It’s Project Club Time!

Happy Thursday! How are your projects coming along? My track record for the week is NOT GREAT, BOB. Let’s break it down (and last week’s post is here if you need help remembering your goals):

I did make my dentist and car inspection appointments, which is good, because those really needed to get done. I didn’t make it to the bank–not a huge deal because that was my lowest-priority project for the week, but still, I need to go to the damn bank. Rolling that over to the list for this week.

And how about those 5,000 words? Yeah, I wrote NONE OF THEM, because I am terrible. I have no excuse; I just didn’t do it. My punishment for this week is that now I have to write at least 8,000 words to partially make up for it, so, there’s my weekend (and them some) sorted.

Other projects for the week: grocery shopping, mailing out my parents’ anniversary card, and making it through one episode of Farscape without needing to pause and take stock of my emotions.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    My music goal doesn’t officially start until next week but I did buy a little home recording interface so I won’t have to mic my keys anymore! Hopefully my recordings will sound a lot less shitty this time.

    My dating goal is going ok. I think I have to say goodbye to the hope that NYE guy will ever get back in touch which suuucks because I never got to put my face on his face, but whatevs. I have a date with someone from Tinder tonight and I’m not really looking forward to it because he’s been getting on my nerves. We started messaging like two days ago and he’s already called me twice and texts me constantly. We haven’t even met yet, bro! Cool your damn jets. But who knows, maybe he will be the love of my life.

    I failed at my blog goal but it wasn’t totally my fault. I actually did start watching 12 Years a Slave last night but then the aforementioned Tinder guy called me and by the time he finally stopped talking it was too late to finish the movie. Not that I was too disappointed since that movie is brutal and I’ve been putting it off…

  2. Kate says:

    I didn’t officially enter my project last week, but it’s a painting to honor David Bowie and I have made some progress despite my health setbacks. Ok I’ve given the subject matter a lot of thought. Ok I think I’m almost sure I know what I’d kinda like to paint.
    😦

  3. flanny says:

    I wrote maybe 300 words? Uggg, I have one weekend left this month in which to write the entire opening chapter of my book. Will it happen? Yes, it must. To help, local non-profit is sponsoring a write-in on Saturday, and I’m going to remotely participate.

    Other projects for the week include scrubbing my stove top and laundering my bed linens. Also my friend’s birthday is the 2nd, and I bought a card for her months ago, but I need to remember to actually send it. Oh, and I need to buy my tickets to California next week when my paycheck hits my sad little bank account. That’s a very good goal.

  4. hotspur says:

    I took yesterday off to sit in a coffee shop, and somehow I wrote 14,500 words in one sitting (of 15 hours). That is really not my norm. Today I will read it over and learn it is terrible.

    In other news I am very close to watching Emily Rose, I’ve read 6 pages of Dracula since last week, and I have ignored all other aspects of my life including friends, family, and apartment-cleaning.

  5. Commentatrix says:

    Well, my only “project” right now is to finagle my way into a permanent job at my current place. The other day I found out that the company will cover veterinary/pet daycare costs! CAN YOU EVEN. It seems like I’m uncovering a new too-good-to-be-true-but-true perk of working here everyday. THIS IS MY DESTINY.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    You guys, I need to hit refresh on my entire list from last week because I made little to no progress on any of these items.

    Also, Theresa, I have been needing to go to the bank for way too long. Why is it so hard to go to the damn bank? I’m adding that to my list as punishment for not getting more of my projects done.

    1. Make progress on website redesign for work. I started this week, but I want to have it ready to go live by next Thursday.

    2. Design ideas for Orphan Black fan art contest. I have very little faith I can win, so part of me doesn’t even want to try, but I’ll still give it a shot.

    3. Get some stuff organized at home – this involves mini projects – laundry, organizing paperwork, cleaning out the fridge, and returning stuff to the mall.

    4. Go to the damn bank.

    • flanny says:

      Oh cleaning out the fridge is a good one.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I have a similarly hard time going to the bank, and I think it’s because for a long time now, banking has become more and more electronic, so I never really need to leave the house to take care of most things. But on those handful of occasions per year that I do, I resent the chore. Spoiled by the internet, I guess!

      • Yeah, I think this might be my issue too. But there’s a cafe that makes really good sandwiches right across the street from my bank, so maybe if I start rewarding myself with sandwiches I’ll actually go when I need to.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    In the long-term projects, I have lost 8 lbs and I have not read much more in the book I am trying to read.
    Short-term, I did cancel justfab (yay!) and I tried out some different eyeshadows a couple different days to a couple different events and I think I am doing much better. Also Mr. Truck and I are both going to take Tykeasaurus’ birthday off from work and hang out with her doing the stuff she likes. She’s a baby so that’s gonna be chasing the dog and shaking one shoe by the string until it hits us in the face.
    I also accomplished a thing that wasn’t on the list: I talked to my boss about certain aspects of my job and tried to get him to utilize me in more interesting and challenging projects. He didn’t say no, but he didn’t seem happy about it. But whatever his feelings were, he agreed so at least now I can say that we had this conversation.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I didn’t add any new short term projects:
      Mail an amazon return that is due by the 31st but has been sitting in my closet for a full month. I printed out the return sheet and it’s just fucking sitting there like I have a box-mailing phobia.
      Keep getting on my boss about including me in stuff – this is going to be tough because I’m afraid it’s going to involve a lot of just going over and joining when I hear him and another guy working on something which is very difficult for me for social anxiety reasons and always being the nerdy kid and spending way too much of my life going, “so what are you guys up to?” to blank stares and that’s basically what I’ll be doing here (in truth, I should have been doing this for a really long time but just haven’t wanted to push that personal boundary).
      Wear stuff other than what I’ve been wearing all the time to work for the next 5 business days (I’m in a real clothes rut due to the weight and not wanting to spend a lot of money if I hope to not fit in this size for long). Actually, I’m going to count today as one of the 5 because I’m wearing something I haven’t worn in a long time.
      One more long term project:
      Be more patient with people who annoy me when I know their intentions are good.

