How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was okay! There was Thai food and sleeping in and not doing things I fully intended to get done and no snow, thankfully. I hope any of you affected by Snowmageddon have been staving off cabin fever with good books and Netflix marathons.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. My weekend was fun! Saturday was my birthday so I had a pajama party drinking/games night with my friends. Then on Sunday, I laid in bed all day and watched movies because I was hungover. I finally watched Spotlight and Carol and thought that they were both fairly boring! Anyways, now I’m tired.

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    We had a little snow, but nothing we can’t handle. I went with Mr. Dork and Manners (and the sister of Manners) to see “Son of Saul.” It’s about the Holocaust, but if you are in the mood to be depressed, it is probably one of the best movies about the Holocaust I have ever seen. It’s in Hungarian/German/Yiddish/French, god knows what so there are subtitles, but it’s really, really powerful. Before the movie we had brunch and played shuffleboard. Probably not appropriate, but here we are.

    I also caught a cold (boo) so I’m making this spicy chicken soup recipe I found on Bon Appetit. I will keep you all posted.

  3. FRQ says:

    It was good! The comedy show was enjoyable, and I got to see a number of friends. I also caught up on TV, including the new X-Files. I thought it was kind of boilerplate conspiracy theory material. Plus I can’t see Joel McHale as anything other than a comedic figure, so that kind of took me out of it. But it is only going to be 6 episodes, so I will stick with it.

    But the biggest news I got is that I am going to be an uncle! Naturally, the first thing I did was to go online and purchase a Star Wars shirt for the child, as it is important to start them young.

  4. catweazle says:

    The Bowie show was on Saturday and it went well! I went in full Thin White Duke drag while the rest of the band went for a more Ziggy-influenced look, but I was in a shadowy corner at the back of the stage anyway so it didn’t really matter that I didn’t match. So far I have only seen one picture from the show and it’s very blurry so I won’t bother posting it. You’ll just have to take my word for it that we all looked cool.

    Yesterday I watched like a full season of New Girl and also went on a Tinder swiping spree. No nightmares as of yet, though I did come across the profile of NYE guy which just reminded me that he’s supposed to get in touch with me soon to set up a date but I’m starting to think I might just never hear from him again. What a potential loser!

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was good…we got a new TV Saturday and then I went out drinking while Mr. Truck stayed home with the kid.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I wish I would have been more productive. I was even too lazy to go see the Revenant.

    We watched Straight Outta Compton, which was fine. I am not familiar with NWA, but did listen to one of Dr. Dre’s albums at maximum volume from time to time to keep myself awake when I was driving my daily commute to college.

    • In college they announced Ben Folds was playing a show, so my friend and I decided to play him on our radio show. We could only find his cover of “Bitches ain’t shit.” Boy is that song very expletive-laden, especially noticeable because Folds had slowed it down and pronounced everything perfectly.

      That’s really my only experience with Dre beyond “Forgot About Dre.”

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Forgot About Dre is on the CD mentioned above. I specifically remember listening to it after studying all night at the local Denny’s, driving down the Dan Ryan on no sleep to get to school in time for a test.

        I remember that Ben Folds cover! What happened to Ben Folds? I’m sure I’ve heard about him in recent years, but considering how much I loved Ben Folds Five back in the day, I’m surprised I didn’t follow his solo career more. Forgot About Folds!

  7. I slept in Sunday but didn’t sleep well last night, so everything cancelled out. I went to see Star Wars again: fun. I went to the print studio but failed at my print: not as fun. My friend and I tried to go dancing but everything was crowded and two ladies alone on the dance floor just asks for trouble: not fun. My exe’s good friend came over yesterday on a whim and we talked for a good 6 hours: fun, until we got food and then actually talked about my ex. It was a weird weekend.

    I’m also rewatching New Girl from the beginning, which is fun but emotional. Watching people try to figure out their lives while you figure out yours is hard sometimes, even if hijinks ensue.

  8. Commentatrix says:

    Where did my weekend go, even? It was all a blur and I didn’t even do anything that fun. Two different people canceled brunch on me in quick succession, which annoyed me, but I feel like I can’t be that mad about it because we didn’t have “definite plans” (lol) for said brunch in the first place. I did laundry and a bunch of other chores, and I took my dog to his first obedience class, which went well, but I’m worried that this one 6-week course alone isn’t going to fix all that’s wrong with him, i.e. barking and trying to chase after every. single. car/squirrel/bird/person. I also caught up on Man Seeking Woman (high recommend) and the new season of Downton Abbey, which–spoiler alert–is still dumb, in case you all were wondering.

    • old man fatima says:

      Let me know when you finish Downton because I have a lot of things to say about it (I watch it British so I’m already done)

      • Commentatrix says:

        I’ve taken a break of at least two seasons from the show and just decided to watch the last one because why not, so when I’m not rolling my eyes at it, I’m asking clarifying questions, like “Who’s Marigold?” and “Tom’s back? From where?” and “Why did no one tell me my British husband Matthew Goode was on here now?”

  9. Sota says:

    My weekend was pretty chill. Friday night I went and saw Brooklyn. Which was just as Commenatrix said it would be “half boring and half delightful.” I was both bored and delighted by it! So I consider it a success. I yoga-d on Saturday and my back has been sore since, which is making me feel SO old. I did a bunch of laundry, went to a hockey game and a brewery with my brother. I also lounged a lot, watched tv a lot and ate a lot of ELFudge cookies.

