How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was nice! I didn’t leave the house once, as planned, and I got some work done on Sunday while everyone else was tweeting angrily about the Super Bowl ads.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. nastyemu says:

    I saw Hail, Caesar! and made wings and steak tacos. All of them were good.

  2. flanny says:

    I ran my 5K, which was not terrible. I walked a couple of times, though. I’ve been running inside in a humid environment so I wasn’t prepared for all the snot in my nose to freeze immediately when I began running outside, so I had some breathing issues. Also, I had to go to the bathroom, so I cramped up a couple of times and walked that off. Even so, I finished in 35 minutes with an 11 minute mile!

    I drove home from Detroit on the backroads (about 2-ish hours), which I’ve never really done before, but it was such a lovely, sunny, warm day! Very pleasant! And then when I got home I discovered that on my Roku I could watch this show called Britain’s Best Bakery, and whatever channel it’s on doesn’t ask you if you want to continue watching. It just continues for you! So I watched literally nine episodes of that show, which is a great way to spend a Sunday, I’ll tell you what.

  3. catweazle says:

    I got back in touch with NYE guy this weekend but he’s being slightly infuriating. I decided to send one “nothing to lose” text and now he’s been talking to me but he only sends me one text a day. But he says things like “I’ve been thinking about you” which indicate continued interest. WTF, pal? Dating is the worst.

    Yesterday I was playing Zelda and listening to records when I got a call from my boss saying that basically our entire overnight team had called out so I ended up working from 7PM to 1AM which was super weird. On the bright side they’re giving me a ton of OT pay and I didn’t have to go to work today.

    • flanny says:

      How peculiar that everyone called out from the Superbowl shift. Very peculiar.

    • Sometimes I wish you could text back what you actually think and not try to be polite when dating. Because my reaction to a text like that would be “Then why don’t you text more than once a day, you weirdo!” With probably some emotional emojis.

      • catweazle says:

        Ugh, for real. And also I fully recognize the irony that I was annoyed that Tinder guy texted me too much and now I’m saying this guy doesn’t text enough. I know all this bullshit is necessary if you want to actually have a love life but it makes me want to vom. I just want to go on some more dates with you and also make out, NYE guy! Why are you making it so difficult?

        • Sota says:

          That line of too much communication and not enough communication seems to be the very fine line of how much you actually like someone. It is the WORST.

        • I have yet to find someone who actually meets my needs in terms of communication. It’s always over or under. Ugh.

        • old man fatima says:

          Ugh I dated a guy like that. He didn’t want anything serious and neither did I, so it should have been perfect, but then any time I’d say something nice to him or reply to his texts in a timely manner he’d be like “THIS IS MOVING TOO FAST I NEVER MEANT TO MAKE YOU LOVE ME.” Cool your jets, friend, I just thought that was a nice shirt and I’m not about to put on a timer before I return a gd text message.

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          “I NEVER MEANT TO MAKE YOU LOVE ME” is the funniest line ever. I hope I get a chance to use it before I die.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I trimmed a nail too short and it’s legit ruining my life.
    I woke up sick Saturday but still went to brunch and then hung out with friends and then went to a show Saturday night (Beauty & the Beast!) which was awesome. Sunday we had a bunch of friends over for the super bowl and I made homemade pretzel balls with homemade beer cheese dipping sauce and both were outstanding!

  5. martinmegz says:

    Well I can’t lie to you guys. My sleep schedule is off and I’m having post-adventure depression so I stayed home all weekend and watched an entire season of MTV’s The Challenge, the best show in the history of television. I did get out to take a walk because it was in the 80s here, just beautiful, perfect weather.

    I’d like to know your thoughts on the halftime show. I thought it was great and enjoyed it, especially because it wasn’t too long. But apparently people hated it? Why? Maybe I don’t put that much thought into things, but if something is entertaining I’m happy.

    • FRQ says:

      I thought it was okay, until Coldplay’s 2nd part of the show where they started with Fix You. I found that half (and that song) to be really schmaltzy.

      Also, the guitar riff on Adventure of a Lifetime makes me want to eat glass.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I thought it was really hard to hear Coldplay at all, so that seemed distracting. Then Bruno Mars, who I do think is talented and usually really fun to watch, but he just sort of danced a little and then they went to Bey. I guess what I’m saying is just let it be the Bey show.

  6. I know that adult coloring books are the big thing right now, but I highly recommend making Shrinky Dinks instead. They are just as soothing as coloring books, but you also get this weird piece of hardened plastic that I guess you can use as a charm or magnet or just a weird piece of plastic.

    So yeah, Shrinky Dink Sunday was a success. My friends brought so much good food and I ate a lot of it. So I definitely couldn’t fall asleep due to intestinal distress. #worthit

    On Friday I got really drunk and tried to play Whirly ball. Never do that. It’s unpleasant.

    • Sota says:

      Do you remember Friendly Plastics? I used to make my mom so much melted plastic jewelry back in the day. I feel like I could bring that back as an adult hobby.

  7. Erika says:

    My boyfriend and I polished off Fear the Walking Dead, which turned out to be only six episodes, so not too hard to get through. It was interesting-ish. It’s not something we’re committed to watching as it comes out (unlike the regular Walking Dead), but I appreciate the one thing (the one thing!) in Hollywood that has Cliff Curtis playing a Maori and not a Latino character.

    • martinmegz says:

      The actress who plays the daughter plays a totally different character on The 100 (Lexa, for anyone who watches The 100 — which you all should!). I was shocked it was the same girl.

      • Commentatrix says:

        So far it’s you, me and Cass who watch The 100 that I know of! Anyone else? I’m keeping a tally.

