It’s Project Club Time!

How’d you do this week? (Here’s the link to last week’s post.) I ordered the stuff I needed and wrote 1,200 words (bleh–but again, that’s less bleh than zero words). I didn’t go to the grocery store because the weather has been terrible, but I really must go soon because, you know, I’m running out of food. So that’s less of a project than a thing I need to do to survive.

For this week: 5,000 words, still–what can I say, I’m an optimist–doing a deep clean of the apartment, INCLUDING VACUUMING, SELF, and working out at least once. I will truly have no excuse and live with my shame forever if I don’t manage to do that one.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    But did you go to the bank???

  2. mikaelajm says:

    I’m on week 2 of zero progress on any projects! Well, I did some revisions on a chapter, but nothing tangible.

    I am going to do a 10K training run this afternoon, though.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have yet to complete any of my original goals, but did finish my new goal by getting the first draft of my freelance project to the client.

    1. Work website will hopefully be ready to go live by Monday.

    2. I did not submit anything for the Orphan Black contest, and the contest is now over. I’m disappointed that I didn’t even try, but I have enough other stuff to do that I won’t be dwelling on it. This project is being replaced with a logo design I have to finish before March 2.

    3. Get some stuff organized at home – – laundry, organizing paperwork, cleaning out the fridge, returning stuff to the mall. Still have to do these projects. Laundry is an ongoing task, so I have been doing that, but I’m hoping I can get myself to the mall this weekend since it will be warmer than usual. Maybe the weather will motivate me to get out of the house.

    Theresa, have you made it to the bank yet? I still have not gone, but will try to go when running other miscellaneous errands.

  4. catweazle says:

    I did pretty much nothing this week which is terrible. I was planning to do a lot of work on stuff over the weekend but then I went out Saturday night and was too hungover to do anything on Sunday. And between working a bunch of overtime and going on bad dates (just one but it felt like 100) I’ve been lazy with my free time. The only thing I really accomplished was writing a piano part which puts me at four partially written songs out of the 10 that I’m supposed to have recorded by the end of the month. Something tells me failure is in my future!

  5. FRQ says:

    Still watching videos. No new mnemonic devices. Sorry guys,

  6. hotspur says:

    I knew that I had failed in a bunch of things I said I would do by Feb 15, but I had to click back to see the list… and click back… and click back… I thought maybe I set my Feb 15 deadline around Feb 3, but no, I found it in the January 21 version of this column. Go, me, I am the worst. So to update you:

    1) Build a website that does not embarrass me — NOT ATTEMPTED
    2) Finalize cover art. — MOSTLY DONE! But the cover artist did all the work, I just said “Yes.”
    And by February 7:
    3) Finish reading Dracula, which I started in November. — I READ 15 PAGES

    I did other stuff, so I don’t feel terrible. Just worried, because how is my life skating by so fast? Ugh. At least I did write the next movie review. I just didn’t caption up the screen grabs yet. Hopefully you will get to read it tomorrow or Monday.

    • flanny says:

      Ugg, see I feel like 2016 has been going on for 44 years. How am I not retired and living in the lap of luxury by now? I wish I had a click remote so I could fast forward over eight hours of my day. (The work hours.)

  7. flanny says:

    I read a few chapters of Kavalier and Clay, and I also wrote a bit. Even more exciting than writing a bit is that I made up family trees for my characters, which is the most fun thing for me. It’s when I feel the most in tune with my true self. Workwise, I wrote and sent out the emails but literally only got one click through and an open rate of 17%. So I did my task, but feel very demoralized about it.

    On Sunday I start my big time-consuming project that’s going to run for the next month or so. I’ve made some changes to it (like promoting students to managers) so that I’ll be less frenzied about it and also so that I’ll have time to work on other things. So my goal for this weekend is to not have any stress nightmares about the project. I had one on Tuesday, so I hope it’s out of my system.

  8. Sota says:

    Here I will outline last week’s plans with the results next to it. Overall…4/7 were improvements. I am okay with that.

    1. Follow up (again) on professional dollars and certification plans – Result: YES! I DID THIS! It requires a bit more follow up, but its in motion.
    2. Write in my journal – Result: NOPE
    3. Closet clean out (long term) – Result: NOPE
    4. Book hotel for friend’s June wedding – Result: YES!
    5. Book plane ticket for other friend’s April wedding – Result: YES! And hotels!
    6. Make a haircut appt to deal with my split ends! (ugh winter!) – Result: YES!
    7. Here is the biggie goal: Starting tomorrow…NO MORE TREATS AT WORK FOR A WHOLE WEEK. Result: Guys…it was so much nope its insane. I literally made this goal last Thursday and then someone brought in free donuts on Friday morning and I ate TWO. It didn’t even last 24 hours. And those donuts…well…

    • Sota says:

      Maybe for my to-do list I should have my Saved by the Bell Hawaiian Vacation movie recap post. Because I took screenshots of the first half of the movie and I have a partial draft…and I just know you guys want to see it. Kelly’s hair alone is great. Giant bangs! Crimping!

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Here is what I said I’d do and the results:
    Three days with the baby while mr. truck is out of town – so far so good but the in-laws are watching her tonight while I attend a work event but at least she’s taken care of.
    keep watching New Girl – done! Watched the fancy man episodes last night including one where they play True American and it’s just so funny.
    Great idea for a work project – wonder what that work project was…? I bet I did not have a great idea for it. So it goes.
    Here are a couple other things I did that were not on a project list (yes, I’m the kind of person who adds things to her To Do list after I’ve done them just so I can check them off): alter a pair of jeans (woot, they look great!); fit into pre-pregnancy jeans (not sure I can sit in them or actually wear them anywhere, but they’re fucking buttoned and that’s good enough for me); continue to wear a fresh outfit once a week

    Here’s what I’m going to do this week:
    make a decision about whether to ask to be put on a specific team when my dept reorganizes (if it happens) this year/come up with long term work contentment plan (aka get plan to be less pissed off at work)
    My mom is in town this weekend so have fun with her
    Make a plan to go out with a girlfriend (or by myself) in the next two weeks.

    • Sota says:

      Good point. I need a plan to be less pissed off at work too. Not sure where/how/when that will happen.

      ps. Buttoned counts! Even if sitting is not possible…buttoned counts!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thanks, I know, right!
        As for being less pissed off at work, I’m trying to figure out a two-prong approach – what can I change about my attitude/feelings and what can I ask the dept/people to change.

    • martinmegz says:

      one two three four JFK FDR

  10. old man fatima says:

    I got lots done at work and lots done around the house, but I still feel like I need 100 more hours every day to get everything done!

    This weekend I’m starting to paint the trim and the two wood-panel walls (I painted them cream when I bought the house because YUCK, but they need touch ups and I’m not about to buy an entire can of paint for like three little spots so I’m going to paint them white because I have a can of white already), hang the chandelier we spray painted bright yellow last weekend, and finish the trim around the front door. We were also going to put down a new kitchen floor and buy the trim for the bathrooms, but that insane power bill has knocked the wind out of our spending-any-more-money-right-now sails.

Comments are closed.