      • hotspur says:

        I feel like there is a whole, specific story attached to “Be more patient with people who annoy me when I know their intentions are good.”

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Not really, I just find that I’m often annoyed by something and then later I feel bad because that person had good intentions or was just trying to help or something.

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    I’ve done some reading, so I guess that counts as working on research. And I’m going to a conference next week, which will require a ton of networking! I’m not really looking forward to it, but I get to stay at my friend’s place in DC and she is awesome. She’s already picking out restaurants for us to go to.

    Mostly I just need to get some stuff around the house finished up, as we’re having a super bowl party and you just can’t do that with a gross fridge.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      YOU GUYS! I had no idea it wasn’t common knowledge but I just introduced my movie club to the “Pussy Posse” (ugh. gross. sorry). They had no idea that Leo DiCap was the leader of such a group!

  9. Sota says:

    I have done barely anything, but I have thought about doing things. This does not help much. But I am thinking of working from home tomorrow which means I will have a bit more flexibilty to do other things like cleaning and laundry while I am working. I aspire to try to do a few more things than usual tomorrow. Not feeling super motivated guys. But I did decide that I think I want to do this long mile bike race thing over the summer that is local here. So I have a goal to try to make a plan to do more stationary biking at the gym until its warm enough for me to take my regular bike outside again.

    • I bought a small stationary bike for my apartment to stay in biking shape this winter. It’s so boring! I even watch TV while doing it, but I’m still bored. I can do about 30 minutes before I get so bored and stop, unlike outdoor biking where I can go for hours!

  10. Short term: I did not finish cleaning my storage room but I did make a decent dent, then my friend came over and distracted me. Need to finish this weekend.

    Long term: I went to the print studio and made a new print, but it was pretty much a failure. Lots of issues with the ink and the screen. I need to get back in the rhythm. I’m doing a color workshop on Sunday so hopefully that helps. I did not start my comic, but did discuss plot points with my friend so there’s that at least.

    I’m not going to add new goals until next week when I start my job again and my life sort of falls into place a little bit.

  11. flanny says:

    I like these posts because it makes me feel better to hear that other people are just as unproductive as I am.

  12. old man fatima says:

    Let me tell you about my bathroom! It had a gigantic toilet, disgusting rotten linoleum, no bath surround, a pedestal sink, and a bi-fold door that took up half the floor space when opened. Here, you can see how small the floor space was and how tiny and gross the bathroom was. We put in a smaller toilet, pocket door, regular sink so I can have storage underneath, shelves along the top of the walls, tiled the floor, tiled the bath surround (still need to grout), put new light fixtures in, painted the walls, and painted the door and cabinet. I can’t get over how great it looks! It’s like a totally different bathroom, and I’m super proud of it.

    • Commentatrix says:

      LOVE the tile job!

    • old man fatima says:

      Oh, and this weekend we are finishing the basement bathroom’s ceiling and painting the hearth, and also grouting the tile in the upstairs bathroom. Long-term, I went to an accounting association meeting yesterday after work. I will have about a year’s worth of courses, part time, to qualify for the designation program itself. I don’t have time or money to do that until I’m done the house, so I think I’m looking at 1.5-2 years before I start the actual designation program. I’m alright with that.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Mycroft clearly had to supervise the whole project. I shudder to think what it would have looked like without his vision.

    • flanny says:

      Ugg, fatima, you’re ruining the whole “feeling good about being unproductive” thing! JK ILU well done.

  13. HAHAHA oh productivity. I did exactly no writing because it was my birthday so I might have to lock myself away this weekend to even come close to writing at some point before February 1st. I also decided to hold off on looking for a new apartment right now, so there’s that. I DID however complete my goal of going to the gym every day (on day 12 today), but everything else in my life (literally just my job, I don’t actually have a life) is making me miserable and stress eat so that’s not helpful.

    My goals for this week will be to write as much as possible and see how close I come to finishing my pilot. The other big thing is that I just read “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” so I can’t wait to literally throw away everything I own at some point soon. Will it be by next Thursday?? Who knows!!

  14. mikaelajm says:

    February 1st chapter goal: Um… Some progress made.
    Medium term finish diss goal: hahahahhaha kill me
    Run 10k by March 1st: I have done one additional training day in the 5k-to-10k program.

    New short term project: Replace this fucking tail light that’s been out since December and that gives me anxiety every time I drive at night because I’m positive I’m going to get pulled over.

  15. Erika says:

    Well I bought the supplies for my project. I’m pretty stoked for the fabric combination I got, but we’ll see when I actually get around to putting it together. Part of the problem is that I’m not 100 percent sure what I’m doing, so there’s likely to be some trial and error.

Comments are closed.