So, How Was Your Day?

Ugggggggghhhh. My day was  incredibly busy and I had to work late and didn’t get any errands done and the guy from the auto body shop still hasn’t called me and I just want to get this stupid dent fixed already and my weekly goals are pretty much in the toilet and I’M CRANKY. Other than that, everything is fine.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. flanny says:

    Medium day. I was super productive on Monday and Tuesday, but I finished up that project so now I’m scrambling to gain traction on a new project so I can get that sweet, sweet productive feeling again.

    But I did indeed buy my plane tickets to California for spring break yesterday, so today my brother and I have been texting back and forth about our plans to go to Disneyland. My brother is 49. We are both childless.

  2. catweazle says:

    Last night I gave Clingy Tinder Guy the boot and I felt pretty shitty about it because other than the too-much-texting thing he was a perfectly lovely guy and he treated me with respect (the day after we hooked up he sent me a picture text and it was not a dick pic but a photo of his TARDIS shower curtain) and we had a lot in common but ultimately I just wasn’t feeling it and I think I probably hurt his feelings. Oops! But I’ve been kind of agonizing over it for the last few days so today I feel light and free! I think after this experience I’m going to put the kibosh on the whole Tinder thing for a while. Too much stress for too little reward!

    • As someone who has been led on multiple times by dudes who are not actually all that interested but like me as a person, it’s really better to kill it early on. So much less pain.

    • FRQ says:

      I believe I mentioned this before, but if your problem with Tinder is the quality of men using it, I would recommend Hinge, as they had better clientelle in my experience. Granted, you are a lady and live in a different part of the country, but I’d say it’s still worth a shot.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I found out some work stuff about changes happening in our dept that might be great or might be terrible for me. I have no idea when I’ll find out if any of it becomes official, and the anxiety is going to kill me. Also my friend might be getting fired so that’s a bummer. But this would potentially happen “sometime this year” so maybe in a month or maybe in 10 months. Stressful. I just want to go to work and work.

    • Sota says:

      I hate when there are no timelines on changes like that. It’s just mean. Then people just have to sweat it for a month to 10 months. UGH.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah, I feel like either don’t tell people or say when. I think part of the problem is that this boss doesn’t actually know which makes it even worse because it might not happen! This happened a year and a half ago when company-wide they said there would be layoffs but gave no timeline and no clue as to what metrics they would use to decide who stays and who goes. It was AWFUL (plus I was in my first trimester and felt like garbage 100% of the time…those were dark days).

  4. Sota says:

    Decent day here. I finished up my major work project last week, and since then I have been struggling a bit to get back into the swing of normal work life. Today has been pretty calm, which is great, so I have cleaned out my desk drawers and put away and thrown away tons of things and made a big pile for shredding. It’s not necessarily work related…but it makes my workday better when my desk area isn’t a mess.

  5. old man fatima says:

    My day has been not the best. Not the worst either, because there are some pretty terrible days out there.

    First, I got my power bill in the mail today and it is BONKERS. I’m going to get locking covers for my exterior outlets. I know it’s insane to think someone might be stealing my power, but even last year when it was -30 for a month my bill was never above 400. My bill this month was OVER ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS, if you can even believe that! I checked the meter, and it was a true reading. It’s been 10 degrees (50F) for like 3 weeks now, so we only have the heaters on in the bathroom and living room. I am a great advocate of putting on a sweater when it’s cold out. It’s just not possible that we used that much electricity this month!

    Then, since we’re going to be renting again once this house is sold, I thought I’d look up my old landlady in case we need a glowing reference, because she adored me. She died 3 months after I left Montreal! I found her obituary. She was well into her 90s when I moved in and still did all the maintenance herself, and did her own groceries, etc. I took over snow shovelling and everything because I was not about to let a 94 year old woman shovel the steps. She lived downstairs and she was the best! She had been a doctor, the only woman in her class, and opened her own clinic. She never married or had kids, just took a series of lovers. She smoked and drank and swore like a sailor, and she’d sit on her porch and chat with me about everything under the sun. I texted my brother, because he only lived 2 hours away so he’d visit loads and he was like her little pet, and asked if he thought she died because I’d been doing all the hard labour for 4 years and suddenly she was 98 and back to shovelling snow. He said “No, but she probably died of heartbreak because you left.” NOT HELPFUL, BROTIMA! Anyway, she lived to be 98 and she was fiesty and active right to the end, so it isn’t really that sad. But it’s still pretty sad! She was the Catticus Maximus of old ladies 😦

    • old man fatima says:

      Oh, but Mr Fatima and I have been cutting out sugar and bread, and this morning we weighed ourselves and have both lost around 10 lbs since Christmas. That’s pretty great! And Mycroft has exited his Holy Terror kitten stage and is calming down loads. He’s getting cuddly and super affectionate, and now instead of humping or attacking Chompsky 24/7 he just grooms her sometimes! What a time to be alive!

