So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good! I had to work late, but I still managed to clean and work out and make my lunch for tomorrow, like some kind of real goddamn adult. Otherwise I remain, as ever, tired and sick of winter.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    An update to the hugely boring and stupid NYE guy saga: I discovered yesterday that my phone has been receiving texts with significant delays for about a week so it’s possible he was not being obnoxiously slow to respond as I originally thought. In fact it’s entirely possible that my phone is also delayed in sending texts thus making me look like the slow responder! So I just texted him basically “I was going to be smooth about this but my phone sucks: want to get together again?” Please kill me, I’ve become someone who spends all day worrying about texts.

  2. old man fatima says:

    The lawyer who maybe wants to buy my house looked at some photos and wants to come and see it in person when it’s all finished in March! I’m still trying to not get my hopes up but aaaahhhhh maybe I will sell my house in the spring without even having to pay realtor’s fees!!

    Also, she was talking today about a project she’s working on that will lay the legal groundwork to enable First Nations communities to develop and implement their own social welfare programs independent of the Federal government. That is literally exactly what I studied economics to do! So maybe I do want to become a lawyer after all??? Ugh, life is difficult. I need to take her out for drinks and ask her so many questions and give her carte blanche to make all of my decisions for me.

    ALSO also, Fatiman got a wisdom tooth out yesterday so we’re on soup for the foreseeable future and I’m already starting to crack after only 2 days. I normally LOVE soup, I think it’s just because I’m not choosing to eat it. Like, I would probably choose to eat it anyway, but I have nothing else to eat so I want to throw it out of the window.

    • martinmegz says:

      Fingers crossed on the house! This might be a stupid question but why do you have to eat soup? Is it a solidarity thing? Would he care if you ate solid food?

      • old man fatima says:

        It’s just easier. We cook on the weekends for the whole week, so this weekend we just made a bunch of soups. I suppose I could buy my lunches, but ugh spending money.

  3. I had a great chat with my soon to be former boss this morning. I’m sad she’s leaving, but I’m excited for all the things I’m going to try to do at work. Be proactive and all that. It’s nice to have goals again and not be floundering in a sea of confusion and existential angst.

    Trivia got cancelled so instead I’m going to drink a bunch of cocktails with my coworker. Good wednesday.

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m headachy and gross today, but I set up my research trip in New York for the last week of the month. I figure I will need at least 2 weeks in New York, but this is a good start.

    It’s snowing again and I’d really like a nap.

  5. martinmegz says:

    I read this fascinating piece about how female contestants on Jeopardy! get the most disgusting comments from men after their shows air. This never occurred to me, I can’t believe this happens. Now I’m starting to understand how Trump is leading in the polls, the world is filled with garbage people but I’m lucky enough mostly to avoid them. https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/big-tits-for-600-the-ugly-sexist-aftermath-of-appearing-on-jeopardy

  6. mikaelajm says:

    Theresa, did you really accomplish all those things by 2pm?? If so I am VERY impressed.

    My day has been okay. I had 2/3 of a beer with lunch.

  7. Sota says:

    I have a friend’s bachlorette coming up in April and I just found out that we are requested to wear lavender for the party. HUH?! I don’t even own anything lavender. And guess what…everything that is lavender is totally fancy bridal. Geez. I found one single dress that I don’t hate in lavender…and I ordered it just purely because its the only one I found that I like. I may end up returning it but why am I ordering a new outfit for a single day event??? Oh right. Friendship.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am sick and I just want to feel better! I was just typing up how at least I didn’t have much to do today but then my boss and the EVP of our dept came over and we talked about a bunch of stuff so that kind of gave me a ton more shit to do.

  9. Commentatrix says:

    I am incredibly sleepy today even though I’ve been pumping espressos into myself all day long. But I’ve been feeling really good about my work project this week; it actually feels like it’s slowly coming together! I’m meeting with my boss on Friday to discuss the progress, and if there’s time, I also kinda want to ask her about this new job listing I saw on the company website (in her department) that I feel like I would be perfect for, even though a while back, in the context of my having applied to a different but similar position, she very tactfully told me that that particular category of jobs was usually intended for candidates with a little more experience than I had. But like, nothing in the actual job description sounds like anything I don’t already know how to do, nor is there a “minimum x years experience” requirement listed? I feel pretty confident (which is not at all like me) that I could totally handle it! How can I reopen this conversation without seeming entitled and/or presumptuous?

    • flanny says:

      How “a while back” is “a while back”? And did the other position have minimum requirements, etc?

      • Commentatrix says:

        It was maybe a handful of months ago when I was definitely still employed and looking for jobs on the sly. The other position didn’t have any minimum requirements either and also sounded like something [I thought] I could totally handle.

        • flanny says:

          I think it can’t hurt to bring it up! Now she’s been working with you for a while and she knows how you work, so I’d go for it.

    • old man fatima says:

      You’re working contract, right? Just bring it up to her. “Hey, my contract is up, and I saw the posting for this position. I think I can handle it because blah blah, what do you think?”

      GOOD LUCK!!!!

  10. flanny says:

    Uggg, I leaned in a little today and spoke up in an all-employee meeting, but now I’m wondering if I came off looking like a jerk. Basically my boss was giving a presentation saying that we didn’t do enough of something (which I 100% agree with), but after someone asked a clarifying question, I answered saying, “Well, we do do a little of that thing, and here’s an example, but we should be doing more.” But after the meeting Creepy Guy At Work came up to me and was like, “Way to stand up to your boss like that and tell him that you do that thing.” But I didn’t think it was standing up to him; I was agreeing and giving examples of what we do that we can expand on. So now I’m like, fuck, should I not have spoken up? I feel like a lot of the old timers here think it’s cool to not like our boss, but I think my boss and I are on the same page about a lot of things and I like the direction he’s heading in, so I don’t want him to think I was speaking up because I don’t support him. Like, can we all just be a team and not worry about individual pettiness? Ugggggg, work politics are almost as aggravating as real politics!!

    • Commentatrix says:

      Nah, it just sounds like Creepy Guy At Work is either desperately projecting his own feelings onto your actions OR is deliberately trying to instigate discord, which, yeah, we all knew that guy sucked, so we shouldn’t be surprised by either scenario.

    • I bet you were totally fine and Creepy Guy just seized on whatever he could as an excuse to talk to you/give you what he perceived as a compliment. I’ve noticed that used as a(n unsuccessful) flirting strategy many times–making a big deal out of, or reading WAY more into, something totally innocuous that the person they have a crush on said because they think it will make them feel flattered instead of self-conscious and weirded out.

  11. Sota says:

    Chicago Monsters. I will literally be planning a trip to your city in order to partake in this, should it come to fruition. Zack + Kelly 4EVA!

    https://www.facebook.com/events/942955415760073/

Comments are closed.