Tuesday TV Talk

Hahaha, I’m so good at not starting a new weekly topic and then immediatly abandoning it. Whoops.

Actually I was in Nicaragua with very poor Wifi and too many cocktails to write a coherent sentence. And while I’m still not fully caught up on all the TV that I missed, that shouldn’t deprive us from having lots of things to say.

American Crime – I am REALLY not happy about the turn that the did this week with having Taylor shoot the kid at school. It feels like they are just making the story super convoluted for the sake of being shocking and that is the opposite of what I like about this show. Also, what was that whole thing with Eric and the van guy? Ugh, American Crime, I had such high hopes for you, why are you hurting me so??

The 100 – I haven’t watched last week’s episode and it is causing me a lot of stress. However, I am confident that it was excellent. While on my vacation I actually read the books that the series is based on and I can confidently say that the show is approximately a billion times better. If you have ever wondered if you were missing out by not reading them, let me put your mind at ease and save you the time.

Emmerdale – I miss Aaron and I am very concerned that Robert is going to do something extraordinarily stupid that will threaten Aaron’s sexual assault case against his dad. Don’t do it Robert! Resist your natural inclinations to make everything worse!

Outlander – This show is not new but I just finished watching the first season and I have a lot of feelings about it. Mostly they are that Jamie is the best and I love him. Also, I would watch an entire series of Claire and Jenny hunting down rogues and being the best. The last two episodes were REALLY hard to watch but I thought they did an amazing job with incredibly tough subject matter and depicted it in a way that was nuanced and truthful, hitting a mark that many, many shows fall desperately short of (*cough*cough*gameofthrones*cough*). I am really excited about next season, though I’m concerned that it’s going to be a lot more of the politics, which to me is the least interesting part of the show, mostly because I’m really dumb and have no idea what they are talking about 90% of the time.

What is everyone else watching?

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I finally finished season 1 of Jane the Virgin and I have most of the current season on my DVR but not the first three episodes so I’m in a bit of a bind! I’m so concerned that she’s going to date Michael again and he is the epitome of human garbage. Stay single, Jane! Or wait for somebody who isn’t awful and/or nearly as dull as Duncan from Veronica Mars! Marry Petra! Or your friend from Orange is the New Black! Ahh!

    I watched all of Master of None in the last week and I liked it a lot for the most part! The episode about sexism and subway pervs seemed like it thought it was a lot smoother with its message than it actually was but I appreciated the effort I guess. I want a Paro. And a dinner date with the actor who plays Brian (who omg also played Lane’s decoy cousin from the basket-bidding episode of Gilmore Girls; when did he get so hot???)!

    As mentioned yesterday I started watching Love because of my Love for Gillian Jacobs and it’s ok so far. I read an article today about the whole “hot lady dates unattractive man” TV thing which was inspired by that show and I was like “Spoiler alert, article! They aren’t dating yet as of episode four! What a twist!” And yeah it is pretty eye-rolly that literal goddess Gillian Jacobs is going to be romantically paired with a plain-looking dweeb who has no exceptional qualities to make him attractive on a human level. But whatevs, it has some LOLs.

    Still slowly catching up on The Vampire Diaries and UGH ALARIC STOP TRYING TO REANIMATE YOUR WIFE’S CORPSE, YOU IDIOT! This plotline is even more infuriating because a) Jo was kind of a nothing of a character and their relationship had no buildup to make me think his love for her is the purest love of all time, and b) Sucks to be one of Alaric’s other 1000 dead exes! Bring back Jenna instead, dude! Or even Isobel! Not that doctor lady from Pretty Little Liars though (wait, I actually don’t remember if she’s dead or not; did he kill her when his magic ring turned him into a somnambulist serial killer?).

    Is anybody watching Elementary? I’m not liking this season all that much. I don’t find the whole Sherlock’s dad thing to be that interesting and I still blame John Noble for ruining Sleepy Hollow even though it wasn’t really his fault. But for some reason I find that show really comforting to watch even though it is full of murder! I think it’s something to do with Lucy Liu and Jonny Lee Miller having soothing voices.

    Oh my god this is a long comment!