  10. flanny says:

    I did a whole lot of nothing. However, last night I decided that I would start watching X-Files from the beginning, since it’s on Netflix. I was a pre-teen I guess when it started, and it was on at 10 o’clock, and I have always been a chicken, so I wasn’t a regular viewer. But I was like, “I’m a grown woman in my mid-thirties. I can watch this show!” I watched three episodes last night and then had to watch an episode of New Girl in order to feel okay to go to sleep. I think I’m not scared of aliens, but I am scared of Courtney Stodden’s husband hibernating in a bile cave for thirty years only to rise again and try to steal Scully’s liver!!!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      You should be more scared about what he did to Courtney Stodden!!! oOOOOoooooOOOO

    • Sota says:

      I am with ya Flans. I totally get creeped out too…even by dumb stuff like Pretty Little Liars. (There is always someone wearing a mask and hiding in a closet or a dark basement on that show. WHY!?) I like to do a Parks and Rec or Friends ep before I fall asleep.

    • I started watching Farscape because it’s on Netflix and I know some of my friends used to like it, and at first it was a pretty typical, cheesy sci-fi show with neat animatronic aliens, and I was like, oh, ok, this will be fun–not realizing that the end of season one/beginning of season two takes a turn into INCREDIBLE DARKNESS (but, like, real darkness, that hits genuine emotional beats, and not annoying, “we’re so edgy and cool” darkness) that is not relenting and I’ve been getting very upset? About alien puppets and people in silly sci-fi makeup? BECAUSE THEY ALL KEEP GETTING PHYSICALLY AND PSYCHOLOGICALLY TORTURED???? I had to keep pausing a recent episode because it was honestly one of the most upsetting things I’ve ever watched. And now I’m invested (and it is actually good) and have to finish it. I thought I was safe!

      • hotspur says:

        I watched the first 3 episodes and then put it aside with a plan to one day binge-watch it. I thought it really tried hard to not be as cheesy as a lot of scifi shows are (I’m looking at you, Andromeda).

        • I’m enjoying it a lot, but it’s incredibly emotionally exhausting. They do a good job of balancing the humor and sci-fi weirdness with the trauma, but still, I’ve had to pace myself.

      • This is both a great recommendation for Farscape but also a reason why I’ll avoid it for months.

      • Erika says:

        I watched it off and on, but was less than enthused with the beginning of the first season because it was sort of boring (I’ll put up with boring scifi as it figures itself out only if it’s Star Trek), but I really should try watching it in full.

  11. hotspur says:

    I saw Hateful Eight finally. I liked it but the audience around me seemed very confused by it. The kid next to me was maybe 16 and he kept emitting a loud fake laugh at everything to show he “got it.” But a lot of the things he laughed at were, like, characters saying the N-word. I don’t think he got it. He was with his parents and during the intermission (!!!!) they seemed to wish he would shush but didn’t know how to tell him. Anyway finally the movie overpowered him and he stopped. When it ended about every tenth person applauded very softly. Most people had more of a “what just happened” look. It is a turbo-bloody drawing-room mystery about America recovering from the Civil War that has Channing Tatum speaking French and no hero, so there’s not a lot of precedent? Maybe it didn’t help that the part where the one guy throws up blood for five minutes is the least bloody part? I liked it, anyway.

  12. old man fatima says:

    I got so much done around the house, which I will tell you all about when we talk about projects. It was a very fully, very exhausting weekend, and I did not emerge from it relaxed and ready for Monday! But on Friday I went to a friend’s house for a wine and cheese party and it was loads of fun. Mr. Fatima stayed home and watched the Revenant, and I told him to let me know how it was, and when I checked my phone at the end of the night I had 120+ messages from him giving me a play-by-play of the entire movie. Some excerpts: “Leonard Decarproo is never not sad or tied to something” “Tim Hardy’s back. He’s going outside to pee. Now he fell down. A Regular Mr Bean.” “It’s winter in this movie and it’s winter in the real world. I feel like I’m wasting my life. I should be watching something fun.” “LeonDxo Decorations has vowed to go after Tims Hardu” “It must have been nice to live in a society where you could just wrap yourself in a blanket all winter, we should do that.” (Note: by the time I got home, he was very drunk) I don’t think he liked it. I’ve been hearing it isn’t a good movie, and I’m really glad that I spent 20 mins reading texts about it instead of 2 hours watching it.

  13. gnidrah says:

    My weekend, so late that no one cares any more! As per.

    Friday night, we went for a Portuguese dinner, basically meat and vinho verde. It was good, but it was a lot to eat before going to dance for four straight hours.

    So now to Eurofest! So great. So hot and sweaty I thought I might melt. The idea is that they play a few hours of classic Eurovision tunes, everyone gets drunk and hyped up, then a previous entrant or winner comes on and everyone goes absolutely nuts. Friday’s entrant was Irish champion Linda Martin. This woman is SEVENTY. There’s been no expense spared on the decor, they basically pinned up a British flag and an Irish flag, and then the Irish flag fell down halfway through. Linda did her classic thing of forgetting the words. She did a tight half-hour and then left. That’s when us girls left the gay club because it was not our party any more.

    London Transport then did its classic thing of not actually functioning after half midnight, so it took me two hours to travel about seven miles home. Cheers! Hence why Saturday was recovery (with an hour spin class to punish myself for previous sins)

    ONWARDS TO MAY!

Comments are closed.