It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

Damn, a regular week after a short week is BRUTAL.  But here we are, safe and sound in the loving arms of the weekend.  My electrifying plans include getting a haircut, going to Home Depot, and ordering Indian food for dinner.  Actually, I just remembered that I am going to a show Sunday night.  I’m still relevant!  How about you, friends?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. artdorkgirl says:

    They just confirmed that they’re going to start filming the next series of Sherlock in April!!! I’m so excited!!! (also, I’m not doing anything this weekend)

  2. catweazle says:

    I’ve been feeling very grouchy this week so I think I need a do-nothing weekend to recharge. I also need to decide how to break it to the guy I went out with yesterday that I don’t want to go out again. Probably I will text him after a few glasses of wine, which sounds like a lame way to do it but is probably better than my natural impulse to ghost him.

    • old man fatima says:

      Was it your first date? I’d honestly just hold off. It’s not ghosting after 1 date, it’s just deciding you’re incompatible. Don’t ask him out again and wait to see if he asks you out again, and if he does then you can let him know he didn’t push your buttons. No commitments after one date.

      • Sota says:

        I dont know…isnt this the aggressive texter? Typically i would say yeah you can ghost him after 1…but this guy seems like he may keep pestering you and it might be best to just cross him off the list asap.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Can’t there just be a universally agreed upon phrase or set of emojis that just means “It’s nothing personal, I just wasn’t feeling it.” and that person has to never text or contact you again or ask any questions or pretend they felt that first?

        • catweazle says:

          Yeah, the terrible thing is that he is really cute and we had a pretty good time but the texting (and phone calls) are too much and also he tends to conduct a conversation as though he is interviewing me for a magazine which is pretty offputting. Am I a terrible person if I see him one more time for hit and quit reasons and then kick him to the curb?

        • Sota says:

          Sure, see him again and maybe find a nice casual way to mention that he’s just a little much on the conversation. That way you can hit & quit….or if he takes that constructive advice and calms down maybe hit a few more times…

    • FRQ says:

      Has he been texting you since your date? If not, you can say nothing and just go about your mutually ghosting ways.

  3. flanny says:

    This month has been a P.O.S. and I’m so excited to be entering the last weekend. I’m seeing out the month like I saw it in: suffering from PMS. So I’m going to do some yoga tomorrow and then lay low for the rest of the weekend and write my hormones into submission.

    • flanny says:

      Also, I’ve officially looped my New Girl rewatch. I started on Fancy Man Part 1 and then went all the way through what’s on Netflix and started the series back over again, and at lunch I just finished Fancy Man Part 1 again. I don’t have hulu to watch new episodes. I’ll miss you, Nick Miller.

  4. hotspur says:

    I can’t decide if I like sun-dried tomatoes.

  5. flanny says:

    FRQ, what Indian food are you getting? Saag paneer? Tell me everything!!

  6. Commentatrix says:

    I’m going to see Maria Bamford tonight and then brunch tomorrow with some former work friends. They’ll hopefully regale me with gossip about my horrible ex-boss, who this week lost another valued member of his team to us lolol! (I’m hoping that if I keep referring to myself as already part of the company, it’ll come true?) I also want to go see a movie; what’s a good one?

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh nothing that’s out right now looks any good. Hail Caesar comes out on the 5th if you can hold off a week!

    • hotspur says:

      I know you’re an LA monster, so I will alert you to Cinefamily’s current showing of David Bowie films. Man Who Fell To Earth is playing Sunday and I might go. If you want, we can coordinate. http://www.cinefamily.org/calendar/

      • old man fatima says:

        I AM VERY JEALOUS OF THIS.

      • Commentatrix says:

        Think very carefully about what you’re offering here — babysitting a most casual of Bowie fans with no nostalgic ties to the man through her first viewing of one of his films, which came out before she was even born??? Good luck, buddy! But if you’re OK with it, then I could do the 8 o’clock!

        • hotspur says:

          I am ashamed to say I have never seen this movie, so I myself have no idea what I just invited you to.

          I’ll message you at Facebook to spare everyone else the back and forth, but 8 sounds good. If anyone else wants in, go say hi at FB for coordination porpoises.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Wait, I never did figure out the FB group thingy. Is it something I need like an invite for?

        • hotspur says:

          I just sent you a message, I didn’t jump through the official invite hoops. Anyone who wants in, message me at FB in case there are advance ticket purchases. (The theater sells out sometimes.)

        • Fair warning to you both: this movie is WEIRD, even for what you’re expecting of a 70s Bowie movie.

        • hotspur says:

          I put up a thing at Facebook. You’re all invited, but currently it seems the theater is not selling advance tickets. Neither have they marked it Sold Out, so my guess is they plan to make people line up on the sidewalk, OG style.

          Theresa, your warning intrigues me. I was already expecting Level 3 Weird. Now what.

        • old man fatima says:

          I am so excited for the two of you to see this movie for the first time!!! Theresa is right that it’s weird, but in the best way possible.

      • Kate says:

        I so want to see this with you guys. Scotty, beam me to LA.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I HAVE NO PLANS ALL WEEKEND!!!!!

  8. Sota says:

    I am going to yoga tonight. Tomorrow I have lunch plans and to visit a museum that has that cloud of lightbulbs sculpture that we saw on THIS VERY blog a while back. Pretty pumped about that. Will report back. Also, found out a family friend owns a Frank Lloyd Wright house, so going to try to stop over there for coffee on sunday before they put it on the market.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Ask them if it leaks! There was a FLW house in Tulsa that he designed for his cousin. The lady who lived in it said it leaked like a mo-fo and really wasn’t designed for normal living!

      • Sota says:

        Yeah I have always like FLW stuff stylewise, but overall it doesnt look comfortable for real life. Like where are you supposed to watch netflix for 6 hours with chairs that look like this…

      • All of FLW’s designs are super-flawed. His tower at SCJ has been empty since the 70s because it doesn’t have fire escapes. So they just have this weird empty building that hangs out. I really want to go inside, but I guess employees get fired if they do (I asked one I knew).

        • flanny says:

          I just looked up that tower and wikipedia says it only has one 29-inch wide twisting staircase??? Frank! Think about things a little!

        • The part you can still go in is actually gorgeous. I really love FLW for creating really ambitious, interesting designs in the era of glass boxes.

          So effing pretty.

  9. I started my weekend at noon because I had a half day. I got some awesome lunch then I went on my first long bike ride of the year. It was cold and there was wind sometimes, but it felt so much better than my exercise bike.

    Tonight is some band called Hey Marseilles. Tomorrow is an antique fair and a potluck. Sunday is printing. Fuck, I hate being busy sometimes.

  10. Ya’ll this week has been the longest week and it’s not even over yet!! I just want to go home and sleep for three days. However, I think that what I will be doing is writing and watching TV (the 100 if you are wondering) and potentially brunching at some point. And also mostly sleeping.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I’m obsessed with The 100! I started watching the new season in real time! It’s torture!

      • I have a lot of feelings and I literally love every single character except for Abby, who is whiney and annoying and Jaha, who is played by a homophobe that I hate and who also sucks super hard as a character.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Hey, maybe that guy learned some lessons in the years since his exile from Shondaland? But I agree about Abby, but I also dislike every other character. This show is an outlier for me in that I love it in spite of hating almost all of the acting.

Comments are closed.