    • nastyemu says:

      I started watching Love and got excited that Milana Vayntrub was in it, then completely devastated that it was her schlubby boyfriend that was the main character. I may eventually finish it, but there’s too much other good stuff to see first. In shocking news, the character that goes from Milana Vayntrub to a three way with college girls to Gillian Jacobs is played by one of the shows creators.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I still love Elementary, but am not a fan of Joan’s wardrobe this season. Johnny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu are such a great pair.

    • Sota says:

      TVD is actually back to “worth-watching again” territory. I am one episode behind, but at least its a bit interesting again. They have axed a number of unnecessary characters…and they are even giving Matt Donovan a human love interest! There is hope for all of us!

    • Aww, why is Michael garbage? Wait, don’t tell me. I’m only 6-7 eps in, when they break up. I don’t mind him. Rafael actually bothers me way more.I don’t know why, but I just don’t like him. He’s just a pretty boy, there isn’t much more there.

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah Rafael is pretty much a sack of potatoes but he’s better than Michael, the lying manipulative possessive liar! If you’re at the part when they break up, he’s already done so many horrible things! Pressuring Jane to give up the baby, pressuring Jane to quit her job, withholding evidence in a murder investigation so that Jane will give the baby up, pairing up with Petra behind Jane’s back… the list goes on! He’s the worst! Neither he nor Rafael is good enough for Jane though.

        • Yeah, I guess most of that stuff was terrible. Some of the stuff with the baby I sort of understand, that’s pretty freaky that his girlfriend is pregnant with someone else’s baby! He wasn’t ready for a kid yet. I do think he ultimately made the good choice of just being there for Jane, even if it meant they kept the kid. It just took him some time.

      • Commentatrix says:

        Same. I find Rafael so artificial looking and dull. That’s not to say that I think Michael is much better as a love interest. Basically I feel like the show has really missed the mark on its male characters (perhaps deliberately?) because the only one of them who’s also an OK person is Rogelio. STUD.

  2. FRQ says:

    The X-Files came to a close last night, and like emu, I am questioning whether or not the revival was worth it. It wasn’t a bad run (overall, at least), but it felt like an homage to the show when it was in its prime. And true to form, the season finale, like the premiere, was subpar. However, if they did decide to do another season, I’d probably watch it. I feel like the X-Files thrives on filler episodes.

    Last week I left a social engagement early just to catch the premiere of Broad City. It did not disappoint.

    Did anyone catch either of Sunday’s TV specials? By which I mean The Wonderful World of Disney: Disneyland 60 and/or Must See TV: An All-Star Tribute to James Burrows. I am kind of interested in some of each show’s content, but I don’t know if they’re worth spending 4 hours of my life catching up.

    • I did not realize that Broad City was back! I need to watch that as soon as possible.

      I did not watch any of the specials but I did see a clip of Dick van Dyke on stage for the Disneyland 60 special and the audience pretty much lost their minds. I assume that was the best part of the show.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I feel like in the age of 10-13 episode seasons (on cable mostly, I know, but still), filler episodes are no longer acceptable (looking at you, Walking Dead). I get that broadcast still has to give us 22 episodes, but this was only 6 so they really don’t have a lot of excuses. That said, I haven’t seen last night’s episode but have otherwise felt the revival was underwhelming.

    • nastyemu says:

      I haven’t watched the X-Files finale yet, but even if it’s terrible, I’m still glad we got some more Mulder and Scully.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      I’ve been watching all of the X-Files episodes as they air but my interest has been waning from week to week, to the point where I don’t think I’m gonna bother watching the finale. This is kind of a crappy thing to say – and I feel kind of crappy for thinking this – but the concept of the show just seems outdated. Or at least the conspiracy/mythology at the core of it. What seemed audacious in the nineties now just makes me go, “Oh, shut up, pull your head out of your ass.” Maybe because these days it seems like more people are buying into this kind of malarkey, which makes putting it forward even for the purpose of entertainment more dangerous than it was in the good ole nineties? All I know for sure is that I find it boring. And the cutesy, winking meta-ness of it – which once seemed kind of charming, when the show was at the top of its game – now feels like an unearned victory lap. You’re not at the vanguard of the cultural zeitgeist anymore, X-Files, and you can’t keep acting like you are. This whole miniseries – even the parts I’ve enjoyed – has annoyed me on a weird subsonic level, as if nails on a chalkboard are buried in the signal.

