawyers at my firm work 15+ hour days, and those hours continue for the first 5-10 years until you get some real clout. Unless you aren’t in corporate, and then they continue forever basically. I’d be 40 by the time I was done school, and I don’t want to be working 15 hour days until I’m 50. What if I want to have kids or (more likely) a hundred more dogs??? I need to have a job with a better work-life balance.

      • hotspur says:

        I think you are doing the right thing. I know about 6 lawyers and only about 2 of them are happy with it. So, congrats on your realization/decision. Meanwhile, my sister is an accountant and she is interesting! Not boring!

Comments are closed.