Happy Birthday Edward Gorey!

I don’t know if this’ll make it onto the site in time (Editor’s Note: It didn’t.  Sorry  😦 ), but today (Editor’s note: yesterday), Monday, February 22, is (Editor’s Note: was) Edward Gorey’s birthday! I have to assume that morbid old Edward Gorey is still celebrating this special day from beyond the grave.

I don’t know if I’m necessarily a big Gorey-head (not a good fandom nickname), but I do have twelve of his drawings hanging in my apartment because he illustrated my favorite book of all time, John Bellairs’ The House With A Clock In Its Walls. I’m sure I’ve shared this so many times that you just want me to shut the hell up about it, but I currently live about ten or twenty minutes from the town that served as the inspiration for the town in THWACIIW, and since moving to this area, the picture above has become probably my favorite, or at least the drawing most meaningful to me. In it, Lewis and his uncle and his neighbor are taking a drive through the hilly country roads surrounding their town, roads I drive literally every day! So whenever I’m at the bottom of a hill and I see a car crest the top behind me, I think of this drawing and pray for a river I can cross.

What are your favorite Gorey drawings?

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Celebrities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday Edward Gorey!

  1. flanny says:

    It’s cool, FRQ. I wrote this at, like, 1pm, so I knew it was a long shot. I only found out it was his birthday because Joyce Carol Oates tweeted about it, so we can blame her for not tweeting earlier in the day.

  2. FRQ says:

    I’d like to think this is the inspiration for puppy monkey baby

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This is so cool. I’m not really familiar with his work, but after some Google image searching, it reminds me of the Babadook and for that I am very scared!

  4. hotspur says:

    I had the Gashleycrumb Tinies poster when I was a freshman in college and I don’t think it won me a lot of friends. Which is weird because I don’t see how it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea.

    When I was 16 or 17, I found one of his books in a store in the mall and bought it even though it was pricey (in high school dollars). I hadn’t known he wrote his own books, and reading it I had the impression that it was rare. Like he had specifically arranged for only 13 copies to be made, to be distributed at random and under cover of night across the country. I realized that wasn’t true, I suppose, but the thing is, his art makes it feel true.

    • flanny says:

      You would have been bffs with my sister then, because she also had the Ghastlycrumb Tinies poster in her college dorm room! Did you also love Wham! and The Police (the band)? Really my sister is to blame for my liking Gorey because she also got be hooked on Masterpiece Mystery.

      • hotspur says:

        Wham! was not really my thing.

      • Simon Spidermonk says:

        Hey, I also had the Gashlycrumb Tinies poster in my dorm room in first year. My roommate had a poster of some kind of Viking crippled by indigestion at a party (sort of the poster equivalent of a non sequitur) and all the girls loved it, never failed to comment on it, whereas my Gorey poster on the opposite wall went completely unloved. The difference in poster popularity was – and remains – an absolute mystery to me.

Comments are closed.