      Although maybe it was all worth it for this:

      • Simon Spidermonk says:

        There was supposed to be a gif of Mulder in a cowboy hat chair-dancing with golden MUSH ROOM knuckles on his hands. You’ve probably seen it, it’s pretty good. But this is better, because I’ve awoken you to the power of Imagination.

  3. flanny says:

    Costco! Are you around to talk about Project Runway Juniors and All-Stars? (Please, let it have been Costco who had been watching it so I don’t look like a doofus.)

    Because I am stressed out at work I marathoned two seasons of Next Food Network Star this weekend and I regret every moment of it. I started watching Cooked last night and it was less pretentious than I thought it would be, but also more pretentious than I think I can handle at the moment. Like the juxtaposition between slums in India and Michael Pollan’s beautiful Berkeley house is very jarring to watch and makes me feel not very sympathetic to what he’s trying to say.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      You were right! And I would be happy to chat about all things Project Runway – except the All Stars people from Under the Gunn because I have no idea who they are.

      There are some annoying folks on All Stars, but I still enjoy it. Alyssa Milano has a terrible stylist. Probably rooting for Kini at this point. But I also like Emily and Stella and a few others whose names are escaping me.

      I was very happy with the winner of Juniors. Those kids were the best!

      • flanny says:

        I had to google what the concept of Under the Gunn was because they kept making it seem so mysterious. The one guy from UtG and the guy with the pompom hat and their drama is the most annoying thing. Let’s focus on the fashion and how about if you two make some! SNAP! I was really excited to see Stella back because I remember her from when she used to say “Leath-aaaah” all the time on her season, and when Daniel Franco showed up again with his same old haircut, I laughed so hard. Hang in there, Franco! I’m rooting for Valerie. I liked her on her season and I like the geometric thing she’s doing.

        I was surprised by the winner of Juniors, just because she hadn’t stood out to me as much as the other finalists throughout the season. I didn’t like Peytie’s final collectionat all, but I am not a fan of fringe. But I was fascinated by the fact that she was a perfect combination of her parents and also that her sister looked exactly like her. That was my big take-away from the finale.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Valerie is one of the people I like whose name I could not remember. Stella’s pronunciation of the word leather will always keep her in my favorite column.

          Ugh, those two guys fighting. Less bitching, more designing please! Based on the previews, Ken will have a tantrum at some point.

          Peytie, Maya, and Samantha had all stood out to me at some point. I’m not a huge fan of Peytie’s style, but I respect her point of view. Samantha seemed to make the same thing a lot, but those coats were beautiful. Not something I would necessarily buy, but very well made. I really like weird coats, though, so I might be in the minority on liking what she did.

  4. nastyemu says:

    Girls came back! I actually gave up on Girls halfway through season one, but Femu kept watching and I would see episodes here and there and eventually I came around. I really hope Desi isn’t around the whole season.

    Vinyl is pretty good. I think? I’m not sure, but I really love Bobby Cannavale, and I’m always happy when Vinny Delpino shows up unexpectedly.

    I still haven’t finished Jessica Jones and I’m way behind on iZombie and there is just too much good TV.

    • catweazle says:

      I have three episodes of Jessica Jones left but everything is so grim and dire right now that I can’t bring myself to finish it.

      • nastyemu says:

        My problem is Femu finished it without me. (RUDE!) So now for me to finish it I need to wait until she’s watching something I don’t care about, like Downton or The Walking Dead. Except that’s when I play my video games. Life is hard, you guys.

      • Just watch it all at once like ripping off a band-aid. I actually watched the whole series in a weekend. It did not make me feel amazing, but I still enjoyed my time watching it. Then I purged with happy things.

      • I think Jessica Jones was about 3 episodes too long. It was really good but got really redundant after a while.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I watched the first 3/4 of the Vinyl premiere but wasn’t really THAT impressed. Also, stop airing your TV in 2-hour blocks, executives! Who has that kind of time?