      • Erika says:

        It makes me worry either about the character on Fear the Walking Dead or Lexa. Since FtWD is so few episodes, and The 100 doesn’t have that many either, maybe she can do both, but seems possible she might get killed off on one of them.

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I don’t care about the Super Bowl, but I did watch an episode of Friday Night Lights. I only have 2 episodes left until I am done with the complete series.

    We watched so much tv this weekend, and once again, I feel guilty about my lack of productivity. Today has been off to a good start in terms of getting stuff done, so hopefully that trend will continue throughout the week.

  9. Sota says:

    My weekend was pretty good. I went and saw Sisters, which I found much more entertaining than I was expecting. I also met with my trainer, so I am trying to be good with food or whatever. Sunday I went to a superbowl party where I just ate food and played with my cousin’s kid who is the BEST KID EVER. And then I drove home in the gross slippery snowy weather which was unenjoyable. Today though…woof. Overall I am just totally crabby pants today because it is already Monday and I don’t feel that great and dumb work issues AND I have a boy issue that is making me annoyed. I would just like to stand up, leave work and go lay face down in bed and avoid life for like 72 hours or so.

  10. artdorkgirl says:

    I got back from the conference on Saturday with so many ideas and new contacts! It was really great to get out there and talk to people who are working on ideas similar to mine. And I really sort of went out of my comfort zone to go talk to people and, hopefully, seem professional. So we’ll see what kind of benefits that reaps.

    We had a pretty great Super Bowl party too! Manners came over, as did a bunch of other people. I made pulled pork in the crock-pot, chili, and guacamole. We only have a little bit of the pulled pork left, so I figure it was a successful party.

  11. hotspur says:

    I went an hour late to a Super Bowl party, thinking I would miss a good chunk of the game this way, but alas, the party had started an hour before kickoff, so I ended up right on time to see the whole thing. That was a bummer.

    But I work in advertising, so they gave us today off (the day after the Super Bowl). I’m home right now, still in the clothes I slept in, and I just ate some sausages! But also, I work in advertising, so they lied when they gave us today off and there is a 50/50 chance they’re going to email some work later today.

    I’ll have to lean in, I guess. (We’re almost done saying “lean in”! It didn’t last too long!)

    • flanny says:

      Wait, men have to lean in, too? Is there anyone who isn’t leaning in?? Can any of us just work a normal amount? Aren’t we tired? What does this mean for all our backs???

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I’m not leaning in. I’m over it. Guess what, we don’t have to have it all! It’s so much easier that way! I have 3-4 baskets full of clean, unfolded laundry.

      • I just listened to the Freakonomics podcast about the wage gap and one woman suggested that men should actually be leaning out and that would make everything better. So, men, stop working so damn hard and hang out with your kids/puppies/kittens/friends/yourself instead!

        • Commentatrix says:

          I HAVE VERY MIXED FEELINGS ABOUT THIS

        • martinmegz says:

          I believe that men should take paternity leave at least in part to help advance women in the workplace. But the statement you quoted is awful because it implies that women aren’t working hard enough and men should ease off to let us catch up. #Nope

        • Oh, I entirely mis-quoted it. The whole podcast was talking about how women do so much work on their family that they tend to not be promoted or choose more flexible careers to fit in all that outside work. Basically, women are working their asses off but it’s not all at work so it’s not being acknowledged, wage-wise. So if men “lean out,” as in actually go home and spend time with their family and spread their focus outside work, then things may even out (they totally won’t). I just like the phrase “lean out,” even if I’m explaining it wrong.

          I’m doing this podcast injustice. It was just an interesting discussion of why women tend to be paid lower and how hard it is to fix that.

    • martinmegz says:

      Hold on, are we supposed to change out of the clothes we slept in if we don’t leave the house? I was never told that was a thing.

  12. old man fatima says:

    My weekend was productive but boring, so I won’t bother. There is a blizzard on right now that may carry over to tomorrow. The office closed at 1pm, but the big boss head lawyer needed some work done and Fatiman (great name, thanks trix!) wasn’t off until 3, so I stuck around. Everyone always talks about how scary he is and how awful he is to work for, but he was delightful! He asked me a lot about what my future plans are too, and seemed very impressed with everything I did. AND THEN, as if this day wasn’t already pretty great, I ran into my lady-work-crush, aka the woman who I want to be when I grow up, in the lunch room. She’s an aboriginal lawyer who takes cases to the federal govt on behalf of the Assembly of Chiefs and she is also an artist and her husband is a chef and they own a gallery together near me, and are buying the place next door to the gallery to open a restaurant. Anyway, she was saying they want to sell their house and move to my area in the spring, and I said oh hey I am selling my house in the spring… So we chatted about it and she said my house sounds pretty perfect and she’d like to come and see it sometime. We could sell the house without even listing it! I don’t want to get my hopes up because it sounds too perfect, but omg maybe it’s just perfect enough!! At the very least I’ll have her over to the house and ask her how I can become her some day. “How can I absorb your essence and take over your place on this earth? And also, please buy my house.”

  13. Commentatrix says:

    I went to try to find a great you’re welcome gif and found this one, which is the wrong tone but the PERFECT you’re welcome gif! It reminded me how much I used to love this character/show and now all I want to do is figure out where I left off. Is this show still on even?

  14. Commentatrix says:

    I spent the entire weekend at my parents’, so my activities were limited to eating, lounging, laundry, helping them with their taxes and listening to them bicker. I also watched the premiere of that OJ Simpson show and it was really good! (The one weak link is obviously Ross Geller and all the dumb Kardashian references, like we’re all just supposed to fall all over ourselves every time we are reminded that Khloe and Kourtney and Kim were once real children with JTT posters on their bedroom walls or w/e?) I found myself very GRIPPED by the story, and I’m excited to learn about this case, which I only know about peripherally, in such a fun way.

Comments are closed.