Welcome To The Homeless Monsters Project Club!

Hi guys! I’m going to try a thing, and you’re welcome to try it along with me. Lately I’ve been having a hard time staying motivated (mostly due to the weather–I never want to do anything in winter but eat, read, and nap), and I always accomplish more when I have some sort of deadline or schedule to follow, so here is my proposal: every Thursday, we’re going to have a Project Club post where we report the progress we’ve made on whatever projects we’ve decided to work on.

What kind of projects? Literally whatever you want. Long-term stuff, weekly goals, fun things you’ve been meaning to try, important things you can’t keep putting off–if there’s something you want to accomplish, no matter how ambitious or trivial, it can count as a project. Want to learn French? Project. Want to start going to bed at a reasonable hour on weekdays? Project. Want to try that new restaurant you’ve been hearing about? Project. Want to catch up on your favorite show? Project! Anything goes.

To give some more context and possible ideas, here are mine:

  1. My long-term project: FINISH THIS GODDAMN NOVEL BEFORE I LOSE MY MIND. Ahem. Sorry. What I meant to say is that my goal for this project is to write at least 5,000 words per week, so each Thursday will be my new deadline.
  2. My short-term projects for this week: I need to call and make a dentist appointment, go to the bank, and schedule my yearly vehicle inspection. I want to have all three of those taken care of by next Thursday.

So, that’s it. Really simple, and like I said, your projects can be anything. Nothing is too big or too small. And I don’t want this to end up being something that stresses people out even more, so if the idea doesn’t appeal to you, don’t worry about participating–but feel free to check in every Thursday to see if my word count goal has driven me mad.

Now tell me about your projects!

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Welcome To The Homeless Monsters Project Club!

  1. catweazle says:

    I have three “projects” right now (or coming up soon)!

    1. My new blog which I mentioned here the other day. I initially intended to try to watch and write about every movie I own before the end of the year but then I realized I have 323 movies so it’s just going to be an ongoing thing for however long I can manage to keep it up. I’ve only written about one movie so far and the next one on the list is 12 Years a Slave which I’m not exactly dying to watch most of the time so I am going to make next Thursday my deadline for writing about it!

    2. I’m going to try to do the RPM challenge again (write and record and album in a month). That’s next month but I already have song ideas starting to float around in my brain. When I did it last year I was hoping it would get me out of songwriter’s block but then I didn’t end up writing anything else for the rest of the year after I finished the challenge. But at the same time, I wrote ten songs last year! So if I do that again this year I’ll consider it a success.

    3. Dating. I am still a misanthropic curmudgeon at heart but I’m going to stop being a hater enough to date some people. I already got started with the NYE guy who I hopefully will be seeing again soon but I want to basically sow my wild oats or whatever the casual dating equivalent of that is. If nothing else, at the end of this journey I will be able to cite more real world experiences when explaining why I don’t date. I will set next Thursday as a deadline to have had at least one Tinder conversation in which my main goal is not trolling!

    • Commentatrix says:

      I too have been procrastinating on “getting out there” and meeting some dudes. Dating is so fundamentally exhausting and banal so much of the time that I really struggle getting motivated. But I know that if I want to have any sex in 2016 (as per my plan), I have to just power through all of that garbage other stuff. This would all be instantly easier if I were a hornier human, but alas.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This is a great idea!
    I have two long-term projects: first, which should be a short-term project but I just can’t, is finish a book that I am reading. It’s kind of for work but no body asked me to do it and I don’t really like the book but I feel like I should finish it for a number of different reasons, but I also don’t really enjoy reading it and it goes very slowly so I’m less inclined to read it when I get some (hard-to-come-by) free time. Second, I am trying to lose the weight I gained (plus some more if possible) while making a kid. I had a really difficult recovery which contributed to my not being able to lose much in the first 5 months and then I wasn’t able to until I stopped breast feeding, so now that I’m done with that, I’m being much more aggressive about it. So far I am down 6 lbs which is not a lot but it’s not 0.
    Short-term projects: Cancel my justfab membership (ugh), get better at my eye-shadow game, plan something for tykeasaurus’ 1st bday for just the 3 of us (that might be technically long-term).

    • Sota says:

      6 is totally awesome. Keep it up!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thanks! It doesn’t feel like a lot, because I was at this weight in late November so it’s half holiday weight and half that my weight fluctuates a lot.

  3. mikaelajm says:

    1. Finish my dissertation by the end of March (short-term goal: finish this chapter by February 1st) hahahaha omg kill me
    2. Run 10K (not “a” 10K because I have no interest in entering a “race” with other “human beings,” thanks) by March 1st

  4. flanny says:

    As I said in the resolutions thread, my goal this year is to write a PEN/Faulkner award winning novel, one chapter a month. Cat drama delayed my January writing, but I have two whole weekends left to finish up this first chapter.

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    My goal for this spring is to finish my archival research. This means I need to go to: NYC, DC, Ann Arbor, MI (so scenic!), the University of Leeds, and a couple of places here in Boston. It also means that I need to get off my butt and actually by tickets/rent cars/etc and get there. Oh, and email all the archivists, librarians, curators, that will have to give me permission and pull the stuff I need to look at.