      • nastyemu says:

        Yeah, it was way too long. I think if not for Cannavale I would have bailed on it, but I’m going to stick with it for now.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I have been watching New Girl on tbs and I know we talk about this show a lot so I have a question for you guys: what happened to Tran, Nick Miller’s really old Asian friend who never talked? He was the perfect balance to Nick’s weird-old-man-ness

  6. Sota says:

    Fuller House comes to Netflix this weekend. As a happy fan of ill-advised nostalgic revivials, I will be supporting this whole-heartedly. Maybe I will do some recaps or something. That would be pretty fun to write since it’s all complete nonsense.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Walking Dead question. Limited Spoilers.

    In the last episode, there was a framed photograph of two characters. This picture was obviously taken recently. WHERE DID THEY GET A PHOTO PRINTER? I mean, I know they are living in a fancy pants suburb, so I guess there might be a printer in one of the offices, but man, that prop just really annoyed me. I thought they were setting it up as a dream sequence, but no!

    I did not like the most recent episode for a number of reasons, but, bonus points for using an Old 97s song!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Seriously.
      Also, they had a video baby monitor. I mean, come on. This episode defied all logic and character motivation. Get in the truck and drive back to your house, you dummies!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I was so hung up on that damn picture that I wasn’t even thinking about the video monitor. Do they have wi-fi in there? I mean, I know this is a show about zombies, so maybe I should not try and worry about realistic details, but this episode was silly.

        Now no one gets the truck because of all the silliness. And domestic Rick is both cheesy and boring.

      • Erika says:

        They had the video baby monitor before, in the episode when Carol cleared the wolves out of Alexandria in the time it takes to bake a casserole.

    • martinmegz says:

      I thought the same thing about the framed photo! It bothered me so much until two people did a totally out-of-character idiotic thing then I got upset about that!

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Is anyone watching Baskets? I think we are an episode or two behind, but we have enjoyed it so far. The character Martha is my favorite, but Louie Anderson cast as Zach Galifianakis’ mom is a close second.

    From IMDB – “After failing at a prestigious French clowning college, Chip Baskets looks to keep his dream of becoming a professional clown alive.”

  9. Anyone watching Agent Carter? I love it so much. I love Peggy and Jarvis. I don’t really care about the love triangle stuff. I know Peggy gets married later in life, but for right now I just want it to be the Peggy and Jarvis adventures, with Ana and Howard popping in to keep them in line (Ana) or be a witty pain in the butt (Howard).

    • FRQ says:

      I’ve been enjoying this season. Like you, I don’t care for the love triangle nonsense, but I think it’s been better than the first. As much as I like him, the show is better when they aren’t referencing Captain America every 20 minutes.

      • Yeah, I am glad they’ve moved beyond Steve. Though I did enjoy that the first season was about Peggy coming to terms with her loss. The scene where she throws the blood away gutted me.

  10. I got caught up on New Girl and Brooklyn 99 over the weekend, which was obviously delightful. I still need to finish The Expanse, but I’m soldiering through the last season of Farscape if it kills me (and it might!). And soon Daredevil will be back, so that’s going to take over my life for a week or two.

    • mordonez says:

      It’s been a few months of troubled book to television adaptations for me. I thought the Expanse was neither great nor terrible, and I’m still torn about the Magicians, although last night’s episode and particularly the previous semi-bottle episode were nice touches. They better not screw with American Gods–you have to think that they know the nerds won’t stand for it, right?

      • Ugh, I’m so worried about American Gods! But the actor they cast as Shadow is perfect, and I have a fair amount of trust in Bryan Fuller–his stuff doesn’t always work for me as much as I want it to, but there’s always a respect for the source material. I think (hope) that even if I don’t love it, it at least won’t piss me off.

        • That guy is so gorgous. He used to be on my British soap that I watched all the time and now he’s on the 100 but I’m scared this new role means they’re going to kill him off.

  11. Sota says:

    Is this a safe place for me to say that I miss Happy Endings? (I know I say it all the time…it’s still true)

Comments are closed.