    • Commentatrix says:

      RIP Landlady Fatima but what a life well lived! Sounds like she was a real spitfire, a firecracker, a crackerjack, etc. Also, ZAM! that is a lot of electricity! Stealing power from others is a thing that never even occurred to me in my entire 29.5 years, but what other explanation can there be? Perhaps Mycroft is secretly turning all the heat dials on blast when you and Fatiman are out?

      • old man fatima says:

        We did consider the possibility that Mycroft is causing mischief during the day. Turning up the heat, leaving on all the lights, microwaving pizzas.

    • martinmegz says:

      No I can’t believe your electric bill is over a grand! That’s crazy! I thought you’d have to be growing weed indoors or running a server farm to use that much power.

    • Erika says:

      Today I learned how much electricity costs elsewhere in the world. D:

  6. I’m back at my old/new job. It’s been really great, but I know my boss is going to announce she’s leaving later today. That’ll be a bummer. Otherwise, I just feel like I’ve been on a long vacation. My locker was still there, some food I left in the kitchen. Nothing feels like it’s changed. I’m fine with that. I’m just glad to be back at a full-time position and also happy to know that if I get laid off again I’ll be fine.

    Also, it was the first time in 2 weeks I woke up early enough to work out. Boy do I hate doing that, but I guess it’s good for me.

  7. FRQ says:

    My day’s been alright. I found out the studio where I started taking tai chi is flooded and had to cancell all classes today. However, I found out they have a sister studio in another neighborhood roughly the same distance from my apartment. More importantly, it is near a Cook Out, which is possibly one of the greatest chain restaurants in existence. Many chicken sandwiches will be eaten.

    Also I watched the American Crime Story premiere last night. Did anyone else see it? I thought it was interesting, but it was tough for me to process because 1) I am at least somewhat familiar with the events it is based on and 2) the actors. Not only do I know what their real life counterparts look like, but most of those actors are known. It’s hard not to think that it’s clearly John Travolta and not Robert Shapiro (among others).

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I liked it but it was way too close to serious on the campy-serious spectrum. I will continue to watch but wish it was more campy. I would watch a show of Selma Blair and Connie Britton drinking and talking shit all the time.

      • FRQ says:

        Ohhhh, THAT’S who Connie Britton was. I remember seeing her name in the credits but never figuring out who she was. And speaking of hard to separate in my mind, it was difficult for me to think that Selma Blair and Kris Jenner were the same person.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Also John Travolta’s eyebrows should get their own show.

  8. Sota says:

    I am also going to Harry Potter trivia tonight. I am apparently an uber nerd because I brought my time turner necklace and round glasses.

    • My friends and I did HP trivia once and did horribly. It was actually really hard! We are all super fans but there are just too many obscure characters.

      Good luck!

      • Sota says:

        Yeah I have a feeling we are going to get destroyed. We are fans…but not as die hard as some people. I will let you know how it goes.

  9. mordonez says:

    My day has not been that eventful. I had to sit through a meeting in which 15 minutes out of 90 was relevant to me, so that was great (no, I don’t need to hear about international marketing efforts on behalf of products I never touch/use/talk about, but thanks).

    Last night was pretty good, because I got to job#2 and found that the Worst Retail Manager in the History of the World has been shitcanned- her last day is tomorrow, after at least 5 years of horribleness. Could be more, I’ve lost count. A walking demotivational poster who’s motto is, to paraphrase the film version of Glengarry Glen Ross, “ABC– Always…Be…Criticizing”.

    To give you an idea of how she operates, after learning of her departure, she took the time to “write up” at least 3 employees for god knows what—being 3 minutes late 4 times in 3 months, not selling enough membership cards, etc. Yup, better get it on paper to make it easier for the next manager to fire people? W the actual F, lady?

Comments are closed.