    My adviser rescheduled my meeting today for tomorrow, so I’ve got one more day to sit and stew.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Are you going to DC to do research at the Library of Congress? When we were there just to see it, Mr. Truck casually asked the librarian what the steps are to get access to something (he was asking about his grandfather’s work in WW2) and she gave us the best, most in-depth answer that demonstrated how much she loved her job and how excited she was to talk to people who are interested in research and learning and I just loved her and all of humanity so much in that moment. I hope you get to deal with someone like that when you’re there!

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I love this idea! I’m terrible at keeping my own deadlines, despite my planner and to-do lists. I have one billion projects, but I’ll pick 3 to finish in the next week:

    1. Make progress on website redesign for work. I started this week, but I want to have it ready to go live by next Thursday.

    2. Design ideas for Orphan Black fan art contest. I have very little faith I can win, so part of me doesn’t even want to try, but I’ll still give it a shot.

    3. Get some stuff organized at home – this involves mini projects – laundry, organizing paperwork, cleaning out the fridge, and returning stuff to the mall.

  7. Sota says:

    So this isn’t a new project, its more of an update on a project Ive had going for a while. About 2 months ago I paid off one of my college loans, so now I have only one left…and its a pretty reasonable dollar amount which feels super awesome. AND! I took the money my grandma gave me for christmas and my work bonus and I paid off my credit card to zero. It has been a while but I am almost completely out from under all of my money obligations. One student loan to go! WOOO! So I guess my long term goal is to finish paying off that loan…which definitely wont happen by next Thurs. LOL.

    • Sota says:

      Oh I thought of one for real. In the next week I need to update my resume, update my linkedin and apply to a job posting I found. I also need to reach out to one of my references who I have lost touch with. GOALS SET.

  8. hotspur says:

    I am finishing up the ebook that I have been working on since 1947, but it occurs to me that this means a lot of ancillary tasks, such as the building of some kind of website where people can go to be reassured that the ebook is not a waste of their e$2.99. So here are my tasks, to complete by February 15:

    1) Build a website that does not embarrass me.
    2) Finalize cover art.

    And by February 7:
    3) Finish reading Dracula, which I started in November.

    I feel like this is already a lot to do, and felt a little worry just typing it out. So thanks, monsters, for making me type it, because now it gets harder to put off until it is too late.

  9. Erika says:

    I have all sorts of long-term projects, I don’t know which to choose, but for the short-term I want to make an iPad case that looks mostly like a regular book and also includes a notepad and pen holder for regular writing. If I have room, I might include some slots for basic ID and credit cards for when I don’t want to carry my wallet. I was planning on going to Joann’s for material today, so now I have more motivation to do it.

  10. oooh, I like this! I always have about 12 projects in my brain that I am doing so I like having the accountability. Here are mine:

    1) Finish my pilot by Feb 1st

    2) My current project is to run every day and see how long I can go until I skip so since today was day 6, be at day 13 by next Thursday.

    3) Actively look for a new apartment (aka – don’t just read Craigslist ads, actually apply and go see them)

  11. flanny says:

    If anyone is looking for a goal to do by next Thursday, the Jeopardy on-line tests are at the beginning of next week.

  12. Two major projects:

    * I entered a print-exchange. So I have to make a series of 23 by May. I want it to be good because I’m doing it with fancy professional artists. So the next few weeks is developing a concept and getting back into printing
    *I want to start a comic of some sort. I need to start drawing and concepting that.

    A simple project for this week: clean my storage room so I can fit another bike!

  13. FRQ says:

    Hopefully not too late to the party.

    1) Long Term: The goals I outlined during the New Year’s Resolutions post. When I made that post, I had a professional certificate in mind, and was getting ready to convince my boss to pay for it. I found out this morning that there’s another certificate that requires fewer classes AND is cheaper, making it an easier sell. One step closer!

    I’m also looking to take some sort of class to broaden my cultural horizon. So far, I’ve taken a couple of tai chi classes, both from different instructors. Neither of them really impressed me, but it could have just been a case of first time jitters, so I’ll stick at least one of them out for a month and see how it goes.

    2) Short Term: So I realized that there’s a Raspberry Pi sitting in my desk drawer, and should do something with it. I decided to make it into a media center for my living room, so I can watch internet-only content on my TV.

  14. gnidrah says:

    OK – my main goal is to learn passable Portuguese by July. This is not going to be easy, because I have a job that basically requires 24-7 commitment, and I am so tired in any moments I do get free, that all I want to do is sit on the sofa and stare into space. But I have to do it if I want my trip to the Rio Olympics to be worthwhile.

    So I need to make a lesson plan, and I need to action it. I have a weekend intensive course booked in for the end of February, but I need to start before then. So short term goal – make the plan.

    That is my realistic project. My unrealistic project is to not be single, but yeah…

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      You should download Duolingo for your phone or tablet. I just checked, and Portugese is in there. You set a daily goal – 5, 10, or 15 minutes. It’s set up in a fun and easy way.

      I’ve been using it to learn Spanish, and am 30% fluent already! And I’ve only been using it for three weeks. I think that might not be the most accurate number since I doubt I could carry on a normal conversation, but I have learned a lot so far.

      • gnidrah says:

        Ha, I have it already! I just have to actually pull my big fat finger out and use it! My problem is that cos I get up so early, by the time I have any time free to practice, all I want to do is eat biscuits and stare out of the window. I’ve lost all the targets I’d gained, but dammit I am going to get them back!

Comments are closed.