How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was good! I got a lot done and was lulled into a false sense of security by the nice weather (I even went outside!).

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    I’ll kick this off on a high note! I went to college in Kalamazoo and currently live about 20 minutes away in Battle Creek, where the victims in the Crackle Barrel parking lot were from. Like, the route that he took while he was with Uber drove past my college campus and he was arrested a couple of blocks from the house we rented senior year. So yesterday was very surreal. It’s so sad, and really jarring. I feel a lot like after I felt after the Boston marathon bombing, only at least this guy was caught.

  2. old man fatima says:

    Mine was pretty good. I got loads done around the house and went for brunch and had dinner with Fatiman’s family. Fatiman’s brother came over on Friday to watch a bootleg version of Deadpool. I knew it wasn’t going to be something I’d enjoy, but I thought I’d hang out with them and do my own thing while they watched. NOPE. I lasted about 5 minutes and had to leave the room. Was it written by 12 year olds?? I was annoyed almost immediately.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend was pretty good. My mom was in town and she got to hang out with Tykeasaurus who is really bringing the cute these days. We also tried an Italian place that is very close to our house and turns out it’s great!

  4. martinmegz says:

    I had a ton of work to do this weekend and accomplished very little of it. I went hiking to this place called Murphy Ranch, an abandoned Nazi sympathizer compound. The buildings are falling apart and everything is covered in graffiti, it’s actually a really cool place to explore. At some points we were crawling through fences, pushing through overgrown brush, and carefully avoiding the poison oak. A nice adventure. As I mentioned on Friday, the city is scheduled to tear it down this week which is a real shame.

    Sunday I went to my friend’s birthday party and enjoyed several happy hour $3 glasses of sangria. I accidentally asked the waitress for more white instead of water at one point (someone had just ordered white sangria) and people reacted like I had said the worst thing in the world. One girl gasped and put her hand to her mouth. I was like, relax dummies, I’ve been drinking and I misspoke. Are you perfect drunks or something? Geez.

  5. catweazle says:

    I was semi-productive this weekend but I also decided to officially give up on the RPM Challenge because there was no way I was going to finish and I didn’t want to stress out about it anymore. I feel good about this.

    On Saturday I had my last class before our performance next weekend and we didn’t even get through a single song without completely falling apart. I love the class but this has been a frustrating session. It seems like every week we would take a lot of time to learn how to play a song and make all kinds of decisions about how to end it or how many times to repeat a certain part and then class would end and everybody would immediately get hit on the head and have no memory of any of it at the next class. So the performance should be a real shitshow! Which is unfortunate because my class is playing with mordonez’s class this time. Don’t judge us by this performance, mordonez!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I feel semi-current on TV now because I watched all of Master of None and the first four episodes of Love!

      • How is Love? Looking at the avclub comments, it seems pretty meh. Or at least, it seems like the characters aren’t very likable.

        • catweazle says:

          It’s not the best show ever but it has Gillian Jacobs and she is always the best, so there’s that. The main dude is not quite as much of a manbaby as most Judd Apatow male characters but I do still want to punch him in the nuts occasionally. I like the show more with each episode but I don’t know if that means much because I was drinking steadily through all four. I do know that I love Mickey’s Australian roommate, though! More of her, please!

      • Sota says:

        I have watched 3 episodes of Love. I feel like its okay. I’m not in love with Love, but im in like enough to watch the full season.

  6. FRQ says:

    My weekend was pretty decent. I finally got around to seeing Deadpool, which was a lot of fun. And last night I went to my first Pechakucha reading, which turned out to be really cool, despite having to sit in a room the size of a shoebox.

  7. I said goodbye to my boss, biked 20 miles in shorts, had a Quesalupa, went to two plays, ate brunch, and carried a very heavy shelf three blocks to my apartment (it was $20, but ended up being slightly larger than I wanted, but I’m keeping it).

    So it was good.

  8. Sota says:

    This is me. I totally have a case of the Mondays. I am sick of attending meetings. I wish I could just crawl in bed and hibernate until spring.

    • catweazle says:

      Me too. This terrible thing has started happening to me recently where I wake up at 3AM and can’t fall back asleep so I toss and turn until my alarm goes off. This had never happened to me before but last night was like the third time in a month!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Yesterday after I dropped my mom off at the airport, I just had this sense of dread about going to work this week. This has to stop!

  9. I came home from Nicaragua! It was a fun trip where I mostly laid on a hammock and read books (Outlander, Girl on the Train and the 100 series) and drank beers. Also I got stung by a scorpion which hurt a lot but no permanent damage AND I managed to finagle a seat on an earlier flight to get back home at 4 PM instead of 1 AM which was the bomb.

    • hotspur says:

      I am super impressed that you got stung by a scorpion. I thought that was certain death. Here you are all, “Meh, nbd.”

      • Haha, they warned us on the first day that it was scorpion season and that if you got stung, not to worry, it’s not dangerous. However, it did make my finger really tingly and numb for several hours afterwards because of the venom. I do not recommend trying it. The worst part though was getting to the hotel that night and as I was packing up, I found another one under my pillow so I basically spent the night curled in a ball terrified I would wake up covered in scorpions.

    • martinmegz says:

      Tell us more about Nicaragua! What were you most surprised by? What did you like the most?

      Also I watched all of Outlander! What a crazy ride that was. I had to fast-forward through a lot in those last few episodes.

      • Nicaragua is super fun! It’s a really poor country but very safe and kind of an overlooked gem. We stayed at this organic farm that rents out private villas that are fully staffed so you don’t have to cook or clean or anything but it was super cheap, which was really nice. It’s really beautiful and the people were very friendly although basically no one speaks English so it helps to have someone with you that speaks Spanish. We went to San Juan Del Sur, which is known for it’s surfing (I did not surf, I drank by the pool) but yeah, I definitely would recommend!

        Also, I have a LOT of feelings about Outlander. My poor sweet precious Jamie! Did you see the trailer for next season? It looks like it’s going to focus a lot on the politics which I’m not sure how I feel about but also Claire’s red dress is fierce.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    I had a relentless Sunday and Monday because of jorb, but today I at least got to work from home real a real fancypants, which was good because I got to be in my pajamas the whole time AND I didn’t have to undergo the dreaded 2-hour round-trip commute. Also, yesterday I got to see The Maltese Falcon for the first time in the THEATER, so that was a real treat. Roughly 15% of the movie went over my head, I’m pretty sure, but I liked it!

Comments are closed.