Monster Community Pool – 2/2/2016

Welcome to the Monster Community Pool!  This is a safe place where we can talk about whatever, but if you don’t have anything in mind and want to converse over something, here is a bunch of crap I found on the Internet that you can discuss.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Monster Community Pool – 2/2/2016

  1. hotspur says:

    “I use the potato as a proxy for the ontological study of the human experience.”

    Goddammit. I was doing this with hashbrowns back in ’09. Sucks to be the first one in the room.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I had to take a drawing class in college. I was studying graphic design and photography, but I have zero illustration skills. My final project was taking a long strip of paper, maybe 5-10 feet long, and spilling coffee on it, putting out cigarettes on it, and smearing food all over it as a “documentary of my day.” It was such bullshit, but I got an A!

      • nastyemu says:

        Nice, that is some Calvin level bullshit. Also, your professor was probably just relieved you didn’t poop that day.

  2. Okay, the problem with the door was not that it was too small to fit Jack and Rose, it’s that together they were too heavy and the door was only buoyant enough for one person. When Jack tries to get on the door, it flips over and sinks.

  3. nastyemu says:

    Can we talk about The X-Files? So far, I wish they didn’t bring it back. I cringed a lot during the first episode, thought the second was mostly pretty good, and really hated the one last night. I think last night could have been pretty good, but that cemetery scene went on far too long and Duchovny seems to be phoning it in. It seems the internet mostly disagrees with me, but a lot of them are also excited about how many (silly)references there were to the original series, which makes me think they’re the same people that cheer when they see Stan Lee cameos.

    • flanny says:

      Instead, do you want to talk to me about the first season, which I’m watching for the first time since I was twelve or whatever? Oooh, boy, it is spooky! Sunday night I was watching an episode and Brad Dourif’s name showed up in the opening credits and I was like, “oh no,” and then Scully’s dad showed up in her living room and talked to her without actually making any noise and then Scully found out he was dead and I was like “OH NO.” I didn’t finish the episode because I was too scared. Good job, X-Files!

      • nastyemu says:

        When Kumail first started The X-Files Files I re-watched the first two seasons and really enjoyed them. So sure, if you want to discuss old episodes let me know which and I’ll re-watch it.

        • flanny says:

          Ooh, I love Kumail and have been wanting a new podcast to check out! Excellent! I’ll be in touch! (In touch by commenting here on this website.)

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I would argue that Duchovny always acts like he’s phoning it in.

      • nastyemu says:

        I don’t think he was in the original series, at least not in the first few seasons. I’d argue that in Californication he wasn’t actually acting.

    • FRQ says:

      I agree with you on the first 2 episodes. As for last night’s, I have mixed feelings. I did sort of enjoy the campier episodes of the show, but you are also right to feel that way about the roughly 7,000 easter eggs. It was irritating, especially since I’m not one of those people who prepped for this mini-series by binge watching all 7 seasons, so much of it went over my head.

      That being said, I didn’t think it was bad enough to deter my viewing of the last 3 episodes coming up.

      • nastyemu says:

        No, I’ll absolutely watch the rest, it’s just annoying that we’re halfway through and my overall feeling is “meh”.
        I just wish they did a better job with that cemetery scene. It started off pretty good and then it was like 15 minutes of exposition, easter eggs, and Duchovny looking as bored as me.

  4. Commentatrix says:

    I’m so glad I sort of have a reason to post this gif I saw on FB!

  5. flanny says:

    I just looked out the window where it’s all rainy and spooky outside, and there was a man walking his dog along the cemetery, but he’d stopped and his dog and behind a tree and I 100% thought for five seconds that he was a ghost looming over a grave. #tuesday

  6. Sota says:

    This afternoon I have been doing work, and also on the side starting a budget just for my upcoming trips. Honestly…could people in my life please stop having far away weddings! You’re killing me! One positive is that I booked for one wedding no joke like a good 4 months ago (the wedding is in April) and i tried to extend for a longer stay and the rate went from 119/night to 312/night! GASP. I am so glad i booked the part previously, the other days I am totally going to find another hotel because yikes.

    • nastyemu says:

      Going anywhere fun?

      • Sota says:

        Yes! One wedding will be a full week in Cali. Bachlorette in San Fran/Napa, then spending a few days with a friend driving down the coast prob Disneyland etc, then the wedding is in Laguna Beach. The other distance wedding is Houston. I am going to blow through my vacation days this year at record speed. LOL.

Comments are closed.