The Sushi Burrito: An Investigative Report

Last week, I travelled to Washington, D.C. (our majestic capital) for CAA, the annual artists and art historians conference.  Although I learned A TON and forced myself into some awkward situations with my peers, it was a little:

giphy

NERDS!

So, my friend Debby and I decided to explore the boundaries of culinary science.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the SUSHI BURRITO:

IMG_476409541

This is the awesomeness that arrived surprisingly quickly at my table.  But first, let’s talk about how this magic happens.

In an order very similar to Chipotle, you walk up to the counter where you can either make your own sushi burrito (hereafter referred to as a “sushrrito”) or order a set menu item.

IMG_476409207

She was so excited, she couldn’t contain her happiness!

Here, my lovely assistant Debby poses next to the ordering station (sorry I caught you with your eyes closed, Debs!  The chef was looking at me and I felt weird taking pics in a glorified Chipotle!)  I went with the UB Crunch, which included tempura shrimp, avocado, spicy sauce, cucumbers, and a few other things I can no longer recall.

IMG_476410103

This is half of a ‘rrito

The sushrrito is essentially an uncut sushi roll, but thicker, so there’s more room for fillings.  This means there’s much more of those sushi flavors you love, plus there’s no reason to worry about chopsticks!  The one drawback, at least to me, is that if you like a bit of soy sauce, you have to pour it on rather than dip, or you’ll lose some fillings.

But the ultimate test comes down to this: is it any good?

IMG_476410707

My verdict: Yes! The fish was fresh, the tempura was crunchy, and the spicy sauce was pleasantly spicy without being overwhelming.  The restaurant was clean and didn’t smell fishy at all and the guys behind the counter seemed to know what they were doing.  We got there a bit early, so I could see quite a line forming as they cut/cook/assemble everything to order.  The prices were fair as well.  I think my sushrrito and a drink cost me about $12?  And I was full, but not overstuffed.

This is a food mash-up I’m totally on board with!

 

About artdorkgirl

Amanda is working on her PhD at Boston University, where she is educating herself out of any useful career. She enjoys art, cats, and arguing about historical figures.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Sushi Burrito: An Investigative Report

  1. FRQ says:

    Hmmm, I’m going to DC next month for a wedding. Maybe I’ll stop by and give this place a shot. Is it called Rolls By U, or is that just their motto?

  2. Kate says:

    That does sound good. I can’t resist the sushi.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Thank you for sharing. It looks delicious!

    I looked into finding a place like this in Chicago. A bunch of articles come up that there are sushi burritos here, yet I do not see the burrito option when I look at their online menus.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am going to find one here. I will eat a sushi burrito! Even if I have to make it myself!

  5. old man fatima says:

    Oh man, I bought a big thing of sushi nori because I like it in soups, but I could totally make a sushi burrito with it instead!!

Comments are closed.