Let’s Talk About Shows!

One of the tricky things about living in this day, the day of the Golden Age of Television is that there are just so many great shows on TV right now. I feel like pretty much all I do is watch TV and I still don’t feel like I’m watching enough. The DSM VI is going to have “Netflix Anxiety” as one of their official disorders.

Anyways, I thought we could blog meet every Tuesday and discuss our shows.

Basically just an open thread for people to discuss their weekly shows with each other. Here are my thoughts for the week (Spoiler alert for anyone not caught up on these shows):

American Crime (not the OJ one)- if there’s one thing I’ve learned about this show, it’s that every expectation I have gets turned on its head immediately. I definitely think that there’s more going on. The basketball players are clearly hiding something and Kevin is acting a LOT more upset than an innocent person would. My suspicion is that he is the one who drugged Taylor and maybe he and the other basketball guys did something to Taylor after Eric and Taylor hooked up. Because of the drugs, Taylor can’t remember what happened clearly enough to know that Eric wasn’t responsible. This show continues to impress me every week as far as how unique and groundbreaking it is for a major network. However, I’m still not sure how the racial stuff at the public school is going to tie in to the major storyline and because of that, I really don’t care about it yet.

The 100 – I pretty much love everything about this show to the point where I can’t form coherent thoughts about it. I wish I was as cool as Lexa or Clarke or Ravin or Octavia and Bellamy makes me have feelings. I can’t wait for Lexa and Clarke to have crazy hate sex because that shit is inevitable. However, if they killed off Jaha and Abby, I wouldn’t be mad.

Emmerdale – I know that no one else watches my British soaps but this week has been gripping and heartbreaking and I just want to cover Aaron in blankets and hugs forever. I don’t know that I’ve ever enjoyed seeing someone get punched in the face more than Gordon.

Don’t even talk to me about Degrassi: Next Class right now. No show since Glee has done me wrong like that.

I am so far behind on Supernatural and The Flash right now, I need to just skip work for a week and catch up on everything.

Anyways, what are you all watching? Let’s discuss!

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Let’s Talk About Shows!

  1. catweazle says:

    I think the only shows I’m even semi current with are Brooklyn Nine-Nine and New Girl. B99 continues to be delightful! And I watched all of the episodes of the current season of New Girl in one go the other day and it’s good so far! I knew Jess wasn’t going to be on most of the season because of Zooey being pregnant but I didn’t realize Coach was going to be gone too! I never really thought his character fit super well on the show when they brought him back so I’m not too disappointed about it. I am a little annoyed that they got rid of yet another of Winston’s love interests after like two episodes though. Let Winston be happy! Let his girlfriends be real characters!

  2. I’m a week behind on Agent Carter, so I’ll probably watch tonight’s and last week’s at once tomorrow. I really do love that show.

    Currently I am on a binge of New Girl, about 3 episodes left in season 4. After that, I’ll catch up on the latest season. It’s been weird, but lately I haven’t kept track of any television show weekly. I still love Bob’s and Brooklyn Nine-Nine, but haven’t watched in a bit (though it seemed like neither has had new eps in a while?). I think I’ve officially converted to a binge lifestyle, especially since no one at work talks about shows really.

  3. Sota says:

    I mentioned it a bit yesterday, but i finally caught up on Vampire Diaries. It is actually getting good again. Half the reason I even watch this show is so that I can read Price Peterson’s tv.com photo recaps. Pure entertainment. Apparently they moved it to air on Friday nights though, so thats pretty much the kiss of death isn’t it?

  4. FRQ says:

    You are 100% correct about “Netflix Anxiety”. In fact, I would amend the term and call it “Netflix/FOMO Anxiety” (or NFA™)

    I finally got around to watching Louis CK’s surprise show, Horace and Pete. I respect Louis and he can do whatever he wants artistically, but I found the first episode to be really irritating. I know we live in a cruel world and not everything is sunshine and rainbows, but the amount of disdain and awkward political conversations really turned me off, and I found getting through it to be a grind. I’m also not a fan of the way it was formatted to be like a play.

    I also watched the first episode of Full Frontal last night, and it was fine. I am hoping that it doesn’t end up being the female version of “The Nightly Show”, because that will get really old really fast. Fortunately it will air weekly, so she’ll have plenty of time to craft better segments. Also, having a weekly show means I suffer less from NFA.

    Other than that I’ve been watching all of our regular programs: B99 (delightful), New Girl (solid), Agent Carter (a lot of fun), and The X-Files (uneven). I still need to watch the last 2 episodes of the Expanse, and I am still interested enough to continue with American Crime Story (The OJ one). I am also looking forward to the return of Broad City.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m happy The Expanse got renewed for season 2, it’s an interesting show. They must have a huge budget to make all those sets, it’s crazy how except for when they’re on a spaceship, most scenes take place in a new location.

  5. nastyemu says:

    Portlandia came back. I like when shows come back without me knowing about it, and you see it there on your dvr. My life is very exciting. It’s been hit or miss like usual, but the one where Fred moved to Austin was very good.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    So much TV, so little time!

