Lunch Chat!


It’s been a dog’s age since we had a lunch chat, so let’s have one now! What are you guys eating for your midday meal? I made chicken tikka masala in the crock pot this weekend, so I’m eating that. It’s not spicy enough even though I dumped a whole bunch of spices in it, but it’ll do just fine.

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Lunch Chat!

  1. Casey says:

    It is still morning here, so I’m working on coffee #2 at the moment, but I’ll give you a sneak preview of what I packed today:
    1) Peanut butter (super chunky) & jelly sandwich on Trader Joe’s chia wheat bread (the good stuff)
    2) Somewhat under-ripe cantaloupe
    3) Apple

    In case none of you realized this, I am still in kindergarten.

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    I ordered the sandwich special at work today thinking it would be regular sized. It’s not. It’s huge. I’m going to eat it all anyway (it’s horseradish/dijon/mayo with roast beef, tomatoes, spinach, and swiss on asiago bread). I’m also eat cheez-its because I, too, am still in kindergarten.

  3. Sota says:

    I am working from home today trying to kick this head cold, and there is not a lot in the fridge to work with today. So likely I will be eating a quesadilla (made in the microwave) with a side of red peppers and spicy hummus. There isn’t even anything sweet here for dessert (TRAGEDY) so dessert will likely be a spoonful of peanut butter straight from the jar.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I respect your ability to only have one spoonful of peanut butter straight from the jar.

      • flanny says:

        I have a jar of pb in my cupboard right now that I haven’t even touched because I know the moment i eat one spoonful I will eat them all.

        • Sota says:

          Yeah if I am being honest there are no guarantees I will only eat one spoonful. There was a time in my life when I actually stopped buying peanut butter because I couldn’t be trusted to not eat the whole jar in one sitting. My restraint is getting better.

    • Sota says:

      Update: I found a Klondike bar in the freezer! Score!!! So no peanut butter was eaten today.

  4. catweazle says:

    I am leftover hungry from only eating a couple of handfuls of corn chips for dinner last night so I’m about to go down to my building’s cafeteria and get grilled cheese and curly fries. And though I will go down there with every intention of getting a can of LaCroix to go with it, dollars to doughnuts I’ll get a Coke Zero instead because I’m soooo sleeeeeepy.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am eating a turkey wrap with very spicy mustard (so delicious) and a side of potato chips, the flavor of which I’m not quite sure yet. The chips that come with the sandwich station at work are different flavors every day and yesterday when I was checking out, some lady was like, “Hey, what flavor are those chips?” (excited) and I said, “I don’t know!” (even more excited) and in that moment, I felt like I was really nailing life.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Update: the chips were so spicy that I couldn’t finish them! 😦 I only had maybe 20% of them!

  6. hotspur says:

    It is still breakfast zone here. But I skipped dinner last night (it just got away from me) so at 9:30 AM I went to the Free Lunch Fridge here at work and took an Asian Chicken Salad that no one ate yesterday. This filled the no-dinner void. Now I have coffee and I will have my usual breakfast (a Clif bar) late for me, around 10:30-10:45. Actual lunch today, who knows what I will do. That is 100 years away.

  7. gnidrah says:

    For dinner I will be having a dish with chicken, creme fraiche, grain mustard, garlic and pancetta bits, also mashed potatoes.

    For this hour before dinner, I will be having cookie dough.

  8. mikaelajm says:

    I went out for lunch and had fried rice (brown, tofu)! It was delicious.

  9. I had to go downtown on an errand and stopped at Pret. I grabbed their tuna and cucumber sandwich and a brownie bite. Delicious.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    Lunch today in my temporary land of workplace wish fulfillment is pizza because the rest of the company is offsite for a half-day meeting and they are taking the company lunch with them. The pizza is delicious, so who knows what otherworldly delicacies those guys are partaking in!

  11. flanny says:

    I also want to add that I made a bunch of chocolate chip cookies on Monday to give to someone, but not all of them would fit in the container. So I brought the extras to work with me, and although I got almost everyone in the office to eat at least one, I myself have eaten four. They are gone now, thank god!

  12. Martinmegs says:

    I’m late but i ate these amazing curry puffs from a dim sum place. So they give us a certain amount of money every day to eat at the tournament and when I don’t use it all I burn the rest on Aussie candy. Now my locker in the media room is just stuffed with bags of chocolate and it’s embarrassing to open if anyone’s nearby. I’m a chocolate hoarder.

Comments are closed.