    – iZombie continues to be great.
    – I’ve been watching old episodes of Law & Order. It’s been so long since I’ve seen the reruns, that it’s almost like watching new episodes.
    – Our DVR is about to blow up – Walking Dead and Better Call Saul return soon.
    – I’m in season 4 of How I Met Your Mother.
    – Only 2 episodes left of Friday Night Lights. I’ve been kind of delaying watching them because then it will be over, and I’m surprised I like this show as much as I do.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Also, I’m not sure why I continue to DVR Crazy Ex Girlfriend. I get what they are going for, but I don’t really like it. Or maybe I just don’t like the characters. The AV Club gives it rave reviews, and while there are a few laughs per episode, I don’t think it’s THAT good.

    • martinmegz says:

      FNL! Texas forever, Street. I love it so much. I’m doing that same thing with Jericho, holding off watching the last 3 eps.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am watching The Bachelor and I don’t care what that says about me! It’s a stupid show and I love it very much.
    I watched The OJ show and I’m going to keep watching even though it took itself a little too seriously for my taste.
    I’ve watched two episodes of Billions and I am of mixed feelings on it.
    We still watch @midnight almost every day and it’s great.

    • mordonez says:

      FYI, there is a newish Bachelor-related podcast called Rose Buddies from one of the almost always funny McElroy brothers (in this case Griffin and his wife Rachel). I’m going to assume it’s good, but I don’t watch that show.

      https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/rose-buddies/id1078467060?mt=2

      For me, @Midnight is super hit and miss. Some nights it’s great, some nights it’s 22 minutes of the laziest, sub-Tosh level dick/pot jokes ever.

    • martinmegz says:

      I get so excited on Mondays because I truly love The Bachelor! Leah is such a snake! What she did was so desperate and pathetic. I think Olivia lacks self-awareness but otherwise she wasn’t a horrible person, just way too confident and annoying. I read that she posted on Facebook claiming the “Teen Mom” comment was organized by the producers, which makes me less sympathetic to her because that’s a stupid defense. “They told me to say it and I did.” Okay, you still said it dummy.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        What was up with Leah??? That came out of nowhere!!! What a weirdo!!!

        My favorite Olivia moment was “So a family friend just died.” “Can I steal you away for a sec? Oh hey I have cankles WAHHHHH!”

        • martinmegz says:

          I can understand that the situation makes people nuts, but that was some truly manipulative, crazy stuff from Leah. I loved Olivia saying how much she likes talking about “smart stuff” and “intellectual things.” She really though she was better than everyone else.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          One thing I know about “smart stuff” is that it’s best to discuss it when you’re also talking about “intellectual things”!

  8. mordonez says:

    The Magicians. Hoo boy am I conflicted about this show. It’s based on a series of books that I REALLY liked, so in one sense, it’s nice to see that world realized.

    However, while the author has said that he was involved, and the show runners are big fans of the books, and so forth, they are absolutely RACING through the plot of book 1 and at the same time they keep changing EVERY GODDAMN THING.

    That’s now how that happened, that’s not when that happened, that’s not who it happened to, that’s not that character’s temperment, those two characters were one character with a different name in the book, these people are all 4 years older than they should be…it doesn’t let up.

    I mean I get it, it’s an adaptation, but why does every little plot point have to change, unless it’s a butterfly effect situation where one change necessitates all these others. I’m trying hard to like it as its own thing, as I suppose that will be good practice for Game of Thrones (dammit, George), but in my considered opinion, “I dunno man…”.

  9. martinmegz says:

    I love television! The Fox Tuesday night comedy block is great: New Girl, Grandfathered, B99 and The Grinder. Timothy Olyphant’s recurring role on The Grinder makes me so happy because Raylan is just so hot. The 100 is a fantastic show that I recommend everyone check out, the first season should be on Netflix.

    MTV’s The Challenge is almost over this season but seriously you guys, it’s the best show on TV and you should watch some old seasons on Hulu. It’s 25% reality show drama and partying, 25% strategy and social game, and 50% intense physical challenges that I could not even come close to accomplishing. And 100% awesome! On a totally opposite note, I love Madame Secretary. Tea Leoni is effortlessly cool and smart and the show makes foreign policy exciting.

    In scifi news, did anyone watch the first season of the Expanse? Is anyone watching Second Chance?

    • nastyemu says:

      Is The Challenge like the old Real World – Road Rules Challenge? Because if it is I AM IN! That show was the best and I miss it very much. I briefly had a replacement for it with Bachelor Pad, but that’s gone in favor of Bachelor in Paradise which is not nearly as good.

      • martinmegz says:

        Yes! Except now they bring in rookies from Real World and Are You The One, with some fresh meat seasons. TJ Lavin is the host and he’s so great.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I almost forgot about Project Runway Juniors. I figured this spin off would be terrible, but the kids were not only the best designers I’ve seen on there in a while, but they were also such great people! They were so happy to be in a room with a bunch of other kids that were into design, so they were really supportive of each other, instead of bickering.

    I love a good reality show cat fight, but sometimes I just want to watch people make clothes. This was a great season, and I highly recommend it to anyone that likes fashion/Project Runway.

    Flanny, did you see the finale?

  11. I need to catch up on The Expanse, and on Brooklyn 99, which I save for days when I want/need a happiness binge. I also might check out American Crime, The OJ Version, because I keep hearing that it’s really good.

    Otherwise, all I’ve been watching is Midsomer Murders on Netflix, and by “watching” I mean keeping it on as background noise while I’m doing other things, because it’s a zillion seasons long and I’ll never run out of increasingly inexplicable English countryside murder. I did catch a baby Henry Cavill on one episode yesterday, though!

    And I had to take a break from Farscape because it was seriously making me too upset. Dear god, that show is bleak.

    • old man fatima says:

      The people who are telling you that the OJ show is really good are dead wrong, but it is super entertaining! It’s our generation’s answer to a Lifetime made for TV movie, and that is high praise.

      • Oh yeah, I definitely got the sense that they meant “good” as in entertaining, not of actual high quality.

      • Commentatrix says:

        I don’t know, I kinda disagree? This show isn’t pure camp like most other Ryan Murphy ventures. I do think it’s hilarious how hard they work to make all the TRU-LYF references land with MAXIMUM IMPACT, but gimme a break Cuba Gooding and Sarah Paulson are literally SO GOOD SO FAST!

        • old man fatima says:

          Sarah Paulson yes, always and forever, but Cuba Gooding Jr just yells all of his lines! THE JUICE AIN’T GOT TIME TO WHISPER.

  12. Commentatrix says:

    Guys, I don’t know how it happened, but I went from watching zero CW shows to four CW shows in a single year! The 100 is better than it has any right to be considering how bad all the “teen” actors are; iZombie is basically Veronica Mars Lite, and I’m OK with that; and Crazy Ex and Jane the Virgin continue to be goddamn delights (as does Man Seeking Woman)!

    Re: American Crime – I could be remembering wrong, but I thought they didn’t find any drugs in Taylor, and that’s why the situation is so complicated? I.e. Eric didn’t set out to rape Taylor, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t a rape, etc. Ultimately, I’m sure this season will be as frustratingly ambiguous (and probably as depressing) as the first.

    BUT WHERE MY GOOD WIFE BITCHES AT. I am not ready to say goodbye to this show so soon! You’re gonna let us get all excited about Alicia and Resident Idealized Middle-Aged Male Love Interest Jeffrey Dean Morgan finally hooking up (this is what I call kissing more than once) and THEN you’re gonna announce this season will be the show’s last? You’re really gonna do us like that, The Kings?? Flanny, where even are you right now, MY GOD!

    • I don’t think they ever did a drug test. I feel like by the time he went to the police, any drugs that were given to him would have been out of his system so we just have Taylor’s word that he was drugged, which makes it more complicated. I still don’t think this is all going to fall on Eric, it’s too early in the season for there to be a clear guilty culprit yet.

      • Commentatrix says:

        I could have sworn that at some point they said he came back negative for GHB, but you may have a point that it would have been too late after the fact to know for sure if he’d ever had it.

    • flanny says:

      Oh hi, I’m here! The only thing that makes this Good Wife news okay is the news that Cary Agos will be returning to Gilmore Girls. LOGAN 4 LYFE. But seriously, I hope this means the early seasons will be available on Netflix soon, because I love them so.

  13. old man fatima says:

    I am living for that OJ show and I can’t wait for episode #2. It takes itself exactly as seriously as I’d like it to, by which I mean “way too seriously,” and I had so many legit LOL moments. Every single time OJ refers to himself as “the Juice,” which is 100% of the time, is the funniest thing on television. And when David Schwimmer is like “Oh my god… the white Bronco is missing” ARE YOU KIDDING ME WITH THIS, THIS IS SO GOOD.

    I’ve also been watching Tudor Monastery Farm, which I think I’ve talked about on here before and you all need to get with it. It’s a group of British archaeologists and historians who try to run a farm like they would have in the Tudor days. I love it because it’s neat, but I extra love it because they are such unabashed, shameless, unencumbered NERDS about it all. There is one guy who is the folklore expert and I want him to follow me around everywhere telling me about everything, he is such a dork. You guys need to go download this baby (lol I mean buy it on Amazon?) asap, I am telling you.

    • I hadn’t heard of Tudor Monastery Farm, but oh, I am THERE.

      • old man fatima says:

        There is a whole series. Edwardian Farm, Georgian Farm, Victorian Farm. Victorian or Edwardian Pharmacy too, I can’t remember which. And one about WW1 farming and another about building castles. They’re all great!

  14. flanny says:

    I just this evening began the second season of Britain’s Best Bakery on “ShineNow” on my Roku, and I’m bummed because now the two judges don’t go into the bakeries themselves and that was my very favorite bit! I’m still going to watch because it’s still fun, and I’m very happy about who won season one. No spoilers, because that show was from 2012 and on a weird off-brand streaming channel, so I’m sure all of you would be just so mad at me. (Also, the “male judge” reminds me of my boss, both in appearance and in mannerisms and it’s weird.)

  15. FRQ says:

    While we’re talking about TV…

Comments are closed.